We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge dissapointment & total rip off”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here for a wedding & was totally ripped off, looking at the prices on the wbsite a family room should have been £135 this should have had 1 double bed & 2 singles so for 2 adults in the singles & three small children in the double would have been adequate & I would have been happy.

I was informed I had to have an extra bed & the cost rose to £230, when I checked in there were 2 double beds & a fold up bed, one adult & her daughter in one bed & 2 sisters in the other with me on a fold up far from happy & feel royally cheated.

The hotel was nice & the breakfast adequate but again for what I paid it was a rip off.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wellies97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,318)
There are newer reviews for Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

764 - 770 of 1,318 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2014

Currently staying at this hotel - appearance is EXCELLENT. Service is EXCELLENT!
waiters/ress in the restaurant are attentive and polite.

Restaurant -

Breakfast - great! large variety! fruit, full English etc
Kings Brasserie - Carvery is average but only because I happen to live near some extremely good carvery's. Menu is very small but adequate. Would have loved to been able to order the tuna steak already cooked ( as I was pushed for time with work to do in the evenings etc)


Rooms -

LOVELY! spacious - with comfy beds! power shower - and cleaned every day!

Gym - HUGE! and very well equipped.


Had a lovely stay! Thanks

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Old Thorns Golf Resort in Liphook in June 2014.
I ordered Tuna Nicoise.This is as meal I prepare on a regular basis in Abu Dhabi.A simple but tasty meal of tuna, green beans, capers, anchovies, boiled eggs and boiled potatoes with dressing.
The meal arrived, having ordered it 45 minutes earlier, the tuna was as dry and overcooked as a piece of shoe leather .Totally inedible. The excuse being that : "we have large parties here this evening".Surely restaurants are geared up to entertain large parties, otherwise why bother getting up in the morning? Do you know how a tuna is caught and butchered to arrive as a tuna steak at your table??? Have some RESPECT!!! God--Awfull.
However, by stark contrast, the drinks-- mixologist in the Champagne Bar is wasted here. Vadim should be employed at The Plaza, New York or in Monaco...he is as professional gem.Great host and fabulous service. Vadim, you are superb...

Room Tip: Non car park side if staying in the Alliss suites.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank 725Hardtoplease725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

I stayed at the Old Thorns Manor Hotel for a consultancy job, (night work) for two nights. On arrival there was plenty of parking, I checked in and staff were friendly and helpful. But I was checked in at the new building (more to follow). The room was quite a good standard but WIFI did not work in 162. Had a quick check behind the curtains and there was a new build opposite!On the next morning I was woken up (08:00) by work men and a digger right next to the winder causing excessive vibrations and noise next to the building. I immediately went to reception to complain; the manager said there have warned people there will be building noise in the day from 08:00am. The question is you can't have quite enjoyment of the room from 08:00 to 11:00am if you need to work late! Room changed in the end. Not sure if this hotel is 4 star, don't think Alex Polizzi would stay here?

Room Tip: At present there is building work opposite the new building (room 162). There is excessive noise and...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We took some Italian friends for afternoon tea, and we all enjoyed the experience immensely. The table was beautifully set, and the waiter was friendly and efficient. The food was fantastic and beautifully presented - fresh sandwiches, a really different choice of cakes and perfect scones. If I had one tiny gripe, it's that the cups and sauces were chunky and basic - proper china would have been so much nicer! That said, I've already asked to be taken back for my birthday!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions both booked through Golfbreaks.
The golf course is good with a handful of holes as good as any, though play can be slow.
The spa is of good quality, the rooms are comfortable and the champers bar excellent. Breakfast is self-service and is fine, nothing more or less. Dinner was OK, too - a carvery. All in all the price for golf, dinner B&B makes this exceptional value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dylan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here last week en route back from a 2 week holiday in Greece and visiting friends in Petersfield. This was one of the best overnight stays we have experienced recently. The hotel was lovely, the accommodation generous, comfortable and with every "mod con". The breakfast in the morning, although of a buffet style, was one of the best we have experienced - fresh, always being replenished, and with just the right mix of options. Really excellent all round.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room with spa bath - that's what we had!
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Murray E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,080 reviews
5.6 mi away
Frensham Pond Hotel
5.2 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
5.4 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
502 reviews
8.9 mi away
Langrish House
Langrish House
#1 of 3 in Petersfield
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range: £93 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing