We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eco pods, perfect for Glamping!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eco pods, perfect for Glamping!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in one of the new luxury eco-pods for the glamping experience. I really liked the look of the pods, and they were brilliant. You get all the things you would expect in a hotel room (including flat screen tv), and a little veranda to sit out on with chairs and a table. It was a little chilly when we went, so snuggled under a blanket, but it was brilliant. The toilet and shower block were only a couple of metres away, so easy access, and only one did I have to wait to use it.

Also enjoyed the fact that it came with breakfast which was a nice buffet breakfast in the hotel. We found it a great experience. I also thought it was good value as it was a great central location to explore Hampshire.

Room Tip: Book a pod mid-week if you can as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snowflakeshona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    329
    185
    128
    104
See reviews for
191
335
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

A rather quirky hotel with lots of sculptures, pictures and thrones throughout. The pool was excellent and 20 metres making it good to swim in. Excellent hot pool and steam room plus foot pools, hot beds etc. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Walls painted dark grey-green making it a little gloomy. Room ok with very comfy bed and good sized TV.
Golf course was very challenging with several steep hills. Wonderful views and really enjoyable to play. Countryside around the hotel beautiful and I went on several walks in old woodland and heather clad moorland direct from the hotel.
Food in the sports bar fine, did not try the Carvery. Breakfast excellent.
Very enjoyable stay

Room Tip: None. Ours were gloomy ground floor overlooking a wall with scaffolding! A/C unit noise evident
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford Essex
Level Contributor
121 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I think it must depend on who's on duty when you visit this hotel as to the experience you have. Before the stay we visited to check on facilities as we were booking for a large group of friends and family staying for a wedding nearby. The reception staff could not have been more disinterested, even when we wanted advice about local taxi firms etc. Following this a couple who decided to book after the main group had a curt and unfriendly telephone call to them.

On arrival all looks modern and clean, if a little chavvy. There is no help offered to take your bags, even for my 85 year old father, that they put out in the annex. But when you enter the rooms, in the main building, gloom and doom descend. The rooms are small, stuffy and incredibly dark. We could not open the curtains as we were next to the main corridor where people went to the bar! The stuffiness was not helped by the fact that there is no air conditioning and we could not have a window open as they were patio doors to the grass strip outside. The rooms were scruffy, showed signs of wear and were not particularly clean. The beds were however comfortable.
The hotel is very noisy on the Friday night there was a hen party, weddings and other guests.
On the Friday evening we tried to book a meal for everyone. The hotel said they needed deposits from everyone, even though they were all staying at the hotel, they would not negotiate so we went to a lovely pub down the road. The staff at that pub The Deers Hut could not be faulted and I will write another review on this gem. The hotel missed out on 38 evening meals and drinks!
After the wedding people came back to have a drink with us in the hotel champagne bar. This was the moment when they really spoilt the day. They had doormen and bouncers in attendance! I have never seen as many in a London club as in here, and were they aggressive! No chat or talk here, one lady and man were man-handled out of the bar for raising their voices!! They decided that our friends could not come in as they were not all staying at the hotel, we said we would be buying the drinks, but they were adamant. One of our residents was refused entry because he had changed out of his wedding shoes into some soft shoes, what did they think he was going to do? It was a real downer on what had been a lovely day. I am just so pleased that we did not choose this hotel for the actual wedding.
The spa area is beautiful and well maintained.
All in all I wold never stay here again. I have travelled extensively and have never met such an unhelpful, unfriendly staff. The management of this hotel need to seriously consider some customer service training.

Room Tip: Another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank theoldone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We had a really relaxing stay at the hotel, our check in was at 3pm but we arrived at 10am to use the spa facilities and the lady on reception told us our room was ready so we were really pleased.
Our room was lovely and the bed was big and comfy.
We used all the spa facilities, gym, pool, sauna,foot spa,relaxation room and had accesss to the outside sunbeds which were lovely! We had lunch in the Sports bar which was great.
We both had treatments which were brilliant and the Spa staff were all really friendly.
In the evening we had dinner which was a carvery and it was delicious! There was a big selection of puddings and even some pic & mix sweets!
In the morning we went down to breakfast, there was an excellent selection of food including a choice of full English, cereals, toast,fruit and pastries.
Highly recommend this hotel and wouldn't hesitate in coming back again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichelleT123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

The hotel is in a great location and has lots of facilities to offer but as a result means that the reception always seems busy and slow to serve people. The rooms are modern and fairly spacious but unfortunately lack air conditioning which you would expect from a modern four star property. Would stay again but not during a hot summer!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drew_uk_007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

Recently stayed over-night for a wedding. We booked what was supposed to be a' superior double' at a cost of £129 for bed and breakfast. The room we were allocated (142) was an outsized cupboard under the stairs. It was dark (like trying to sleep in a tomb) airless (only one very small window opened about 4 inches) and totally unsuitable. I complained in writing but as of two weeks later I haven't even received a reply.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We recently visited Old Thorns to have afternoon tea (£17.99 each), great location, staff were polite but the whole afternoon tea was very average and bland. There was a poor selection of teas on offer and I feel it was not worth paying £17.99 each, I would not revisit for the afternoon tea.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TW2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
22.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing