We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”
Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Raven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had stayed here for 4 nights, and since I landed from India a bit early, the staff were kind enough to give me an early check-in.

This was my 1st visit to the UK and this hotel made me really comfortable and welcome.

Ambience of the Hotel and Bar was good too.

Don't miss the kingsize breakfast !!

Cheers !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_Jagannath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments ! I will pass your lovely review onto the rest of The Raven team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    146
    71
    43
    35
See reviews for
60
180
27
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is very poor indeed!

A very, very expensive 'superior' room which I was advised on arrival was a suite but turned out to be an ordinary, basic room with tired, chipped & unmatching furniture & fittings. In NO WAY could it be classified as a 'suite' unless you count the 2 chairs at the end of the bed!! The bathroom was also basic and like the room, tired........There was no hot water from the shower in the morning.

Whilst the welcome at reception was friendly enough, the restaurant is a 'pub', again desperately in need of a refurb, and the entire building a maze of narrow, dingy corridors. The function room was also basic and not particularly attractive and, on the hottest day of the year, the heating
"could not be turned off".

There was some kind of generator making a loud noise immediately outside all night long with further noise disturbance outside at 6 a.m.

Breakfast was at best uninspiring.

A really disappointing stay and one not to be returned to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGW2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the middle of stage 2
of room improvements. The room you have reviewed is part of our stage 3
room improvement programme in July 14 so hopefully the issues you have
highlighted will be addressed once completed. So why not come back & see the differences
first hand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to the owners and all the staff for giving us a superb weekend. Room was comfy, food was excellent, as was the entertainment. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short break within easy driving range of a whole variety of attractions.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank polosdad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the raven before our cruise found the hotel clean and rooms very well equipped evening meal and breakfast was lovely would defiantly stay again

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagshot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I chose Raven Hotel, Hook for my 40th Birthday Party. I had a fantastic time. The Party was a great success. The staff are friendly and very welcoming. The hotel is in an ideal location. Very near Junction 5 of the M3 and close to Hook Train Station. The room my wife and I stayed in was very comfortable and clean. The function room where I had my party is ideal. It has its own bar, toilets and dancefloor. The buffet food is excellent. I highly recommend the resident DJ (Ed) for the disco. Some top tunes he plays ! My whole experience was brilliant. I felt highly valued as a customer and all staff were willing to help. A truly memorable occasion. Thank you :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy402014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff who without exception were pleasant and efficient and helpful. We had booked into a superior double room to have more space and a larger bed but were shown to a room which was almost filled by the bed and which had no opening window and no aspect at all except a filthy flat roof and a brick wall. Not a good start but on talking to reception we were moved to a 'suite' which could be better described as a superior double. It was spacious but still with no outlook and the bathroom was extremely small. There was also no remote for the television. On our first night there was an Elvis tribute act, which I feel should have been mentioned when booking and there was music on the two following nights which we couldn't avoid hearing and feeling! Our son had a two year old and had to ask for a quieter room at 9.30. The food was pretty good for pub food and the breakfasts were good too. The building is in need of some maintenance. Very convenient for the station and Tesco. Would not choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block as they are away from where the entertainment takes place so are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjbenmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Firstly there is very little to do in Hook, however there is a train station next door if you wish to travel further afield, there are also some good walks taking you along canals, past historic ruins and lovely countryside.
The hotel was very clean and tidy and the staff couldn't have been anymore helpful and friendly.
I have stayed in a few hotels but the bed here was the most comfortable and I had 2 good nights sleep. The full English breakfast was large enough for me and I could have had other options as well.
We stayed here on an Old English Inn deal and that made it very good value for money.
Would I stay here again? YES.
Thank you Manager and staff at the Raven.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not above the bar area would be quieter. We stayed in a room off of the main building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mick b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 6 in Hook
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
660 reviews
3.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Hampshire, England
6.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Property: Raven Hotel
Address: Station Road, Hook RG27 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing