We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service”
Review of Rusty Cutter

Rusty Cutter
Ranked #3 of 83 Restaurants in Havant
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Poor service”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Went for a meal with a group of friends last night here and from start to finish the service was poor at one point we couldn't find any staff to bring us some condiments so had to go search for them ourselfs once our main meals finally arrived half of one mixed grill was on the other mixed grills plate so we were told to just swap it across even tho the person with it had already started eating there meal. Then getting the bill when we wanted to leave was another mission no wonder people were just walking out. Very poor wont ever eat there again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 10AVERAGEJO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    167
    98
    53
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“So so”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

We had much here today and we're fairly disappointed. The food wasn't great, which was a real shame as we used to eat here regularly over a year ago. New staff maybe?

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not Good”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We ate here last night in a group of 7, Friday 13th, ( bad omen). Very small portions, just as well I wasn't that hungry. Expensive for what it was, the bowl of salad wouldn't have been enough to feed to my tortoise. The spicy "big" fries had obviously been kept warm for some considerable period, dry and hard to the point of almost desiccation. Had they been kept like that for any longer I would have taken them home to use as nails to fix my decking down.
The restaurant itself is o.k. just very poor value food. The waiter "person"!!!!! I have to be politically correct here, when I say "person" was very polite and attentive.
The Management however left much to be desired, the whole evening was interspersed by someone shouting out / barking commands, I'm sure reminiscent of or a good knowledge of " The Third Reich" to personell to attend a certain table.
I can do without these hierarchical renditions whilst, I will use the word loosely "eating"
Overall, very poor...Graham.....

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice food.”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

We visit here regularly for a quick family outing meal. The good is reasonably priced and always tastes good. The service can however be hit and miss!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Btc2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very samey”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

go to any Beefeater and you know exactly what you get and this one is just like that - nice service and good staff more than make up for the pretty standard fare.... As with most Beefeaters the bottomless chips they offer are negated by the very small dishes they serve them in AND the time it takes to get a refill.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank alpenwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rusty Cutter also viewed

 
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Rusty Cutter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing