We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Bear Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Langstone Hotel(Hayling Island)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
36 On the Quay(Emsworth)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown(Emsworth)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
    View Hotel
    Very Good 4/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Parking
    View Hotel
    Great 4.5/5
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Reviews (672)
    Filter reviews
    673 results
    Traveller rating
    78
    177
    164
    103
    151
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    78
    177
    164
    103
    151
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsa bit tiredbeds were comfortableexcellent breakfastisle of wightportsmouth
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    370 - 375 of 673 reviews
    Reviewed 1 May 2014

    At first i thought mmmm this doesn't look like the type of hotel i would normally prefer. Tucked away in Havant's commercial and retail hub, on the offset it appears to be neglected and rather dark! Surprisingly it is a little gem! The staff are very professional and my room although slightly dated very comfortable and stylish. Internet use was superb and what i found useful was the iron and board which you don't normally have available in all rooms. I was taken about the size of the hotel as well and i thought for the price it was really good value and can recommend to any traveller. Really good!

    Room Tip: Not above the kitchen!! lol
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank Nico V
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at The Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

    Thankyou for your recent comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2014

    Stayed here for 2 nights on a deal. The rooms are very tired as per the other reports and well overdue for refurbishment. Avoid room 34 it has the kitchen fans outside the window and although these go off at night they come on early in the morning. Having moved to the front of the hotel, the rooms there have the secondary double glazing missing which means there is a lot of traffic noise. The rooms are small but they were clean and the beds comfortable. The restaurant staff were excellent and we enjoyed breakfast and dinner. Staff were attentive and the restaurant was quiet. Basically if you are on a deal you get what you have paid for. They allow dogs and you can meet, dog on a rope, in the corridors which is a bit disconcerting if you don't like them or are nervous.

    Room Tip: Avoid room 34 it has the kitchen fans right outside the window. Also light all night as there are security lights on all night in the adjacent properties and the room has very thin curtains. Rooms at the front had the secondary double glazing missing and there was road noise
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank JPF50
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

    How I like TripAdvisor it allows the customer to voice there feelings over there experience in this usually hidden industry. I have stayed in many hotel's in the UK with my husband. Some very good some very bad indeed. I have one review already posted regarding a bed and breakfast in Hounslow and that fell into the very bad indeed category as does this one. We stayed there some weeks ago now we where there for an event on Hayling Island. On arriving the building looked shabby, like something out of a jack the ripper scene from the east end of London. The reception lady seemed more interested in discussing issues with what looked like a manager the lady in question was blonde. Eventually we were given our room key and on entering it smelt of musty old socks. There was a stain on the carpet and what looked like dry wine stains on the table and chair. The bed was ok until the night it kept making noises. I reckon the springs are quite worn. The kettle would not work so no coffee for us. We ended up going to McDonald’s in the end for coffee. In the evening we had a meal which was ok after which myself and hubby decided to go for a walk around Havant. NEVER AGAIN we returned to our room for the night due to a rowdy crowd of youths hanging around the local church reving up mopeds and racing up and down the street. As for the shower Lets not even go there it was a living organism of germs waiting to eat up an unsuspecting guest. Anyway bed time came and eventually all was quite in the hotel until the morning whereby myself and hubby booked out. We decided to stay in a real hotel with real staff and tidy well presented rooms. If you want to feel what it was like to stay in one of the slum hotels of the old east end of London in bygone days then visit this place otherwise keep well clear as you may enter but never leave in one piece.

    Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    3  Thank Tiggy1980
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 13 April 2014

    I stayed at the Bear Hotel for 12 days, it was a great stay room clean and tidy, breakfast included in price, beyond words the variety in hot and cold food available. Hotel has tons of character and coming from Canada enjoyed the old English charm the hotel provided. The restaurant dinners where great wonderful selection for different tastes. The best part of this hotel are the staff they are simply phenomenal and deserve tons of praise for not just providing a service but going well beyond in their friendliness and helpfulness and just making my stay as comfortable as possible. A special thanks and mention to Emma, Charles and the two Ryan's, you guys rock, and deserve to be acknowledged for the great people you are and how lucky The Bear is to have you all. If I ever am in the area again I look forward to stopping by and saying hi. Thanks so much for a great and wonderful stay.

    Room Tip: Stayed in room 49 on the top floor was great but no elevators so if you prefer not to do stairs a lower level would be better.
    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ShazzaS67
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 April 2014

    We stayed here for two nights. I have stayed here a couple of times over the last few years. The hotel was clean staff friendly. The rooms are tired and old they need doing up as does the carpets need replacing everywhere. I did see a man painting a door frame in one of the rooms.The building is old and could do with a complete facelift. The prices were reasonable and the food was good. I have family in the area and visit Portsmouth quite a lot and have noticed the hotel getting shabbier shabbier. It's a shame because it is a nice hotel.

    • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Norma H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews