We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfy overnight stay...”
Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Comfy overnight stay...”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Following a hard days drive South, I was looking forward to a decent nights sleep. The Raven Hotel delivered. Very pleasant bedroom and comfortable bed (a thick mattress topper always makes the difference). Good value too.

Room Tip: The attic room I had was spacious and well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex_Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
As a hotel - our priority is too deliver a good nights sleep! Thank you for your comments
It is reassuring to know we are getting it right
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    143
    70
    41
    33
See reviews for
58
177
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halstead, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed there for 2 nights and if it wasn't for work on Monday I would have made it 3.....The staff were very helpful friendly and made it feel like a home from home .....the food was so good that I didn't bother going anywhere else for a meal ( the mix grill.... WOW....had it twice) without a doubt I will be booking again in the very near future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DamianBoreham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 March 2014

I have just booked two nights for bank holiday weekend in may this will be the fourth time I have stayed at the raven and out of all the hotels I have stayed in this is by far the best . I have seen some negative reviews but I have never had a problem And the breakfast is included and very good couldnt ask for more for what you pay .

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macjoyce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thankyou for your encouraging comments. We know we are getting it right when people return time and again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

second time we have stayed at this hotel , and defiantly the last .Saturday night 8th march 2014 was without doubt the worst night I have had in any hotel I have stayed in , running pitch battles from large groups of very drunk youngsters , right the way through to the early hours .
no attendance at reception to receive your complaints , heating was on full blast when the weekend weather was the best we have had since last summer , couldn’t open the windows for fresh air as the noise from the overworked boiler was below room window , and when the groups of shouters weren’t in the hotel they were outside .....
i know its a budget end hotel , and the reception staff when we arrived where very frendly , and the food was very good , but dont stay here at the week ends , as they seem to promote the above behaviours sadly .

Room Tip: sleep in your car , it will be more comfortable and a lot quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longshanks133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you for your feed back! Please be assured that the management and team
definitely do not promote or encourage such anti social behaviour from our hotel
residents. Please be advised that a group of males had booked secretly at The Raven for a "stag" weekend
in Reading and were ejected from the hotel a day early as a result of their late night antics.
We strive to provide excellent hotel services to all our guests at all times and apologise that
we failed to deliver on this occasion.

Chris & Emma Heap
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

The Raven is more of an Inn than a hotel, but the rooms (having stayed a couple of times) are very worn and frankly poor. The bed was uncomfortable, lumpy and worn. You cant wash your face in the basin without either hitting your head on the glass shelf over it or wetting the floor. The staff are friendly enough, but I won't be staying there again if I can help it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fezz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlesey Beds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Can't find a bad thing to say of this hotel.
From the moment we were greeted in reception to sadly leaving after a great weekend break we were looked after by a very professional staff in all departments.
The rooms were large, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Breakfast and all food in the restaurant was top class and served by very helpful staff.
The Raven is definitely on our list of places to revisit.

John B

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JumbleArleseyBeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My Wife and I stayed at The Raven Hotel in Hook two years ago and it gives me great pleasure to say that it has transformed. From the moment we arrived in reception we were made to feel
so welcome. The managers Chris & Emma were warm and humerous and nothing was too much trouble. Because our room was on the third floor our bags were taken up for us and The Wallis Suite was nothing short of immaculate. The food and service was of a very high standard and my wife's steak was cooked to perfection. Even the live acoustic music later was perfect for the mood and venue - so good in fact we stayed in the bar much longer than anticipated. Breakfast was one of the best I have ever had in any hotel and despite being very busy the service was delivered efficiently and with a smile. Our family joined us for The Carvery later on the Sunday and were all equally impressed with the range of fresh meats & vegetables on offer. The Yorkshires were obviously home baked and the creamy leeks were to die for. We have never stayed in such an hospitable hotel with such lovely staff. At £65 per night bed & breakfast this hotel was exceptionally good value and we look forward to returning to the Raven in June.

Room Tip: The Wallis Suite is lovely - Well ventilated with lots of natural light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thanks for the excellent feedback ! I will convey your review to the team with pleasure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.0 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Property: Raven Hotel
Address: Station Road, Hook RG27 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing