We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby but not chic!”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Booked a two night deal through Old English Inns. Have stayed in several of their hotels and all have been excellent but the same cannot be said about The Bear in Havant. Desperately in need of full renovation. The whole place is tired, gloomy and in very poor condition especially the bedroom that we were given. We stayed one night and could not wait to leave the next morning! On the plus side the food was ok and the service although friendly a little chaotic. Would definitely not stay here again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thankyou for your review. Greeneking have a constant rolling investment programme and hopefully we will be party to it in the not too distant future. I am glad that you found the food to your liking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (654)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

372 - 378 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

As others have said in previous reports, this very old hotel with an extensive history to show for it will certainly be requiring some major renovation work both inside and out, in the very near future.This said, although the bathroom could do with a total refit, we had lashings of hot water, plenty of towels and was spotlessly clean. The bedroom had a strange array of furniture but the beds were amazingly comfortable, the tea tray generously stocked and the wardrobe contained ironing board, hairdryer etc, so you really had everything you needed. The bedroom was also spotlessly clean. The carpets in the bedroom and corridors have certainly seen better days but I enjoyed it's quaintness and we awoke refreshed after a peaceful and undisturbed night's sleep despite the fact that the hotel was full.
Staff were friendly and efficient and the breakfast staff could not be faulted. Breakfast was amazing, with a perfectly cooked full English breakfast and everything else you could wish for in the way of fruit, pastries and cereals .The chef even managed to produce me some gluten free toast. When I commented upon how nice it was,he gave me some to take with me, which was a really nice touch.The hotel is right on the doorstep for the shops too. We booked through hotels.com and got a really good deal. We would definitely go back.

Note- Do check on Google so that you know how to access the hotel's car park via the one way system.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Peykake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked this hotel as we were looking for a place to stay, quite last minute over the Bank Holiday in August 2013 and there wasn't many places with a room for 2 nights.

This hotel is a great location, close to shops, restaurants and bars which we found handy not having to get taxi's and is really close to a train station that we used to go down to Portsmouth.

The rooms - aren't 4 or 5 start, but you don't pay 4 or 5 star prices.

The Bar - great selection of drinks and the food we had their was really very good - the steak was yummy and coked exactly how we asked for it.

The staff - Charles in particular were very helpful and we even bumped into him later on that evening for a drink at another local pub and met some really nice local people, were made to feel very welcome.

Would definitely come back and stay again, and to say hi to the people we met, who made our visit all the more fun.

Carly & Paul

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 27sunshine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

The Bear Hotel is an old coaching Inn and it still bears the scares. Although an old building and in need of an extensive refit, the welcome was good, our room big and bright with comfy beds and clean sheets & towels. Large flat screen and tea & coffee making facilities. Breakfast had a varied menu, well cooked and plenty of it, The serving staff were polite and attentive especially Emma who was quick to serve and always with a smile. Ben the general manager was chatty and explained that plans were afoot to renovate soon after the threat of a compulsory purchase order had been removed. It is anticipated that the owners, Green King will eventually spend some money on a spruce up. Generally a nice place to stop over at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fuzzyducktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I know you get what you pay for but............. This hotel is waiting for an upgrade in my view it should be demolished! I was expecting an old building but one that was habitable, with it's zigzag main stairway and narrow passages I expected to see Mr Pickwick sitting in a corner with a bottle of wine and some friends which would have been a welcome sight.
The room was clean but the secondary double glazing was no longer, there were numerous curtain hooks missing, the crisp cotton bed covers were grey with age on the outside and brown with wear on the underside, the wall plaster was blown, and the wallpaper and indescribable shade of cream, the floor sank a foot or more on the way to the bathroom which again was clean, the water trickled lazily from the taps but the shower was great!
The food was fantastic and the staff really nice and helpful - overall I felt (after getting over my claustrophobia) that the management need to spend more time on the hotel side of the establishment.

Room Tip: If you have an infirmity phone the hotel for a more accessible room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

When we checked in, we told the polite and friendly receptionist that we had parked in the disabled space. Imagine our surprise when he assigned us room 20, which is at the top of three flights of stairs. Things did not really improve. We accept that a building of this age would not have lifts; suggest you stay elsewhere if you have mobility problems.

We noted that breakfast was available until midday from the guest information left in the room. However, we were told that there was no chef on duty when we enquired about breakfast at 11 am. There was nothing offered by way of food or apology for this oversight. We find it hard to believe that preparing toast, cereal or croissants required a specialist.

We requested a late check out which was refused. Due to the ageing and sinking floor, our bed had a noticeable lean towards the foot which was very uncomfortable. The Gideons Bible was not a very good substitute for the blocks that the slightly grumpy manager assured us were supporting our bed. I can only surmise that a former guest dispensed of them in a drunken haze.

We booked with booking.com and we will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had two lovely nights here. We found the staff extremely friendly and chatty.
The hotel is dated and in need of some TLC but it does the job. The room was clean and fit for purposes and the bed very comfortable.
The food was general pub grub, great value for money and all served with a smile.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ali_bridger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
1.4 mi away
Langstone Hotel
Langstone Hotel
#3 of 4 in Hayling Island
1,848 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Brookfield Hotel
Brookfield Hotel
#1 of 4 in Emsworth
565 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Address: 15 East Street, Havant PO9 1AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Havant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Price Range: £49 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bear Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Hotel Havant
The Bear Hotel Havant, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing