We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go to this Hotel, it is a noisy building site with extreamly ignorant staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never go to this Hotel, it is a noisy building site with extreamly ignorant staff.”
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed here over the weekend of the 8th May. We were a party of 40 mature adults, 25 of us being golfers! Firstly the greens are diseased so putting was impossible, mind you, the course was in a beautiful setting, and thats the only good thing I have to say. Most of us were unable to check into our rooms until very late in the day, and some of the party checked into rooms which had not been cleaned since the last people had left!! The staff lack any customer service skills, they do not know how to react to, or how to deal with a complaint. Most of the staff were extreamly rude, and the bar staff in the evening did not know what a whisky mac was or what measures to use, niether did they know how to pour a pint of guiness, or how to attach a new barrel of beer.Pretty poor service is an understatement. Anyone staying here will not require an early morning call, as they will be woken with the sound of walls being demolished and drills and god knows what else being used! Mind you,the arrogant manager felt that eight in the morning was not a problem for his builders to begin work! Fish served from the evening menu was off, and few of us now have stomach complaints! DO NOT STAY HERE TRAVEL LODGE WOULD BE A SAFER OPTION!! Beware the manager is a prize a*#e hole.( oh and if you need another tea bag or creamer in your room, it'll cost £5.0)

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear emz1111,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review back in May 2010.

I have discussed your issues re the diseased greens with the golf team. This was a case of fusarium which was present on a few of the greens. Unfortunately this was caused by record snow fall which covered the course for a number of weeks previously. Once our ground staff could access the greens they addressed the issue and it is not present anymore although is very disappointing that you found this to impact your game.

The improvements to the main hotel which you mention have now been completed since your review however we must apologise for how you feel you where treated. Since your visit we have invested in staff training and endeavoured to improve the welcome and service we offer to customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    471
    336
    188
    134
    104
See reviews for
198
342
21
134
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for one night spa and golf mini break. The building works did make some parts of the hotel look a little off, but generally it was a brilliant stay.
We would definitely return, after the building works. They have some great plans for the hotel, when finished! go at the the weekend, no building going on then!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear kelbel24,

Many thanks for your kind review back in May 2010.

The improvements to the hotel you mentioned then are now completed and we are sure that if you where to visit us again you would love the changes such as the champagne bar and the new sports bar with its multi screen sports and events.

We are so happy you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2010

We had booked for one night when attending a wedding elsewhere. We had requested an early check in (as had others from the party) but the rooms were not ready and when housekeeping were contacted via radio we were privvy to a rather short tempered exchange...and were then told the room would be ready AFTER we needed to have left.. We were offered a locker room to change in...not acceptable and evedntually another receptionist swapped our room. The hotel is renovating extensively and the ground floor smells rather damp. The rooms are of a good size and were spotlessly clean!
Those working in the bar, whilst polite and well intentioned were very slow. It was clear that they were not well trained and there was an absence of any visible management.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank KarenOHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear KarenOHampshire,

Thank you for posting your review back in May 2010.

The improvements to the hotel you mention in your review have now been completed. Its disappointing that during your stay you feel that we did not manage your requirements as well as we could have done at the time.

we are always trying to improve the hotel and the service standard so I have raised the issues from this review and i hope that should you visit our hotel again you will give us a better mark for service to go with the good marks for location, sleep quality, rooms and the "spotless" cleanliness that you mention specifically in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2010

This is the second time I have stayed at Old Thorns, last time in the main hotel, this time in the annex. On both occasions the room was very nice with very big and comfortable beds. Breakfast was good and the prices this early in the year are very reasonable. We made good use of the leisure facilities and the ongoing renovations should make the hotel very nice indeed.
The hotel with it's golf and spa facilities does seem to be very popular for parties and weddings. There were events on both weekends we stayed which resulted both times in some noise when "happy" party guests returned to their rooms in our corridor. I expect this would not be an issue for a weekday stay but be aware of this if you have young family who might be disturbed by the noise.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MidlandsFourOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear MidlandsFourOnTour,

Than you for posting your review posted back in April 2010.

We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and are happy to say that the renovations to the hotel you mentioned have been completed adding new facilities to the hotel.

Its a shame that a tiny minority of guests can disturb the sleep of other guests and unfortunately this is beyond out control (and cost us marks), when it is brought to the attention of the management team we address the issue immediately.

Its great that you have given us good marks for value, rooms, location and service along with top marks for cleanliness. When you next visit we hope with the new facilities to get top marks overall!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Positives first:

Excellently designed golf course
Rooms modern and spacious
Food very good
Spa facility very good

Negatives:

Golf course fairways very poor drainage - becomes waterlogged after heavy rain
Tees very poor design not USGA standard so again sopping wet after heavy rain
Greens again not USGA standard so poor drainage but not as bad as tees and fairways
Service culture exisits but is not instilled in the staff so it is ok but none of the staff make you feel special which is vital when staying at a place like this and especially when the weather is bad.


Finally not a place to go to after a number of days of heavy rain or during a period of bad weather - check the forecast first and dont expect to be trated like a king

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyem1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear jonnytem1,

Thank you for taking time to write a review of our golf course at Old Thorns back in April 2010.

As a golfer you are probably aware of the limitations of certain locations when a golf course is built there. The Old Thorns golf course sits on a clay soil which means that it does retain water more than sand/other bases. The golf team have invested a lot of time and money in trying to mitigate this through increased drainage and design which keeps the course playable in nearly all conditions. The flip side is that the course is very lush and when other courses are going yellow and dry/hard ours retains its life.

I have passed on your comments regarding the tees and greens to the golf team. With our golf course we try and find a balance between the facility and the cost/traffic which allows us to make money and our customers to afford it. I struggle to find another course in this area where its as spectacular, challenging and also being affordable with clients paying around £30 a round with coffee, sandwich, and a beer after included (less than one football ticket for 90 mins).

Thats not to say we cannot always be better and listen to our valued customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussex
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

I was treated to the Old Thornes by my daughter for Mothering week-end, we thought we would try it instead of Champaneys 1st big mistake.
Our room was in the new building, and it was a walk to the Hotel, thank goodness it was not raining, we would have been drowned.
The room was large and plenty of room, althought the windows were very small, so it was extremely dark during the day.
i had requested beforehand if they had an a la carte menue instead of the Carvery, as we were vegetarians, I was informed that it woiuld be £20 a head extra, I agreed to this, when we went into our Dinner, there was only the Carvery, with what was explained an Indian fusion!!

we were ignored for a while whilst the staff chatted amongst themselves, then after I asked we were given a menu, the starters were abysmil (if I had catered this dinner I would have been ashamed) the salad bar had clearly seen better days, there was no choice only the barest minimum.

The carvery was laid out on small plates, carrots, red cabbage, peas (which were bullets) sweetcorn, potato, the meats were ham turkey and beef, I didnt see the meat, as it had bacofoil over the top. The Indian fusion looked as they had come out of a jar, very
mundane and unappetising.

We thought as we were still hungry we would have cheese and biscuits, we waited 20 minutes, and in the end gave up. When we told the waitress this was the most appalling service, and the meal was a disgrace, she just shrugged.

The breakfast was marginally better at least there was toast etc.

Our week-end was described as a spar week-end, whilst perhaps this is the idea, it seemed this hotel was more of a golfing week-end.It cost in the region of £300, which was very over priced for what we received.

I will not be all negative, the reatments were very good and enjoyable, the staff in the spa very nice and helpful, but if the idea is to promote this hotel as a spar break, the owner would do well to take a week end break in Champneys, to see how it is done.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dollysussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Dollysussex,

Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughts back in March 2010.

We are happy that you liked your room and the service you had from the spa team along with the location, cleanliness, room and sleep quality.

We have noted your points for improvement and work harder to give our spa visitors a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Room stank of smoke. Cigarette butt on floor in room. Cream in profiterolls at dinner off.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Please let me tell the story of my stay at Old Thorns. Its quite a tale.
On arrival at the hotel we were shown to our room by a charming receptionist. However the room stank of stale cigarette smoke.
So I went to complain, and the housekeeper's response was... 'yeh, I know'.

They had had to chuck some guests out and fine them four days previously for smoking in the room. But four days seems a long time for it to still smell of smoke?
When I went back to the room I noticed a cigarette butt on the floor sticking out from under the bed. Not way under the bed, sticking right out. The smell is explained therefore by the fact that the room cannot have been cleaned! Or at least not hoovered.

We then went to our spa treatments where we had to get dressed into a little gown, then walk through a piece of building site in the freezing cold to get to the treatments.

Then went to dinner. Food was pretty poor, if you're looking for a good restaurant I will just say one thing - they have a Mr Whippy machine at their 'Dessert Counter'.
Oh and let me also throw in that me and another lady guest were complaining at the same time about the cream in our profiterolls being off.

They have subsequently refunded 75% of my bill. I don't know what the other 25% is meant to have covered but they made it clear they felt it was reasonable that people pay something for this wonderful experience they provide.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank will_avLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 12 September 2011
Dear will_avLondon,

We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay with us in March 2010.

The points you raised in your review at the time where valid and as a result we did offer you a large discount which you mention.

Since your review we have completed renovations and invested in training and procedures to make sure that issues like you experienced do not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
22.6 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
5.6 mi away
Best Western Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing