We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Three day "Wedding" weekend 4th August”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Three day "Wedding" weekend 4th August”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

My niece block booked a number of rooms here for wedding guests and we decided to stay an extra two nights prior. I have stayed in many hotels mostly on business and I have to say that I have never seen a "manager" so active and professional as Dave Allan who seemed to be around all hours ensuring that everything was running smoothly. His wife Dianne was equally impressive in her role in one of the restaurants as she made sure that the place ran as one would expect. For me the only downside to the stay was not due to staff but a rather obnoxious couple who were RESIDENTS! They seemed to have a problem with the fact they were not told the carvery was operating on Thursday night as the night before they had also ate there and had steak,the poor devils!! They spoke to the lovely Latvian waitress rather rudely and clearly thought they were better than anybody else despite the fact they were staying in one of the budget Pods!! The way they were behaving around the place I thought they owned it!!! In fact their behaviour was quite entertaining as I am sure they were unjustifyably after some discount.
Overall a very nice place with great staff, operated very well even at the busiest of times as all the rooms were full due to the two weddings that weekend.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    341
    191
    136
    106
See reviews for
200
349
21
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on Trent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stunning hotel, with amazing facilities. It is refreshing to stay in a hotel with great staff and in a beautiful location. The champange bar is a dream. Would recommend a visit and be treated like royalty.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisStokeonTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels i stayed at and ive traveled a lot. We stayed in a room and had dinner, bed and breakfast. We also had a spa package for our wedding anniversary.
On arrivel we notice the hotel was having a lot off work done, but it was still clean and relaxed. We had a delux room with wine. The room was stunning, the bed very big, modern with a large t.v. The treatments we lovely as was all the staff from the receptionist, therapists and hotel restaurant staff. The food was stunning cooked well and the resturant was modern and relaxing. The pool at the time was a bit run down , but this was a while ago and it didnt effect our stay.
You will not be disapointed in your stay.Go for it, its worth every penny for a special occasion, in beautiful surroundings. ( i traveled later then the stated date, but there was no option to select later date)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine186298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Old Thorns was chosen by my neice for her wedding and we travelled from Kent the day before.Old Thorns is set in the most beautiful of grounds,perfectly kept.Having had so much rain earlier in July everywhere was lush and green.Plenty of car-parking available.Our room was very clean and comfortable.When a fan was requested it was promptly brought to the room.We thoroughly enjoyed a carvery meal with other wedding guests also staying at Old Thorns the day before the wedding. The wedding was in the Hampshire suite - absolutely gorgeous with views of the grounds on two sides.The meal after the ceremony was "scrummy".
The party afterwards led by the excellent DJ was enjoyed by all. Finally would just like to say that ALL the staff we had any contact with were first class.Well done Old Thorns, we had a wonderful time celebrating with the Bride and Groom. Best regards to all.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineHATT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The room (206) had very comfy beds and was spacious. It had a small balcony so that we could enjoy the sunshine and let in some air. It was also spotlessly clean and very near the spa and main staircase.

The spa, which has recently been refurbished, was lovely. The staff and therapists are professional, friendly and well organised. They make sure that you know where all the spa facilities are. My sister and I each had a chocolate massage and 55 minute facial, which I can highly recommend. The only slight downside was that the wet area (pool etc.) were down the corridor from the spa, and the steam room is still being built.
The changing room and relaxation are are very well looked after. They are cleaned and topped-up with toileteries and towels regularly.
The other good thing was that my sister was allowed in the spa despite being 17 - some spas have a minimum age of 18.

The food was also excellent. A 2 course carvery was included, as was a breakfast buffet. Both meals had a very wide choice.

I would definitely go again!

Room Tip: Go midweek, if possible, and include the spa in your itinerary. But book your treatments early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bethers89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Wow, what a perfect day we had for our daughter's wedding at Old Thorns in the Hampshire Suite. A lovely room with beautiful views all around. James & his team did a fantastic job of ensuring this was a special day for all of us. Our guests have consistently been telling us of how impressed they were with them all. Our evening DJ from Old Thorns also played his part brilliantly. Our family room was the ideal size for the the bridal party to get ready for the ceremony, plenty of room to 'manoeuvre' for hair & makeup styling etc. We luckily had a lovely sunny day & thankfully were supplied portable air condition fans to keep our 'cool' Staying the night before the wedding was great too, enjoying lovely food from the restaurant & also time to put any personal touches to the suite. Everything was safely taken down after the wedding & stored securely for our collection the next morning. Well Done Old Thorns & a big thank you for a most memorable day!!

Room Tip: Allyss family room 227: Huge double bed + twin beds + travel cot & still plenty of room. Lockab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Have just had a very enjoyable 2 night stay at this hotel. We were part of a wedding party, and what a beautiful venue for a wedding. The food was good, the Sports Bar provides snacks and bar food and the restaurant has the choice of a carvery. The wedding breakfast was excellent and all served nice and hot. Contrary to what I had read on some reviews, I found all the staff polite, very helpful with nothing too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable, we were lucky in having a room that looked over the magnificent golf course. Cannot comment on the Spa as didn't use it but the gym and swimming pool were brilliant. My husband, a novice golfer, was very impressed with the course saying you could see for miles from some of the holes and thoroughly enjoyed his round of golf. On the whole, a great place for people to get married and have their guests entertained too.

Room Tip: Room 210 overlooks part of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mirrorgirl50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,047 reviews
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing