We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Andy's 40th Birthday Party” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Raven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Andy's 40th Birthday Party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I chose Raven Hotel, Hook for my 40th Birthday Party. I had a fantastic time. The Party was a great success. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The hotel is in an ideal location. Very near Junction 5 of the M3 and close to Hook Train Station. The room my wife and I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The function room where I had my party is ideal. It has its own bar, toilets and dancefloor. The buffet food is excellent. I highly recommend the resident DJ (Ed) for the disco. Some top tunes he plays ! My whole experience was brilliant. I felt highly valued as a customer and all staff were willing to help. A truly memorable occasion. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    141
    68
    40
    33
See reviews for
56
173
26
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who without exception were pleasant and efficient and helpful. We had booked into a superior double room to have more space and a larger bed but were shown to a room which was almost filled by the bed and which had no opening window and no aspect at all except a filthy flat roof and a brick wall. Not a good start but on talking to reception we were moved to a 'suite' which could be better described as a superior double. It was spacious but still with no outlook and the bathroom was extremely small. There was also no remote for the television. On our first night there was an Elvis tribute act, which I feel should have been mentioned when booking and there was music on the two following nights which we couldn't avoid hearing and feeling! Our son had a two year old and had to ask for a quieter room at 9.30. The food was pretty good for pub food and the breakfasts were good too. The building is in need of some maintenance. Very convenient for the station and Tesco. Would not choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block as they are away from where the entertainment takes place so are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjbenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Firstly there is very little to do in Hook, however there is a train station next door if you wish to travel further afield, there are also some good walks taking you along canals, past historic ruins and lovely countryside.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful and friendly.
I have stayed in a few hotels but the bed here was the most comfortable and I had 2 good nights sleep. The full English breakfast was large enough for me and I could have had other options as well.
We stayed here on an Old English Inn deal and that made it very good value for money.
Would I stay here again? YES.
Thank you Manager and staff at the Raven.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not above the bar area would be quieter. We stayed in a room off of the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
milton keynes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

just returned from a weekend at the Raven and was very impressed. NIce clean room with comfy bed and good hot shower. Breakfasts were delicious and the staff were so friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Would definately visit again and recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gosport
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed at the Raven back in March this year & it was a very pleasant welcoming hotel.
great room, friendly staff, nice breakfast in the mornings, didn't have a meal there other than
breakfast but saw others coming out & looked really nice.
It is also a great location it you want to pop on the train and go somewhere for the day as Hook train
station is at the bottom of the car park.For example if you book in advance on red spotted hanky for instance you can get a return off peak ticket to Basingstoke for just £4.00 each is a great day out for shopping at Festival place. Not a lot else to do in Hook there are a couple of other pubs within walking distance that are ok so nice relaxing weekend .Would definitely go there again as its a great base for days out.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chezredtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Stayed here at the end of March with my partner and extended family. Hotel is much larger than we expected and is very conveniently located a stones-throw from the train station.

Staff on arrival were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel is bit of a labyrinth and it did take us a while to get our bearings. unfortunately we had not traveled particularly light and our room was I later concluded one of the furthest from reception and up several flights of steps in the attic space.

The room was much much larger than expected an had all of the fixtures and fittings you would expect from this sort of hotel. I found the bed particuarly soft and comfortable however was a little peeved at the provision of only 2 pillows for a double room a little inadequate.

The room on the whole was clean aside from the bathroom floor which had some unsightly staining on it. Our only issue arose from the inability to get hot water in the bathroom. My partner mentioned this to one of the staff who lsaid they aware of the problem and told him the "knack" to it. He managed to get a hot shower, mine not so much!

Breakfast was advertised as being served until 12 however we were informed that it finished much earlier than that (10:30 i believe). The breakfast is also one of the better I have in a hotel and I particularly enjoyed the pastries although our waitress did forget our toast....................twice.

We went into another our parties rooms along one of the main corridors and we found this to be much smaller than ours and a more standard hotel room layout so I suppose in the grand scheme of things the long walk to our room was worthwhile however I really would not recommend this walk if you have mobility problems!

We did eat in the attached restaurant and would not rush to recommend it - I will be writing a separate review to this later.

Overall, compared to other hotels in the area we found this to be the cheapest and best value and will probably stay here when we are next in the area.

Room Tip: room 33 is huge however be prepared for a long walk through a labyrinth of a hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesex uk
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

just to say had a lovely weekend at the raven .food excellent accomodation of a good standard was very clean well layed and very good volue for money but more importantly was made to feel very welcome by staff who were always friendly and helpful would highly recommend this hotel if staying within this area thks to chris and emma for an enjoable time .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tony y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
3.7 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
5.2 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Property: Raven Hotel
Address: Station Road, Hook RG27 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing