We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hook Stay”
Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
hot70000000000000
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Hook Stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile


Stayed here prior to a local conference.

The hotel is a busy one I suspect that this is because it is located next to Hook Railway Station.

The welcome was fine and helpful and I was directed to my room on the first floor, which was up two sets of stairs which was a struggle. The hotel has no lift, so if you have issues or a large case ask for a ground floor room.

The rooms themselves are tidy and clean but dated. My bed was very comfortable and I had a good nights sleep. Breakfast was OK, had to wait to be seated and had to ask for a coffee refill, staff in the restaurant need to be more attentive.

For an overnighter my stay was OK, but next time I think I might just look at travelling in from Reading / Basingstoke.

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank hot70000000000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    146
    71
    43
    35
See reviews for
60
180
27
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Abersoch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We have stayed at the Raven a few times and the service just gets better.
The staff are friendly and knowledgeable and nothing is too much trouble. We have needed flexibility in bookings recently and the management have dealt with these effectively.
The food is excellent and there is plenty of choice and the breakfast sets you up for the day.
The hotel and the rooms are very clean and are kept well by the housekeepers.
By its nature the hotel is rambling and it is best to ask for a convenient room if mobility etc is a problem.
There is plenty of choice in the rooms to cater for all demands.
The hotel is well positioned close to the station for trains to London and the M3 junction is a mile or so away so travel needs are well met.
We are looking forward to staying again later in the year.

Room Tip: Just ask reception explaining your needs and they will try their best to meet them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here twice over the last three weeks and enjoyed both stays. The staff couldn't do enough and my rooms were both clean. Breakfast service and food in the morning was excellent and the pub in the evening was pleasant enough. It has a large car park and is conveniently located close to Hook Train Station with half-hourly trains to London or alternatively right on the doorstep of the beautiful Hampshire countryside. Definitely staying here again when I come home!

Matt,
Melbourne, Australia

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, but it doesn't make too much difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkellie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, as the closest to where she lived. It's right across the car park from the train station, so couldn't be more convenient to get to.

Interestingly, you can book sundry extras with the room - a box of chocolates, a bottle of champagne, a hotel restaurant reservation. I thought a box of chocolates sounded nice, but they forgot to leave them in my room. When I asked at reception, the lady at the desk couldn't have been more helpful - she remembered them being ordered, but didn't know where they were kept, to give me one! Anyway, I headed out, and when I returned, a box of Thornton's Premium was sitting on my bedside locker.

The free Wi-Fi was very handy, and staff unfailingly friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and included in the (very reasonable) price, although the second morning I was there, there had been a lot of guests the night before and the breakfast area was packed. Probably the reason for the extremely long delay on my cooked breakfast - I had to remind them eventually, I think they'd forgotten. (Hint: I found the beans quite tasteless and the bacon salty. But maybe that's just me! The rest was delicious.)

I have just a few quibbles. Firstly, my room (33) was in the loft - which, in itself, is fine - and the path to it is well signposted. But o my, what a lot of staircases to haul my case up! Actually, I don't see how they can remedy this, what with the shape of the building. However, it was torture. And - a word to the wise - certainly this room, and probably many others, are more easily reached through the door at the far side of reception - numbered Rooms 1-15. You won't know your way until you've gone the long way, however, which is signposted.

The room was too hot the first night, and the walls seem quite thin. I recommend earplugs. The flush buttons on the toilet are very hard to press - I had to have a second try - and would be impossible for anyone with arthritis in their fingers. And once I had lowered the bathroom blind, it stuck and I couldn't raise it again. Recommendation - don't touch it!

Having said that, the bed was possibly the comfiest I've ever slept in, and overall I had a really pleasant stay. I would stay again - and the advantage of one of those attic rooms is that you're further away from the noise..

Room Tip: Higher rooms mean further to climb, but are further away from noise from traffic, trains, and the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank u2fancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for weekend recently with family and friends
We had a great weekend here
Couldn't,t fault the food at dinner and breakfast
Friendly staff gave good service including rapid check-in
Good atmosphere in bar in evening
Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jclivec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I've stayed here a few times now, and have no complaints whatsoever. Its great value for money, the service is faultless, food is fabulous. The staff are always very helpful and attentive, and make an effort to get to know regular guests. The rooms are very clean, and nothing is too much trouble for the staff.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Staff were friendly and attentive. Room was pleasant enough; bed was comfortable and clean and LCD tv provided. Bathroom and corridors looking a little dated and could do with an upgrade which almost made me score 3. I'm putting 4 as the breakfast was excellent and the young girl and gent who served it were very pleasant. I stayed on business and would use again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stratmn5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
660 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
6.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Property: Raven Hotel
Address: Station Road, Hook RG27 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing