We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A real Gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A real Gem!”
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a one night stay' loved all of it! The spa treatments were excellent and the pool was large and had plenty of beds and chairs around it. The carvery was excellent value and very tasty! Choose the right spot in the restaurant and you overlook the golf course. Starbucks on site which is a real bonus. Accommodation was lovely and clean. Staff were friendly and most of the time they were efficient. Understaffed in the evening due to high unexpected numbers. All in all a lovely few days! Highly recommend and look forward to returning!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,234 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    336
    189
    134
    104
See reviews for
198
342
21
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We visited on a spa break deal. Having read some of the reviews I was a little dubious but we booked very much last minute and there was not much choice to be had!

I didn't receive a booking confirmation email as promised so was a little nervous but on arrival we were booked in. We weren't given any information at reception about where the facilities were located or the times meals were served or confirmation of the dinner reservation I had made when booking (which as it turned out hadn't been made!) As the hotel is made up of a number of buildings and corridors with various bars and restaurants it would have been helpful to have some sort of plan or at least the main areas pointed out.

Our room was pleasant with an enormous bed, was clean and well decorated and had a small balcony (even if it did overlook a corridor and roofs!) My one criticism would be that there was no bottled water in the room, Whilst there were plentiful tea & Coffee making facilities, for those of us who do not partake in these, I had to resort to tap water in a plastic cup from the bathroom.

The dinner included in our package was the Carvery. Whilst it was adequate, it was nothing special and not particularly hot. It was made clear to us in no uncertain terms by the waitress that we were limited to one visit to the carvery and should therefore ensure we pile our plates up!

We discovered that the Spa was actually separate to the leisure facilities (i.e. sauna, steam etc.) although it is only a short walk down the corridor or across the patio. I had struggled to find much information about or pictures of the spa facilities on the website but I have to say I was extremely impressed. The pool area was clean and bright with comfortable loungers and an adjoining outside terrace (it was warm and sunny while we were there). The Wellness area which consists of Sauna, Steam, Hot Tub, Hot Beds, Foot Spa's, Ice Fountain and Ice Bucket was lovely and somewhat of a surprise as the hotel does not appear to promote these facilities on their website as much as perhaps they should.

The treatments we had in the spa were pleasant and the staff friendly and helpful.

I would definitely visit again as was one of the best spa hotels I have visited in terms of facilities. and a lot of money has clearly been spent here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daimler_Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Just returned from our daughter's wedding on Saturday 20th July having stayed the Friday , Saturday & Sunday a VERY BIG THANK YOU to all at Old Thorns Manor Hotel for making it
such a special day for everyone who attended Faye & Dave's wedding. We could not have wished for anything better it was just PERFECT !
Special thanks to Stuart, Diana & Craig who ensured the wedding run like a dream.
Diana you were amazing thanks for being so helpful & attentive to our daughter Faye
Thanks to all the wedding planners Sallyann, Tiffany & Bethany for being so patient.
Kelly & Alex with the booking reservations - in fact everyone at Old Thorns, especially
Beth & the crew who run the bar for us that night & the chef who produced a FANTASTIC
wedding breakfast
Also the manager David Allan who was always on hand & very helpful

MANY MANY THANKS
Alan & Sylvia Reid
John & Pat Poynter

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sylviareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on Sunday evening having played golf during the day. Very impressed with the Hotel and staff. Golf course very challenging with some great holes. Would definitely go again. Ps food was very good both in terms of choice and value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy4265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Girls don't get your hopes up. This is pretty big standard, it's pretty much a country club.
Spa treatments are rubbish and the beauticians aren't that amazing.
The buffet was roast dinner day AND night. We managed to get our credit from the buffet transferred to the sports bar. Which was over priced and boring.
I would give the whole experience a 3 out of 10.
Paid £300 for 2 days, felt like I should've paid half of that.

Don't book here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritasinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed two nights with a party of golfers during the heatwave. No air-con and no fan in the room although the latter was rectified next day. Our room smelt damp and there was mould on the tiles. I think the extractor is not connected as the ondensation was awful. Room was not made up until after 3:00pm once I had complained. No minibar/fridge either.

The bars were expensive and some of our members were overcharged by 200 – 300% e.g. a pint of lime and soda should be £1.60 but prices varied from £3.30 to £4.90! A lager shandy was charged at £4.90.

The restaurant buffet was average and the beef poor. The food was not a patch on Ashbury.

The pro shop was manned by a very unfriendly character. I was informed I could not charge my single seater ride on buggy anywhere and so I had to hire one of their gas powered ones. Again overpriced and no sat navigation unlike our home course. Also all buggies must remain on the cart paths even though the course was bone dry. Apparently this was to protect the course but tees and pin positions were not changed for the first two days we were there and only on the last day due to the corporate day. Now, one could understand the buggy restrictions on steep sections if wet but not on the flat areas in the dry. This is the first course here and overseas I have played that this ridiculous rule has applied. We booked buggies for our senior members who were either disabled or partially disabled but when we arrived we were told that they were not reserved for the last day which coincided with a corporate day.

Overall not worthy of three stars but the spa, pool and gym were apparently OK but not much interest for our golfers who were worn out by all the walking from and to the cart tracks.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have cleaners clattering by upto 6:00pm
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khgclubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband, two friends and myself stayed here one night on a golfing break, had we realized quite how corporate this hotel is I do not think we would have booked. Why would a hotel want an enormous Starbucks sign to dominate their frontage?
We were given a room overlooking the Ecopods and an unpleasant bog! The room was of a good size and nicely furnished. The bed was comfortable and thankfully there was a fan as the room was extremely warm.
After golf we attempted to find the swimming pool, as did many others! We were eventually taken there by a maintenance man who said it was common for people to get lost! Why oh why no sensible signage?
We thought the Champagne bar was very pleasant but the Sports Bar was noisy and like a school dining room. We ate as a large group in a room below the Sports Bar. The set meal was excellent but is was difficult to hear oneself speak in such a noisy room - hard floors and no soft furnishing to absorb the noise.
Our friends, with a room overlooking the car park were kept awake until 4.30am by a very noisy group of ladies from a wedding party. They also had a disabled room, not requested, which quite frankly I would have found unbearable - gave an impression of being in a hospital or old peoples home. They put up with it as they were only there for one night.
Our worst experience was with a member of staff in the Pro Shop - Victor Meldrew has competition! Why would someone who so obviously dislikes people want to work here? Everything seemed too much trouble, and all we asked for was to rent a buggy!
Not somewhere we will visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jac E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,074 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing