We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Red Chilli - Warm Reception”

Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine
Ranked #19 of 83 Restaurants in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Red Chilli - Warm Reception”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Red Chilli in Havant's North Street scores lots of points in a town badly affected by recession. I featured the restaurant exterior in my Flickr photostream, admiring the preservation of its pub history - it was formerly Brickwood's The Perseverance. The interior has been sympathetically remodelled to accommodate the elegant seating and decor of Red Chilli. This is another 'Indian' restaurant which has moved away from the traditional decor perhaps because it clearly identifies itself as offering Bangladeshi cuisine. It was nice to see this distinction as many of the restaurants we clumsily describe as 'Indian' are, in fact, Bangladeshi owned and operated although the menu is often broader South Asian. Today, there were some unfamiliar but tempting items. We were tempted and not disappointed. One usually judges such restaurants initially by the poppadums; these were fresh and tasty with their chutneys. Starters of Chom Chom Chat Chicken and Spicy Nutty Duck were delicious although my partner wondered whether the duck was too spicy. We pondered on this over my main course of Spicy Nutty Chicken which was very good - not too spicy - and eaten with an excellent garlic naan.My partner's Lamb Hatkora was also very good. I am not an enormous fan of lamb but I admired this preparation with lemon. Portions were generous but not over-sized and the bill was reasonable. Service throughout was very pleasant. I hope Red Chilli thrives.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Oram_Eats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    41
    9
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best restaurant in Havant”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

You havant lived until you've been to Red Chilli! As a town Havant doesn't have a big selection of restaurants but it became a better town when this one opened.

Very friendly staff and the front of the building is fabtastic as they've kept the old front of a pub. Good traditional Indian cooking and a great place to enjoy it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Curry/Friendliest Enviroment on the South Coast”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Fantastic menu, very friendly staff who always remember your name, excellent atmosphere and great value.
Highly recommend the Garlic Chilli Chicken or Honey Duck. Nothing is too much trouble and they will cater for everyone's particular need.
The take away service is just as good with complimentary freebies always thrown in.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Havant
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

I've been there as a couple, with mates after a beer and for take away, every time the food is excellent and worth it. Not oily with gee like Indian food and draft kingfisher.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, England
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Grub!”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This restaurant has not been open very long

It is housed in what used to be the Perseverance Pub on North Street in Havant

The foods is outstanding, great choice and a lot of meals I had never even heard of

The staff are extremely polite and helpful

Would highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelmanfrompompey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine also viewed

 
Westbourne, West Sussex
Emsworth, Hampshire
 

Been to Red Chilli - Authentic Bangladeshi Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing