We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bee Gees Tribute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Ruislip
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bee Gees Tribute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We visited this hotel last night with a group of friend's for a Bee Gees Tribute night, and it was a really fun night!
The food was the standard type of food you get when a hotel of this size is catering for a large party, edible, watercress soup for a starter was not a great idea, and the men on the table were not that keen on eating green liquid! the chicken main course, although a little dry, had a small amount of flavoured gravy so it helped, the cheesecake for desert was not quite defrosted, so watery, which soaked into the biscuit base. But if you have been to as many hotel Xmas function's as I have over the year's, you kind of get used to this kind of offering, so it was all about the entertainment, which was great, the tribute band was ok, their outfit's were even more interesting than their actual music, and once they had finished we had a dj, which continued onto after 12am.
They had a Photo booth in the room, which was free to use, it had a big tray of item's that you could wear for fancy dress for the pic's, so we all had a lot of fun with that, and came home with lots of post card size photo card's with 4 pics on each card, something to remind you of a great night out.
So all in all, a good night, and we will definitely be thinking of a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JulesPaulRuislip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    329
    185
    128
    104
See reviews for
191
335
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Had a two day spa break the spa was lovely and all the treatments were amazing by Tia didnt like the idea of the pool area though being public areas prefer Exclusive spas where you can sit and relax without family swimming sessions ! The hotel was a let down reception wasnt very friendly or helpful our room was awful dirty smelt on my aunts care home ! no air con we were on ground floor next to champagne bar so felt a bit worried about sleeping with the doors open so had to sleep in a "sauna" as to make matters worse the towel rail was on high bathroom was very shabby ! no water in rooms( i have never stayed anywhere where this has been so) were told to buy it paid £3.50 for a bottle only to find out later in evening that we could have got some free iced tap water from bar and that the golf shop sold it £1 bottle none of which was pointed out to us by reception !! one bath towel between two of us .seemed to be that if you not a golf player you didnt matter !!The food was average carvery was cold . stayed in better B&Bs being a regular traveler i can safely say this is not a 4 star hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floosyflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

stayed for one night, based in the annexed Aliss rooms. The room itself was nice, clean and adequately sized.
I found the bed comfortable and clean.
It was a warm night and the room was very warm. It has a fan blower in the room, which cooled it sufficiently.

The property has some great facilities. The Gym and pool were fantastic.

I was with a group of 2 other work colleagues, and we used the sports bar to eat in (it was the night of an England world cup game, so the place was packed). It had a great atmosphere, as you would expect in a sports bar. The food is okay...although we had starters and mains delivered at the same time, so ended up sending the mains back for them to be re-delivered 20 mins later. Thankfully, they were freshly cooked again.

on site there is also a Starbucks.

There is a pub nearby, which is a five min along the lane. It served a good selection of beers and looked great with loads of seats for dining...but we were booked on a meal basis at the hotel so didn't try the food.

overall, i'd definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaffsMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had a party of 14 (8 adults and 6 children aged 5 to 13) staying overnight in 4 rooms in early June to celebrate our Silver Wedding. It was very satisfactory in every way; the staff were all friendly and helpful. The fact that there were two weddings when we were there did not detract in any way.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martonian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
305 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Excellent parking
amazing accommodation
fantastic value
helpful staff

what's not to like?

Not cheap - but we do not always want cheap.
Great For Golf
Perfect for weddings
Ideal for breaks
suitable for families
handy location - near main routes

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If your going for the golf the course is nice but there is no spike bar to enjoy and watch the course. All they seem to care about is functions and gym memberships. When we tried to have a beer near the course we were told you can't take them round there, basically because she didn't want to walk round to collect glasses later. If your a group there are no private social areas to enjoy through the evening just the bars.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hondacrxnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rushden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

I stayed here for a wedding & was totally ripped off, looking at the prices on the wbsite a family room should have been £135 this should have had 1 double bed & 2 singles so for 2 adults in the singles & three small children in the double would have been adequate & I would have been happy.

I was informed I had to have an extra bed & the cost rose to £230, when I checked in there were 2 double beds & a fold up bed, one adult & her daughter in one bed & 2 sisters in the other with me on a fold up far from happy & feel royally cheated.

The hotel was nice & the breakfast adequate but again for what I paid it was a rip off.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wellies97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
22.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,015 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing