We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good ....But”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Booked two rooms one for my wife and I and one for my daughter. But on arrival found my daughters room was some considerable distance and on another floor to ours however I mentioned this to the lady on reception who was very helpful and switched my daughter to the room next to ours which was a connecting room. First class service from the receptionist and one of the ladies that looked after the rooms especially as it looked as though they were about to go home after their shift.

The "but" part from the title above was that the first room my daughter was given really smelt, stale or possibly damp. The old building looked as though it was over due for a good renovation. The second moan was only one hand towel provided in a double room. I understand this is company policy which is appalling considering we were having to pay nearly £100 for a room.
That said the staff happily gave a second towel when I asked for one which I had to do every day.

Where are the headline prices? It seems the prices increase as the rooms fill and we are being ripped off just like the airlines.

Rooms were very clean but we were in the new extension.

Although the rooms have triple glazing if you open the window to get some fresh air there is a lot of noise from the A3. I suspect rooms will get very warm in the summer, little ventilation, fan provided but had collapsed so would only keep the floor cool! Fan in my daughter's room made the most awful noise. (broken gearing)

If it wasn't for the niggles I would have given an excellent score.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the A3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChucklesUK2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We appreciate all feedback and we are glad that our reception and housekeeping team members gave fantastic service. We understand that you feel the rooms need a refurbishment and we have some great news that some this time this year all our original rooms will get a makeover. Additional fantastic news is that we are having Air Conditioning installed as from the 14th July 2014. Your feedback is important to us and it is your views and opinions that make things happen. So once again we thank you. We hope that when our Premier Inn has the additional facility and face lift that you will choose to return to us. Please do not hesitate to contact us in advance should you have any specific requirements such as rooms close together or interconnecting rooms and we will endeavour to meet your requirements before your arrival.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

After the rudest coldest reception i have ever had at any hotel, the evenings were greeted by leaping baby elephants on the floor above. The shower very weak too. Disappointment guaranteed Mr Henry...








  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed overnight on business. Convenient locations for my needs. Reception efficient. Room as all Premier Inn's - clean and a good bed. Evening meal and breakfast was good - staff nice, and receptive. Note that the car park is split - some behind the hotel (turn right when you see the hotel reception) further parking is available adjacent to the Beefeater (bear road left at the reception) - be aware that there is a fairly steep walk back up a hill to the hotel reception - not too much of a problem, but if elderly, infirm or if you have heavy luggage try to park immediatly in front of the reception or at the back of the hotel or bring a donkey!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your comments about the parking situation. You are quite right in saying that the hill is fairly step and some of our guests may struggle with their luggage. Anyone who wishes to stay with us can park outside the entrance of the hotel to off load their luggage then move their car to a parking space. Hopefully this will be helpful for some of our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Ideal location for a family break, easy travel to various beaches, superb breakfast in the restaurant next door, friendly helpfull and polite staff. What else could a family want? And at such an affordable price, why would we go abroad?

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. At Premier we promise is to make our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep and we are pleased that we have achieved this for you. We do hope you stay with us again in the future and looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were visiting Portsmouth Historic Dockyard and the hotel was in a good position for our overnight stay. Room was clean and comfortable and reception staff very welcoming. Good parking facility and hotel next to a Beefeater restaurant. We had an enjoyable meal in the evening and a very good breakfast in the morning. All in all a very good stay and would recommend the hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you had an excellent stay. We hope you had a fantastic time at the Historical Dockyard and do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Highly recommend this excellent Hotel which is situated in a quite location, although within easy access of major roads. Excellent parking. Staff are warm, friendly and very helpful. The accommodation is of a very high standard and the restaurant is a short walk away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Terrance R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are pleased you had a fantastic stay and would highly recommend us. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I have stayed in three Premier Inns in and around the area,this is easily the best.From the warm welcome on arrival to the parting message I can not fault this hotel for sleep quality ,price and cleanliness.Recently extended, the rooms 12* onwards were in the newest part of the hotel with new carpets ,electronic key cards,powerful shower and dark curtaining all of which added to the pleasant stay I had here.
The receptionist I the early afternoon of Friday16th and morning of 17th was superb and I am only sorry I have not remembered her name for a special mention.She gave the impression she really cared about my stay and it was a very pleasant change from some more matter of fact greetings at other venues .Well done .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We are really pleased that you found our staff friendly and welcoming, our rooms clean and comfortable, the facilities of a high standard and more importantly having an brilliant nights sleep. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the near future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Debbie and the Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
1.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
643 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
3.5 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,279 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel

Address: 65 Bedhampton Hill | Bedhampton, Havant PO9 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Havant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Price Range: £44 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a glorious setting just minutes from the city centre, Spinnaker Tower and Gunwharf Quays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Ebookers so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel Havant
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing