We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too hot!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed in a family room in early August. It was a warm day in Portsmouth (21C), and cooled off in the evening. However, the room was 25-26C. There was a small fan and the window would only open a bit. Room quality was good and standard. Bed was comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AB-the-Fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We were pleased you found the room of a good standard and the bed comfy. We do understand about the temperature in the rooms being an issue. Due to health and safety reasons we are unable to open the windows any wider then they are. We are waiting for Head Office to give us the go ahead to have air condittioning installed in all our rooms. But i do appreciate that this doesn't help now. When booking with Premier Inn it is always worth checking which ones in the area have airconditioning as some of our Premier Inns already have this.

Kind regards
Debbie and the Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (453)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 453 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 teenagers on a stopover before catching a ferry the next day. The room appeared to be a regular double room with 2 (lower to the ground) single beds jammed in next to the double bed.
This meant that there was only 1 person who was actually able to get out the side of the bed, everyone else had to clamber off the end and had nothing alongside their bed for clock/watch/book/drink.
Talking of drink - poor not to have any drinking water available in the room, particularly seeing as it was incredibly hot in the room. There was a window, but this opened on to a very busy and noisy road. The small fan also created too much noise.
Needless to say, none of us got much sleep and it was not a good start to our holiday.

I understand that there is a good night guaranteed, I will have to see if they stand by this and offer us our money back...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roamuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Thank you for your review. It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. We do sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured that all your feedback is very important to us as we endeavour to meet all our customer’s needs. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Another good Premier Inn. Though, it's really not suitable for those who have difficulty walking as it's on a split level with lots of stairs to walk up and down. Even the car park is on a hill.
The rooms were extremely comfortable as expected. This Inn feels a little prefabricated and not as well built as others we've stayed at, the floors in the room and along the corridors creaked and sounded very hollow.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 58JohnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We were pleased to hear that you found the rooms extremely comfortable. We agree that with the Premier Inn being on a hill and no lift that this can sometimes be a little inconvenient for some guests. In order to make their stay more comfortable we do welcome people to park at the front of the hotel to unload their luggage before finding a car parking space and we also have a 24 hour reception where our friendly and helpful team members would be more than happy to help with peoples luggage. We do hope you choose to stay with us in the future.

Kind Regards
Debbie and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Usual Premier Inn standards. immaculately clean with helpful and friendly staff. Couple of downsides. It's in the middle of nowhere right next to a very busy main road. Then the telly volume is restricted presumably so that you can enjoy the noise of the cars going by. can't comment on the food anymore as we have completely given up on Premier Inn breakfasts. I absolutely refuse to pay £8.75 for breakfast and then be offered luke warm coffee out of a flask. Tried to buy a couple of coffees one morning and was duly charged well over £4 for 2 half full take away cups. needless to say I said "no thanks" and got my money back. PLEASE PREMIER INN. Why do some places have the coffee machines on where you push the button and get a nice hot, fresh costa coffee and others don't and want to charge you extra for it. You need to know that you will never have our breakfast business back until you sort this problem out.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mark190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Thank you for you feedback about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you found the road noise too much. We do have quieter rooms and can allocate you one of those if you request it. Unfortunately the TV's do not go above a certain level so that they do not disturb other guests in the hotel. I was also sorry to hear that you had a bad breakfast experience. Please be assured that I will pass your comments on to our restaurant team and see how we can resolve this in the future. I do hope that these issues have not stopped you using us and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed for one night. Have stayed in other Premier Inn sites but this was a first here. Very impressed and would definitely recommend this establishment. Although a hot night and the air conditioning is not yet working, a fan was supplied in the room and a sheet was available on request to use instead of the duvet. Plenty of car parking space available. Our room was very quiet and hardly any noise from traffic. The restaurant was only a few steps away and we enjoyed an excellent breakfast and evening meal. There is a bus stop about half a mile away with two bus routes into Portsmouth, numbers 21 and 23 if remembered correctly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay. We were so pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with the service and standards you received. We do hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This premier inn was exceptional throughout from the initial greeting by receptionist, check in, cleanliness of the rooms and courtesy of all staff. We stayed on very hot evening and yes the hotel doesn't have air conditioning but they compensated for this without prompting by providing large in all rooms, curtains had been kept closed to keep cool, and crisp cotton sheets were immediately available at reception to replace duvets without waiting. Lovely experience. Would highly recommend. The attached beefeater was also very good. Lovely dinner and breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank kcacgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your very kind feedback about your stay with us. We have a promise to make our guests feel brilliant through a great nights sleep and we are so pleased that we managed to do this for you. We hope you choose to stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Fantastic staff. We rang on the Monday and the receptionist changed our double room to a family room at no extra charge for such short notice. The hotel was spotless and in an excellent position for visiting Portsmouth. But defiantly needs air conditioning as the room temperature didn't drop below 28.5 c the whole time!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Damo0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie488, Manager at Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. It is very pleasing to hear that you found our staff fantastic and the rooms spotlessly clean. We are aware that we have issues with the room temperature in the summer months. We are hoping to have airconditioning fitted in the next couple of months and hopefully this will make all the difference. We hope you choose to stay with us again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Debbie and The Team
Portsmouth Havant Premier Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Havant
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn (Langstone/A27)
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Havant Rowlands Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#4 of 4 in Havant
650 reviews
2.9 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Emsworth
2.8 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
#27 of 39 in Portsmouth
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel

Address: 65 Bedhampton Hill | Bedhampton, Havant PO9 3JN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Havant
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Havant
Price Range: £43 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a glorious setting just minutes from the city centre, Spinnaker Tower and Gunwharf Quays ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Premier Inn and Ebookers so you can book your Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel Havant
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Havant) Hotel Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing