We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrible service ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel and grounds were lovely. My room was a good size with a balcony. It was clean. When I arrived I was given no information just key which was not really a warm welcome.

The restaurant was nice food however service was so bad. No one came to me so approached a young lad and ask for a drink also if the salad was included he said yes so I had a little bit with my meal in which it was not and was a starter of £5.95 in which he came back and told me while I was eating it. He asked if I wanted a drink and then remembered he had already took my drink order. He forgot again so I had to get up and find someone to order for the third time. I finished my meal and the waiter came back to see if I ever got my drink he said he got called away to do something else. Really why on earth would you ignore a customer to do something else.

The next night I asked if I could place an order for room service at reception as I had just come from spa she said no I would have to go sports bar to order, I didn't want to as I was not really dressed to go in the bar. I went to the room to order and both phones were not working so I had to come down and book in the sports bar and got charged the £5 room service. I had done most of the service myself.

On check out the receptionist were laughing and joking with the golfers either regulars or men. I was checked out no extra mile no conversation even though I made a little small talk. I even stood there like a fool not realising they had finished with me. No how was your stay. Have a good day. Nothing ! Cold goodbye to finish of a cold welcome. I do a lot of business travel alone and to get a warm welcome and that little extra mile goes a long way. This was the 10/07/14 leaving at 8.00 am with the two terrible receptionist.

Tonight I am staying in another hotel and I feel at home lovely warm friendly service at the Hilton maybe they could do a customer service skills course here.

If you want a friendly hotel this is not one although Starbucks on site gave a friendly service.

Spa was great

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Seashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    332
    187
    130
    104
See reviews for
195
340
21
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a fantastic hotel with great facilities and the golf facilities were brilliant. The service was wonderful and everyone was very polite. I truly can say I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. The bed was huge and the champagne bar had a wide variety of tasty drinks to try. I would recommend this to anyone looking for a lovely and peaceful getaway.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Dewchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends birthday. We ate I the sports bar which was very nice and we were able to sit on the terrace watching the driving range. Our room was in the new block which was still being built outside the window. No noise though so that is good. Room very good size huge bed, bathroom slightly strange as door did not shut but think that is more a snagging list. Breakfast was a farce with huge queues to self serve buffet toaster not working very well and staff having to push through the queue with hot drinks, think a rework is in order. Reception staff were friendly but no one else seemed to smile or say hello when you passed them. I would say it was ok for the money only.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

I stayed at Old Thorns with a colleague and have to say the rooms are very spacious, well decorated and equipped. My room looked out over the golf course and the luxury yurts which I think were un-inhabited at the time as I didn’t see any wolf-fur clad hunters or they were out looking for ibex on the other side of the fairway.
My big disappointment was the restaurant which appeared to be totally staffed by very young people (perhaps it was it a job experience day for the local schools?). The chef seems to be locked in a time warp when nouvelle cuisine first hit England. My starter of pate was presented as three discs of pate the size of a ten pence piece on three equally sized discs of toast. The starter was then presented on an oblong plate decorated with streaks of coloured “stuff”. My main course of pork belly and dauphinoise potato consisted of two three inch square slabs, one of fatty belly pork and one of compressed dauphinoise potato. The whole dish was decorated with what I think was brown deep fried cardboard.
What was very apparent was that the other diners had all gone for the help yourself carvery. Perhaps it wasn’t their first night at Old Thorns?

Room Tip: Your choice is the car park view or the golf club. Go for the fairways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spruceterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel seems specifically designed for large groups of people - tribute nights, weddings, 50th birthdays etc. Big carpark, large function rooms etc. We stayed one Saturday night in new wing of hotel for one such function. Bed enormous and comfortable. Staff pleasant & helpful - when they had time. Breakfast was just a buffet but was pretty good - you can always judge a breakfast by the quality of its sausages I think, and these were tasty. The coffee wasn't so good but there's a Starbucks outside (random!).

But... bathroom door in our room didn't shut. Phone didn't work so we couldn't call reception/room service. Not something i need to do very often to be fair, but it's quite a hike back to reception to have a conversation. The hotel room felt like it was made out of a kit of parts and put together by someone who didn't know what they were doing. Bars and restaurants are large and bland and not places that you want to dwell - unless in a large group. Drinks are not cheap. And my personal bugbear - a hairdryer that you have to hold the button down on for it to work - while you're drying your hair. What do they think we'll do with a normal hairdryer? Not turn it off?

So all in all perfectly fine for one night while attending a function but not somewhere you'd want to go for a weekend away. It's not a destination hotel. It's not a four star hotel and it's certainly not a luxury hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moneypenny28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

12 spent a Sunday Monday overnight and 2 rounds of golf , course layout excellent as were the views from the elevated holes , greens slick and true pro shop and starter attentive , will be back !
Hotel staff excellent booking in a breeze , and the food ( Carvery ) very tasty ! Leisure facilities
brand new , and the bar areas modern and tastefully decorated .
On the negative , rooms stuffy and very hot overnight ... no Air conditioning
But this would not put us off returning .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnglishLads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Really strange set up this, not sure what it is supposed to be, massive car park the size of a supermarket. It is a golf course, hotel, night club, or coffee place. Firstly, yes plenty of parking but if busy and raining long walk to reception, no offer of help with bag, only staying one night so not to worry. Check in hurried, woman seem stressed. Wedding reception in full swing, another function with the fake Bee Gees and one which i was attending.
Finally found room after exiting building to new building and walking maze of corridors. Room modern and very clean, however sink blocked and would not drain (174).
After function went to Champagne bar, nice atmosphere, however security doormen keeping out people who were not residents, thats ok but everytime you want the loo you have to leave and show your card to the same guy who let you out 5 minutes before, poor design of hotel?

This led to a number of people who had probably a little too much to drink arguing with staff at the door, later went to reception and found police there, not sure why. Drinks are expensive but hotel prices comparable with others.

Loads of noise, door banging, at 2.30 am then at 5.30 am and 6 and so on. People either coming back from functions or getting up early to be bused for another.

Not a place to relax, but if you like a good drink and a bit of entertainment then this seems to be the spot.

Room Tip: I cannot recommend one
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JockLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,049 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing