We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect wedding weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at Old Thorns after being married there and celebrating with family, the whole day went without any complications or hick-ups, everything ran to plan and was a truly perfect day this was entirely down to Diane and her team, they were all extremely helpful and friendly nothing was too much trouble, having left all the arrangements to Diane I was slightly anxious as to what the outcome would be, I really had nothing to worry about, the table decorations, the ceremony room, the food and atmosphere were perfect.
The spa was very much appreciated on the Sunday morning after a late night of partying in the champagne bar; I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be returning for a girl’s spa weekend.
Thank you Diane and your team for making our day very special and memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CLM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,339)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

801 - 807 of 1,339 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

This hotel is truly terrible. We made a late booking by showing up the the hotel on a Friday evening of a long weekend and were booked into a room. We were not told there was a wedding reception that evening and our room was in very close proximity. The horrendous noise continued until well past 1pm and the people at the front desk refused to move us to another room. I have traveled globally and it was truly the worst room and service I've ever experienced. If you are booking here make sure to ask if they are hosting a reception and where your room will be in proximity as there is literally no sound proofing in the hotel rooms. Besides this the beds (two singles pushed together) were shabby and had exposed velcro and staples on the side that scraped my leg! I have never bothered complaining about a hotel on trip advisor before but this one is so bad I have to warn others. Perhaps try staying at another B&B in the area, I'm sure you would have a more relaxing stay!

Room Tip: Do not book near the reception venue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jessica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Was quoted incorrect price and upon arrival was told they would not honour original price. The maids walked into our room at 8am without knocking. The noise kept us awake until 2am. Pool is full of kids who were diving into the shallow end but there was no life guard. Also the staff have no customer service skills at all. I would definitely not call this a four star. 3 at best.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paul3083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Old Thorns is the perfect example of the hotel rating system not working. Yes it's a 4 star hotel. The actual building and surroundings are very nice. The staff are polite enough. However, you expect a certain finesse and level of customer service with a 4 star hotel which this hotel does not provide. When staying in a 4 or 5 star, it's all the little touches that make it a great hotel. Unfortunately, this hotel doesn't have any of them.

It started when I phoned to book. Quote one price and then charged a different price. I asked would they honour the price. The answer, "well do you want to book or not?" It was only £20 difference, but it these 'moments of truth' that define a hotel.

The swimming pool was full of screaming kids running and diving. No member of staff was around to supervise.

The breakfast was average at best. Premier Inn do a better breakfast.

I could go on. For a 4 star hotel, its poor. The customer service falls short. Far better hotels to choose from than this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ChrisStock1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Enjoyed a golf break at Old Thorns last weekend. Huge investment at the site since visiting there 5 years ago, a gym, spa, conference centre & Starbucks (?!) Some of the changes look good but now it appears to be trying to be all things to all people and has lost itself somewhere along the line. Lost being the key word.....the areas of the hotel do not flow and finding the changing rooms or the loos was all but impossible. I had to go through a wedding reception in my golf gear to get to the loo!
Bedrooms were good. Food was acceptable.
The golf course: A great course but needs some tlc. The course hasn't had the investment that the hotel has and that's all that's lacking to bring it back to championship standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LynM656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here 2nd May 2014 for my friends 65th Birthday. We had an amazing time the suite was absolutely beautiful beds very comfy, very good bathrooms, The only very small fault there was no tea towels in the apartment to dry up. We went swimming, had a jacuzzi. The meal we had on the tribute night was fantastic, the waitresses & waiters were very friendly, pool staff friendly. The man on reception was a bit off putting & starchy as was the lady when we went down who greeted us for breakfast. The waitresses & waiters again at breakfast were friendly & efficient. The buffet breakfast was fabulous such a vast choice. Would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hampshire apartment it was fabulous I am unable to comment on the rooms but if they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TinkerbellPink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Last night we ate at the restaurant as a fairly large family group party of 15 having pre booked a large table and carvery meal.
When we arrived the restaurant was nearly empty, we were shown to a very squashed up table on the end of the room down by the nightclub area, well away from the more pleasant areas by the windows or center eating area which was empty, had i been the " bookee " i would immediately complained, however the person doing the booking didn't wish to make a fuss, it was her 80th birthday celebration.

Drinks orders were taken after a few minutes, i ordered a cold carlsberg , after a few minutes the very young waiter came back and said it wasn't served ,when i asked what other cold lagers where on sale i was offered a Guinness as an alternative , went to the bar and chose a Becks myself would have thought staff would be given some training in the drinks menu !

No staff came over to explain the carvery procedure, it appeared there were no staff serving anything other than drinks or coffee, a quick rundown would have been enough or shown we were acknowledged, and how to go about getting food on our plates, after half an hour we had to ask a waiter over to explain as we felt we had been forgotten, went up rang the bell for the pop out chef, one of the group had ordered a soup starter, it still hadn't arrived when we got back ,and it took half an hour to arrive without apology while we were all eating mains, food not terrible but overpriced, you have to get everything yourself, even a pudding, at which point we had to ask for the plates to be cleared to make room, the staff are hopeless and seem completely untrained, you get better service at Mackie ds , there was a disco going on in the room behind us and the constant thump of loud music made it impossible to have easy conversation, i had to find a waiter to ask for the bill after an hour or so of finishing coffees and drinks , we were not asked if we were a pre book and had paid a deposit ( big mistake as once they have your money it seems you are second class ) and it wasn't deducted, back to find a waiter again, all in all a very poor experience, the place has great potential is in a lovely setting , if only the owners would just spend a bit on training and making your custom feel valued and i would go there again, we spent nearly £ 400 , i don't expect an apology or guys in penguin suits asking how everything is every 5 minutes i just think other people need to know how bad service in this restaurant is and be warned, don't pay a deposit !

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Martin stone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,083 reviews
5.6 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
506 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
339 reviews
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range: £98 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, LateRooms, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing