We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time and this time for 4 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Second time and this time for 4 nights”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

Having been here before I had high expectation and was not disappointed.
With a prolonged stay of 4 nights I was able to benefit from the great spa facilities.
The place seems to get bigger and more like a business each time but it seems to works.
Only need a little more smiling from the staff please to make it more personal and less like a financial interest.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gregory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    347
    195
    139
    108
See reviews for
205
355
21
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alresford
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights for my. 60th birthday with close family. Rooms were good and food on the whole excellent. Only problem on first morning when the breakfast buffet had been left too long and most was dry and cold.
Golf course is good but not quite championship standard thank god as I am not championship standard either...

Celebration meal was very good and a thanks to the staff especially Charlie the waiter who were happy friendly and took some banter very well.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Trevor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We took a weekend break at Old Thorns, what an experience. The break included 2 nights DB & B and three rounds of golf for the whole party. Finding the hotel was easy, just turn off the A3 when you see the signpost for the hotel.
The whole hotel experience was brilliant from check-in, where the people were both friendly and helpful, to the food which included the best Carvery experienced to date and the Buffet breakfast where you wanted to stay all day.
But, there was the Golf Course to enjoy too. The Starter at the first tee even told you where to hit the ball after a quick discussion about your golfing prowess. The course was an unforgettable experience from the amazing views from the elevated tees to that tricky situation, getting over the water, and yes there is quite a lot of it but not too much. Floating Balls are a wonderful invention. The course can be difficult for the high handicapper but for any golfer it is an interesting examination of skill and planning your next shot.
When we stayed there was a lot going on in the hotel with Hen Parties and a Golf Society not to mention two weddings and the site of Bride and Groom being driven around the course in a buggy to some memorable locations for a photo shoot added to the enjoyment.
Even with so much going on in the evening, sleeping was not a problem especially after a testing round of golf and some wonderful food and wine.

Room Tip: The rooms are comfortable and spacious. Rooms on the outside of the complex are quieter if there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Had to write this review again as if you put anything under a three star it is removed but I was told this by a member of staff they get rid of the bad ones. So obviously you can't tell the truth. Sad that they don't sort the issues with the staff instead If you read most of the reviews they have issues with the staff.

Hotel lovely but the service is so bad ruins the experience. The receptionist give the key and that is it no information. They were so rude when they used my card and it didn't work on their machine told me I would not be able to get a room. No apology when it did worked I was so upset.

The restaurant I had never book last time and was told I did not need to book this time either. When I asked for a table at the first sitting I was told rudely that I had to book and was shown how busy they were in the book with a laugh at how stupid I was to presume I did not need to book I apologised that's all I seemed to do as I was made to feel like an inconvenience. He said there was one table in not a good place near the desserts I was ok with this. I managed to finish my meal and when I left still only 3 tables in.

The spa was the same no information no customer service.

Starbucks need to show the others what good customer service is all about they are so helpful and friendly.

I stay every week in the area but will never stay here again. If you like a friendly Hotel don't stay here. Good for facilities.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Seashe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

we stayed at the old thorns for a wedding , the are is gourgeous,the breakfast was fantastic and our little eco pod was comfy and charming ,this was a great way to experience an expensive venue ,shame I don't play golf

Room Tip: we had an eco pod ,best for a cheap 1 night stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxweymouthfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed one night here midweek at a very competative rate. The Spa area is great, we had it to ourselves pretty much, the facilities and pool are great. The receptionist on the desk wasnt much help as we hadn't been there before, no indication of where to go, that the lockers needed a pound etc. she could've been a bit more forthcoming with information, not everyone visitng is a member or has been before. Downside - TINY towels!!
We enjoyed the food immensely, we both opted for the stone steak and this was worth the visit alone! and such a great price. Service in the restaurant was hit and miss, drinks orders forgotten etc. but the decor is what was really concerning (in the restaurant and in the champagne bar) I think the interior designer must've been on something... The building has nice features in a nice barn style, with beams and high ceilings, totally RUINED by ever changing multi coloured disco lights! whats wrong with a bit of tastelful white lighting? its lke the place can't make up its mind if its classy or chavvy so decided to try and do both! seriouly the multi colour disco lights are ruining the ambiance of an otherwise pleasant restaurant and champagne bar, very odd. Breakfast was great, so all in all good value, one negative was no air con in the room, it was HOT.

Room Tip: I would go for one in the main building we were in a seperate building, ensure you get a fan/air con...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

A little late but thought I should still review. We had our wedding here in April and it was fantastic. The venue itself is modern, clean and crisp, everything from the food to the rooms was lovely.

Wedding wise the staff were fantastic, lots of help to make the day run smooth, even sending a car to drive the bride 50m to the main building as there was a little drizzle, the food was really nice and the venue is perfect for weddings, we had the Hampshire suite.

As for the hotel in general it has a great golf course, really nice spa and nice big rooms, a great place for a weekend break and we are very much looking forward to returning for our anniversary.

I would highly recommend for both weddings and stays.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Supergod00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
1,057 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
7.4 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Grayshott Health Spa
Grayshott Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Grayshott
554 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#2 of 2 in Haslemere
495 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Devils Punchbowl
The Devils Punchbowl
#1 of 1 in Hindhead
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing