We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Indian, well presented”

Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine
Ranked #18 of 83 Restaurants in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Modern Indian, well presented”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Good look and feel to the place. Parking easier than expected. Very good food. Bit different from your normal Indian. Worth a trip to try something different, although there was the standard list of items available as well. Had a slow cooked lamb dish and I would say it was certainly one of the better ones that I have had. The eating area is pretty large, and I would imagine they would accomodate a large group of friends or family very well. Worth a visit and to go out of your way for.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BLP422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    42
    9
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“We Placed an Unusual Order”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Yesterday we were four people who had an excellent evening meal together. But we also ordered a take away for four people, which we will export to France to eat with friends there, tomorrow evening. Not that unusual really. We had previously had lunch there to check it out, and yesterday was even better than our test visit.

The food was very tasty, with the proviso that it can be difficult for someone with a sensitive palate who has a dish that is too hot. Note that the 2 chilli marking is quite hot; I would not dare to try a three chilli dish. On your first visit I would suggest a zero or 1 chilli dish. Later on you can blast away on the 3 chilli version, knowing how hot it may be.

We had starter, main course, two bottles of wine, some of the dishes were on the expensive side. It came to £92.90, so £23.22 each. I think that is fair to good value.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not a happy experience”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

I and some friends had booked a table for 8pm at the Red Chilli on January 25th. The restaurant was very busy when we arrived and we had to wait at least 15 minutes for our table. Once seated we still had had no waiter take our orders after a further 30 minutes later, at which point we decided to leave. We paid for our drinks (which came to a not inconsiderable £14.80 for 3 lagers and a glass of wine) and left. Having read some of the reviews below our decision to leave was probably a wise one! As noted by others, there was a constant flow of take away orders being processed while the diners were left to wait. That said, even that apparently had its problems as one lady said she had been waiting an hour for her take away!

To add insult to injury the staff were not apologetic for the delays, nor was any reason given for why service was so slow. This as much as the slow to non-existant service is the reason why I and my friends will not be returning to the Red Chilli.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Let down by terrible service”
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I visited the same (Saturday) evening as the other poor reviews below. This is a very nicely refurbished restaurant, which we have had great takeaways from previously, so we thought we would visit it for a sit down meal. Unfortunately this restaurant suffers from a common failing of popular indian/bangladeshi restaurants on weekend nights. They have a lot of people ordering takeaways, and coming in for sit down meals at the same time. However that is probably a good problem for the restaurant to have and a good restaurant would manage this in order to keep customers coming back.

Unfortunately on this occasion they didn't and we ended up waiting nearly 2 hours from being seated before the arrival of our food. This means we won't be going back, which is unfortunate because when the food finally arrived I actually thought it was very good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ultrarun78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very slow service”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

When it finally arrived the food was reasonably good, though nothing special.

The service however was awful. It took nearly ninety minutes from when we walked in until we our food arrived, and the table next to us had to wait even longer. In the time we were waiting we didn't see many other people get their food either. Despite hardly serving any food, the waiters appeared to be permanently busy.

If they want to serve quite a large restaurant and do delivery as well, they need to hire a lot more staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine also viewed

 
Westbourne, West Sussex
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing