We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Value Golf & Spa Break!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value Golf & Spa Break!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Booked a Sunday/Monday deal at a very competitive price!
Bit disappointed when we drove in - very large hotel with a prominent Starbucks coffee franchise. The car park was pretty full, but discovered there had been TWO wedding receptions on the Saturday
Check in time was strictly adhered to, but not an issue as we had golf/spa booked shortly after arrival
Rooms were large, clean and beds comfortable (and HUGE!) Bathrooms were exactly as required with very efficient towel rail/radiator! Great for drying out soaking wet golf gear!
Two course carvery meal on Sunday evening was delicious, breakfast on Monday OK, but there had been a (planned!) power down during the night so think that may have had an impact
Every single staff member was polite, helpful and very friendly...absolutely NO exceptions!
Will definitely book again.....brilliant! Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: If you are staying in the 'Alliss' block, ask for a room facing the course rather than the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    458
    330
    185
    129
    105
See reviews for
193
336
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Went for a weekend away with 4 couples who all were paying the same price.. On arrival one couple were allocated a 4 poster room which was excellent, 2 couples got a good superior double room, and unluckily despite being told by reception that a standard room was the same as a superior room, my wife and I were allocated room 142!! First problem was finding it. We carried our luggage down every corridor in the building it seemed, with absolutely no signage to this room. Even 2 of the cleaning staff we asked didn't know, but eventually we found a cleaner who took us there. Amazingly it was by itself, no other rooms even close by, situated under a flight of stairs with random furniture and statues dumped not far from the door. A very small dark room, ideal for a hobbit, and one window that stared at a brick wall with scaffolding no more than 3 feet away!!! In fairness, despite the hotel being full we were told, reception managed to put us in a superior which was very good thankfully.

The chaps played golf on a course that was very wet with greens suffering badly with thatch. Really the greens should be out of play and temporary greens would reduce the damage being done. I suspect, as this is a proprietary Club, they are keen not to refund green fees for the course not being fully open. Despite this we enjoyed the course which must be fantastic in the prime golfing season. The girls enjoyed the spa and pool which were excellent.

The carvery on Saturday night was fine although very busy and noisy with hen parties etc, we were disappointed that the Brasserie was not open (only Mon - Thurs apparently) and this was not communicated at the time of booking. We would have preferred a little more sophistication and individual service. Despite all of this, we had a great time and the sports bar was a saviour with good food and drink and a welcoming atmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aajohnwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilcreggan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Good quality accommodation at a good price. Massive place with lots of facilities - I was on business so didn't really get the chance to try them out. Huge sports bar for a bar meal and a pint at a reasonable price. Well appointed room and very good breakfast. A relief after some over priced, scruffy London hotels earlier in the week.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank warren_zevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Went to a party this weekend and booked an Eco pod. Not to be recommended. Although very comfortable in itself it is not obvious that the pods do not have loos, showers etc and you have to walk several metres to a toilet block. 2 toilets and showers between potentially 20 people. There is no indicator on how to switch on the power for the shower, no mat to step onto when you get out of the shower (so you could have to walk on a dirty Lino floor as people have come from outside to use the loo) and the small hand basin is difficult to access because of the close proximity of the above shelf. The stones on the walkway outside are noisy so when people go to loo in the middle of night you are woken. Not worth £99 a night. Food at hotel very average, avoid the coffee and head to adjoining Starbucks.

Room Tip: Stay in main hotel which friends said was ok but expensive for what it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Old Thorns has/is undergoing a huge transformation, areas that are completed look really very nice, however I can see why the reviews on tripadvisor vary so much. My experience yesterday 24th February 2014 was stressful to say the least and not the relaxing day I had planned. On arrival we were sent to the very busy spa reception area where we stood in a queue for a less than acceptable time, we were given paperwork to complete which included our requested lunch and time for lunch, after completing these we were shown roughly where to go by way of a therapist standing and pointing to corridors telling us to turn left right etc. We found the pool area, it was packed no chairs to sit on and pool busy, so opted to go into the gym this was an excellent facility fantastic state of the art equipment airy, cool and clean spent about an hour in there,then decided to get changed and go to the pool before lunch, mistake...the changing rooms were so busy there was no where to get changed I had to put the towel they provided me with on the floor in a cramped corner and lay my clothing on that as no benches were free! when I went into the pool area there was no where to sit, my husband emerged from his changing room with a man carrying a very young baby girl I commented that it was nice to see daddy doing the changing he said and I quote ' my wife couldn't find anywhere to lay her in the ladies as it was so busy' this says it all really, did not swim went back into manic changing rooms and dressed for lunch. Our 'allocated' lunch slot was 1pm on arrival at the restaurant the paperwork we completed at reception could not be found so there was much faffing about over this issue, my husband enjoyed his carvery lunch , I am a vegetarian this option was ok but nothing special. Our treatments were in the afternoon so back into the equally busy changing area then onto the treatment area which again was busy all 8 beds in the relaxation area were full so we sat on a sofa outside, our treatments were acceptable and that is all. Glad to have the day over by 5pm - back into the changing area no shower free and all hair dryers being used so got dressed and left with a sigh of relief really nice to get home and have a comfortable chair to sit in !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
707 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely afternoon tea at this hotel. There was a large group of us but the service was efficient and friendly at all times. The sandwiches were tasty with a range of fillings. The scones were warm and fresh with lovely clotted cream and jam. And the cake selection was extensive and yummy. Really lovely afternoon spent here. The hotel grounds were pretty and there seemed to be lots of things to do on the hotel site.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank KateLondon_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

I was part of an away weekend with a group of ladies and had a fantastic time! As we were a block booking (with quite a number of us!) we were in the "Peter Aliss Suites" a separate building from the main part of the hotel. My friend and I shared a twin room which was lovely and spacious. The beds were comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

We arrived at lunch time and had something to eat in the Sports Bar. The food was typical pub food but as it was hot and delicious and a really large portion I really had no complaints!

Our rooms weren't quite ready but we were able to use all the facilities straight away. The gym looked amazing, but not being a gym person I opted to use the pool instead. It was clean, relaxing and warm. I loved the sauna, hot tubs, steam room and foot spas, but especially the hot-stone recliners - so comfortable I was falling asleep! When we went back to our room to change and shower, the water was not hot so I called the front desk. Within minutes they had sent someone to investigate the problem and he informed us that while we had been merrily swimming away, there had been a mini hurricane which had knocked the power out for a few moments! Very shortly after his visit, the hot water was restored!

In the evening we had a private function room with 3 course meal and a disco afterwards. The duty manager could not have been more helpful with hooking my iPad up to the sound system and sending someone to turn on the disco lights for us! The food and service was excellent also, considering that there were several other functions happening that evening in other parts of the hotel.

On the Sunday, we had a cooked breakfast in the carvery and lunch in a separate room just off the carvery. Both meals had a lot of variety and were excellent.

Neither my friend or I booked in for a Spa treatment, but several others in our group did and said how good it was!

This is a lovely hotel and I would definitely visit again! Especially as it has a Starbucks on site!

Room Tip: A a group, the separate block of suites is fine, but try and get a room in the main part of the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
22.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing