We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday lunch”

The Wheelwrights Arms
Reserve with OpenTable
The Wheelwrights Arms is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 82 Restaurants in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wheelwright's Arms offers fabulous food and superb real ales, including those from our own Upham Brewery. We are very dog friendly and love to welcome walkers in that have been out exploring the local countryside and coastline. Our pub is conveniently situated on Emsworth Road in Havant, Hampshire and has a large free car park for our guests. We are easily accessible from the main A27 south coast road linking Southampton, Portsmouth and Chichester and just a short drive from the M27 and A3(M). We are just a short walk from The Spring Arts and Heritage Centre, venue for many great music, theatre and comedy events. Goodwood Race Course is just a 20 minute drive away.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Visited wheelwrights again Sunday 24th august for our first Sunday lunch. We were greeted with usual warm welcome, and they had remembered my sister-in-law was in wheelchair and had our table ready with access for her chair. Very good meals, fish and chips to die for. Hubby had chicken roast, well cooked and presented, he wants recipe for gravy! All staff are lovely but sorry i am biased I love Sean he makes me laugh, and my brother said the same. A thoroughly enjoyable afternoon. C&T

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    93
    34
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

Went there for a birthday treat with my son and his wife. Had a great meal. The staff were very welcoming. Had the goats cheese starter and the slow cooked pork. I would recommend both especially the pork. The decor is really fun with a wheels theme. Do look round. I ordered a sorbet and they wrote Happy Birthday on the bowl in chocolate sauce. That what I call personal service.will be going back!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“What a transformation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014 via mobile

We're big fans of one of the sister pubs, the Thomas Lord and were very excited to hear the same chain had taken over the Wheelwrights which is just around the corner from us. We visited last night for the first time since its refurb. Wow! What a transformation! It has been beautifully decorated and I love the "wheel" theme throughout. Food and beer were excellent - the moules starter was delicious, very fresh and a good sized portion. I had sole as a main course which was really very good too. The cheeseboard (lovely Stilton) is definitely for sharing. Service was excellent - really friendly, cheerful and efficient young team who were incredibly helpful. Not a cheap night out (£40 - £50 per head for 3 courses and wine) but excellent quality all round. I suspect we may become regulars!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Margot1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Thank you!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful to have this transformation - the Wheelwrights is now a stylish but relaxed pub with lovely menu.
Had 3 lunches here since the beginning of July and although the service has improved hugely from a shaky start we would still welcome more staff at lunch time during the week.
Great place to visit for business lunch, with family and friends. Wide range of drink choices.
Tried quite a few food choices and all have been delicious - especially the puds.
However - to keep returning as much as I'd like - would really welcome a few more pedestrian accompaniments to the mains for family/ friends who prefer very plain food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have known this place for years but friends tipped me off money had been spent and they had a chef that knew what they were doing.

Menu is encouraging, simple at lunchtime and a good interesting mix in the evening with a focus on good local produce, at least 3 of the dishes boasting the provenence of their main ingriedient.

Started with crispy pulled pork with an crunchy apple salad and an remolade. The chef does indeed know their craft, the 2 crispy pulled pork croquettes unctuous and flavoursome and the salads prepared with precision and balance.

Followed with an rib eye steak cooked to perfection, covered in crispy shallots and an rich pan gravy perfectly complimented with multiple cooked chips.

Couldn't face an pudding but those of my table that did were making those sorts of pudding noises that means you know its bloody good.

Prices are in the £6 for starters and £15-20 for mains. Now this isn't your brewers fayre or hungry horse bracket, but trust me it is a completely different offering. Think quality independent brasserie where these prices would be considered very fair indeed.

Service quiet and attentive, only nit pick interface between bar and resteraunt as our drinks took a time to come but this is an minor niggle.

This place really is bloody good, and if you like a decent ale with your meal they have 4

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinym32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wheelwrights Arms also viewed

 

Been to The Wheelwrights Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing