We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Esseborne Manor
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
The Star & Garter(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Hart(Andover)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Andover Hotel(Andover)(Great Value!)
US$49
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill(Newbury)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Barton Stacey(Andover)(Great Value!)
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Peat Spade Inn(Stockbridge)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$88
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
441
199
58
18
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
199
58
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssconesfour poster bedafternoon teacourse tasting menuon arrivalcream teajacuzzi bathhighclere castlelovely breakan overnight staytravelzoo dealone night staynext morningroom was largebar areafull english breakfastpork
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 724 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My wife and I had a Travelzoo voucher for 12th March 2014. My wife is a coeliac but this was no problem at all for the staff. the afternoon cream tea was very tasty, the best gluten free scone my wife has had. Our room was quaint and comfortable. The evening tasting menu was superb and the four wine deal to accompany it was well worth £15 each. The breakfast next day was good in variety and taste. The gluten free bread was very nice. The staff were friendly and helpful. All in all a relaxing break.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Lovely, friendly hotel. We stayed in the Chichester Room, through Travelzoo (but we stayed on for a second night) although neither of us are golfers.

The breakfasts & evening meals are the best so far that we've had whilst with Travelzoo, (although a couple of other hotels we have stayed in come a very close second)- the first night at Essebourne was the 7 course taster menu, which was absolutely brilliant, and on the second night we had the steak (melting) and smoked haddock & poached egg with parsnips (absolutely delicious)

Very happy with it indeed, would come back again if the offer was repeated. Was glad to have the chance opportunity to tell the Chef we thought he was brill!

Room Tip: Try Chichester suite. Its 'outside' the main hotel, in the courtyard, but on the ground floor, so easy access for anyone who isn't too mobile.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Lovely old house which has been nicely renovated but needs a little TLC. We stayed last weekend with a Travelzoo voucher and room upgrade. Impressive building but a little disappointing that all the staff were in casual wear. They were all very helpful and polite. The room was big with a huge ornate bed and a massive bathroom with double spa bath and shower with body sprays. But the water ran out as the bath filled and the shower would then not work. Also there were no instructions for the bath. We didn't know how to switch it off so it sprayed everywhere when we got out and then switched on again several times in the night. But it was a good experience. The tasting menu was OK but had some strange combinations, some which did not work. As we were on a voucher we were happy with the stay. If we had been paying normal rates we would have been disappointed.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We stayed as two couples, Saturday afternoon to Sunday morning, with the deal from Travelzoo that many other reviewers have mentioned. There was only one room available as an upgrade for an extra £20 but to be honest the only difference seemed to be the spa bath that we didn't use anyway and maybe the room was a tiny bit bigger. As much a I can appreciate some of the comments made about slightly tired rooms, personally I thought it all added to the charm of Esseborne. It was more like being invited to stay at the rather grand home of some long lost relation than the usual sterile and faceless rooms of chain hotels. Afternoon tea was taken in the drawing room with homemade scones and coffee option for the non tea drinker (me) ! Then a relax in the room before we met up in the bar for pre dinner drinks in front of the roaring open fire ! The 7 course taster menu was fantastic and as it has been reviewed by far more knowledgeable diners than myself I won't go through the courses again but would recommend the wine option at £15 pp. 4 decent sized glasses matched to the food was a bargain. Had a great nights sleep, the room was warm enough without any heating on at all and bar the occasional creaking floorboard above totally silent. Excellent breakfast the next morning with choice of cereals, fresh fruits, juices and croissants and that was before being offered the breakfast menu and the chance of a naughty full English. All in all a relaxing and interesting stay, so much so that we have re-booked for later on in the year. Just a pity we don't play golf and therefore dip out of the free round !

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisandNicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I was very interested in the offer of a 7 course taster menu at Esseborne Manor, and when I saw there was a complimentary round of golf at the Hampshire Golf Club, I rang two friends, and we booked the deal. The golf was good, and after four hours of playing, we drove to Esseborne Manor and really enjoyed the cream tea. Service was prompt and served with smiles. Our room was the Chichester and both the bedroom and bathroom were large and well appointed. The six of us sat down for the 7 courses and everyone chose the excellent wine deal with four different wines for £15 each. The spinach with smoked trout and daube of beef with octopus were particularly stunning. Had a great night's sleep, a fantastic breakfast and left having all had a wonderful time with some very special hosts. We then drove to Mottisfont to see the Patrick Lichfield exhibition which was brilliant. Will go again because not only do we want to have another great gourmet experience, but there are lots of places just 45 minutes away that we still want to visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pipster229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews