We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place”
Review of Oaklea Guest House

Oaklea Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hook
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oaklea Guest House
Ranked #5 of 7 Hook B&B and Inns
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
“excellent place”
Reviewed 23 August 2012

we stayed in this place for 2 nights last week with our twins and it was excellent. Su welacomed us very nicely. The room was very clean and comfortable. Breakfest was excellent. The place is very nice and recomended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmit k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This has to be one of the worst guesthouses I have ever stayed in. We were kept waiting on arrival, in a dusty hallway which stank of stale fat, given a brusqe greeting and finally shown to our rooms. Mine clearly hadn't been cleaned properly (if at all) with a dirty sink in the bathroom and biscuit crumbs on the bedside table. Both the walls and carpet had numerous stains on them which gave the room a dingy, depressing atmosphere.
Breakfast was an incredibly stressful experience with the owner having a loud discussion with a guest, literally, over our heads as we tried to eat. The chaos continued throughout the meal with the owner taking bookings and payments in the middle of the breakfast room while still walking around with breakfast plates, and having shouted conversations with guests who were in the hallway. The breakfast itself was cold and swimming in grease.
We were in Basingstoke for a family reunion and the poor quality of the guesthouse detracted from the whole weekend for us. Very bad value for money and a very unpleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlyQ_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Stayed here on business and was welcomed by Sue, stayed in a couple of different rooms both spotless and clean and very comfortable, the owners take great pride in attention to detail and the cooked breakfast is piping hot and fresh, see you soon. Thank You!

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stvkeay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoylake
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

Do not hesitate! This is the best b&b we have stayed in. Wonderfully welcoming and excellent breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leofbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Stayed here for a friends wedding and we thought it was excellent! The hosts are very friendly and nothing seemed to be too much hassle.
The room was ideal and the bed was very comfy!
I would highly recommend this house and would happily go back for the delicous breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edweird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed at this guest house for one night (had a wedding to attend). When I booked the guy on the phone was really polite friendly and helpful. We arrived later than expected and we were shown to our rooms promptly and given local taxi numbers. The room was clean (we had a double) and well presented with everything you would expect, tea coffee, water, shampoo, shower gel etc. Breakfast was lovely, we had a full english, they had a good range of cereals and drinks too. The couple that run this guest house are fantastic. Ive never written a review before but thought I should for these guys as they were so helpful. Good value for money!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emzy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

Over the past year we have had several overnight stays at this B and B. As frequent visitors to the area we have also stayed in the past in one of the large big name hotels in nearby Basingstoke. In terms of value for money Oaklea compares extremely well with the larger name hotels. It is comfortable, clean, you are made very welcome there, breakfasts are good, there is off road parking, Sky in the main lounge, and very friendly proprietors – Sue and Steve - who look after their guests very well. The location is good – a good range of local shops in Hook and the M3 is only a couple of minutes drive away .We much prefer staying in Oaklea to the big characterless hotels down the road and we are happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather-and-Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hook
1.0 mi away
Raven Hotel
Raven Hotel
#5 of 7 in Hook
469 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hook House Hotel
Hook House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Hook
55 reviews
1.9 mi away
Basingstoke Country Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Tylney Hall
Tylney Hall
#1 of 1 in Rotherwick
1,322 reviews
4.9 mi away
Warbrook House
Warbrook House
#2 of 2 in Eversley
97 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Elvetham
The Elvetham
#1 of 1 in Hartley Wintney
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaklea Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaklea Guest House

Property: Oaklea Guest House
Address: Oaklea Guest House London Road, Hook RG27 9LA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Hook
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Hook
Hotel Class:3 star — Oaklea Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Oaklea Guest House Hook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing