We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stayed overnight for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Raven Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Raven Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stayed overnight for a wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Before we booked we enquired about check in time as it was 3pm stated on the website but we was off to a wedding which started at 2pm so we needed an early check in to get ready and leave for the wedding. The staff said they would try their best to get our rooms ready. When we arrived the rooms where ready and they had our keys out ready to let us into our rooms! Fantastic! I don't know many hotels that do this for you!

Staff was friendly, lovely little doggies in reception too!

Free breakfast was included which was lovely too! Nice fry up.

All I could say to improve is to have two pillows instead of one as our necks was a bit stiff the next day. But apart from that it was lovely and I would stay again!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BLH24864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    141
    70
    40
    33
See reviews for
58
174
26
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The Raven hotel has it all, big function room, a meeting room, restaurant, bar and lots of rooms but more importantly a fantastic team led by Chris and Emma.

The managers bring life and soul to this Old English Inn and in turn the team follow.

We eat and drink here regularly and have never had a complaint. The food is typical "pub style" food but is cooked and presented really well.

A great find.......

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulmcvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Nice staff, good breakfast. Gampled to this on business visit to Basingstoke since their hotels were overpriced. Good value for money, nice small village around with handful of decent pubs and take-a-ways, what else you need? Good free wifi connection.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

I had stayed here for 4 nights, and since I landed from India a bit early, the staff were kind enough to give me an early check-in.

This was my 1st visit to the UK and this hotel made me really comfortable and welcome.

Ambience of the Hotel and Bar was good too.

Don't miss the kingsize breakfast !!

Cheers !!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran_Jagannath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your kind comments ! I will pass your lovely review onto the rest of The Raven team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel is very poor indeed!

A very, very expensive 'superior' room which I was advised on arrival was a suite but turned out to be an ordinary, basic room with tired, chipped & unmatching furniture & fittings. In NO WAY could it be classified as a 'suite' unless you count the 2 chairs at the end of the bed!! The bathroom was also basic and like the room, tired........There was no hot water from the shower in the morning.

Whilst the welcome at reception was friendly enough, the restaurant is a 'pub', again desperately in need of a refurb, and the entire building a maze of narrow, dingy corridors. The function room was also basic and not particularly attractive and, on the hottest day of the year, the heating
"could not be turned off".

There was some kind of generator making a loud noise immediately outside all night long with further noise disturbance outside at 6 a.m.

Breakfast was at best uninspiring.

A really disappointing stay and one not to be returned to.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGW2703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OEIGK, Guest Relations Manager at Raven Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are currently in the middle of stage 2
of room improvements. The room you have reviewed is part of our stage 3
room improvement programme in July 14 so hopefully the issues you have
highlighted will be addressed once completed. So why not come back & see the differences
first hand
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Many thanks to the owners and all the staff for giving us a superb weekend. Room was comfy, food was excellent, as was the entertainment. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a short break within easy driving range of a whole variety of attractions.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank polosdad999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the raven before our cruise found the hotel clean and rooms very well equipped evening meal and breakfast was lovely would defiantly stay again

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
1.2 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#5 of 6 in Hook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Kingsley at Eversley
5.0 mi away
Lismoyne Hotel
Lismoyne Hotel
#1 of 4 in Fleet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raven Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raven Hotel

Property: Raven Hotel
Address: Station Road, Hook RG27 9HS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Hook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Raven Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Raven Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raven Hotel Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing