We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SHOCKING!!! DONT GO THERE” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“SHOCKING!!! DONT GO THERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2010

a friend and i booked a room for a friends wedding reception at the hotel. we got there early to be greeted by a moody receptionist. our room was not ready 30mins after it should have been. we got in our room which was pleasant but we soon realised there was no aircon and the only means of fresh air was a patio door overlooking a building site. The room was very humid. we spent time in the spa and then the bar which was fine but when we came to get ready for the evening reception. we had no water in our room. no flushing toilet no shower nothing. it turned out that the pump in our half of the hotel had hadit. took 40mins to get us to anouther location to shower which was the spa!!. we eventually arrived 1hour and 30mins late to our friends reception to which we missed the first dance and the cutting of the cake. we made a point to the maintenance guy who also turned out to be resident dj, security, maintenance and bar man (staffing issues) that we were unhappy. when we arrived in our room later that night we had to open our only patio door for some fresh air which was fine until the greenkeepers started cutting the grass at 6am right outside our door. needless to say we had an awful nights stay and when we complained we were told there was absolutely no compensation or gesture of goodwill just rudeness by staff thinking they own the place.
i was appalled at there customer service and hospitallity. funnily enough we werent the only people complaining that morning, the place is under renovation and hasnt been finished to a good standard and staff were pouring half full champagne down the drain. my advice stay at the travel inn down the road at least you wont be wasting your money...

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank true2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear true2010,

Thank you for your review back in May 2010.

The hotel has undergone a large scale renovations and I am happy to say that the improvements to the main hotel building have been completed. That however does not mean that we do not care about the feedback that you have given us and I will make sure that the issues you have raised are discussed and we will aim to improve as we want to have happy guests.

Should you choose to return you will find the hotel has improved in all areas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    329
    185
    129
    104
See reviews for
192
335
21
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2010

My husband treated me to a night here to celebrate our 1st Wedding Anniversary on the 16th May. Having read some of the reviews on here I was rather concerned about spending the night at the hotel but thankfully our experience was fantastic.

We were greeted at check in by a very friendly young girl and despite arriving 2 hours early than check-in time we were told our room would be ready in 10 mins. We decided to wait for the room in the bar where we were served by a lovely girl and we ended up staying in the bar for an hour and having a delicious lunch.

Eventually we left the bar and went to our room, situated in the new block. The room was of a higher standard than many 4* hotels i've stayed in and we had a lovely view of the golf course.

A couple of things I loved about the room were the mugs we had for tea and coffee and the large flat screen tv!

After settling in to our room we decided to make use of the spa facilities. The pool area is a little tired looking but it was clean and after having a swim and a sauna we relaxed on a large 2 person bed with coffee! Perfect!

After our swim we returned to our room before heading back to the bar for a drink before dinner! The bar, by this time was very busy and full of tired golfers and although we had a little wait for our drinks we were dealt with by friendly staff.

After our drink we went to the restaurant for dinner, we were looked after by a lovely lady called Gill and the food was lovely. I has the carvery and found it very filling!

After a great nights sleep in our huge bed, we went for breakfast at 9am, again the staff were friendly and the buffet cooked breakfast very tasty.

Overall a really lovely stay.

Yes they are doing a lot of building work here and I think its worth noting that before you stay but the work is going to make this hotel really stunning and it didn't bother us in the slightest.

Plus we only paid £59 for bed and breakfast which I think is a total bargain!

We will be back! Especially when the new champagne and cocktail bar opens in July!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gunnergirlno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Gunnergirlno1,

Thank you for your time writing this review.

We at Old Thorns Manor hotel are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We can confirm that the new Champagne bar is now open as it our new sports bar!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2010

I went with a large party of golfers and partners. We are all members of the same golf club. We go away every year. Several of our group have been going here for 5 years so it came recommended to the rest of us. As you approach the building it all looks very impressive. We were unable to check in before we played golf so we went to the spike bar for a coffee and a bite to eat, and then to the course. Sadly i have to say it was in very poor condition for the time of year, although it has to be said its design and layout is superb. The greens in particular were very bad. However I still looked forward to the next day to play again. But it was the hotel where it was really bad. I can put up with with little niggles. I can put up with work being done, but I cannot put up with consistant bad service, and rude arrogant staff, and an appalling attitude, and this extends to the pro shop. IN THIS HOTEL THE CUSTOMER IS ALWAYS WRONG. Dont you dare question anything. One thing they are very good at though is taking your money. Dont go to this place if you expect good service and good manners because you will be very disappointed. As a footnote my partners father is friends with Peter Alliss, course designer and president of the golf club. I bet he does not get treated how our group was treated. I think he may well be shocked when he finds out.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank morganics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear morganics,

Thank you for the points you have raised in you review back in May 2010.

It is such as shame that when you visited us we did not meet the expectations that you had. You mention yourself that your friends have been coming to the hotel for 5 years and recommended it so i hope that if you choose to visit us again you will have the same experience which has kept them coming back.

I have raised the issue of the course condition with the golf team and they have told me that the course is clay based which meant previously it retained more water than other non clay based courses. The flip side of this is that our course is always lush even during the summer months when comparable courses are bone dry. This in no way means we have not taken your point onboard as we never want unhappy golfers and always strive to offer the best value. Since your visit we have consistently invested in improved drainage and maintenance which I hope reduces the wear on the course though we are a very busy course.

Reading your comments we need to improve our service so that customers do not feel that they are being treated poorly. I hope that in the time since your last visit our investment in training has improved our hotel, so we can add value and service to the good ratings you gave us for location, sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on Sea
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We were a large group of golfers who had arranged an overnight stay and two rounds of golf at Old Thorns. We are all experienced golfers and belong to a golf club. On arrival everything seemed very nice, despite extensive building works taking place. We were told we could not have our rooms until after three in the afternoon; this seemed rather a long time to wait. In fact some of our group (the non golfers) did not get their rooms until nearly 5.00pm, and one had not been cleaned at all. Our group consisted of around 40 people, most of whom were playing golf in the afternoon, so not being able to check into our rooms before the round of golf at 2pm did seem somewhat harsh, bearing in mind check out is 11.00 am. Some of us met for coffee and drinks in the spike bar at lunchtime, which is when the fun started. A cappuccino arrived with no foam on it and the person who had ordered it was told that it did have foam on it until the waitress put some chocolate on the top, we were given no sugar and no teaspoons; the other coffees that had been ordered tasted as if the coffee had been on the hotplate for a week and had to be sent back. The others, who had a variety of drinks, were told that they would have to wait for their beer as a barrel had to be changed, they were still waiting fifteen minutes later. The bar staff were actually very pleasant but desperately undertrained and had no supervision. They also managed to get the lemonade pump mixed up with the lime pump. Because we could not get into our rooms before our round of golf the dinner we had pre arranged was put back to 9.00pm. We arrived in the restaurant at nine promptly and waited another hour for our starters to be served, which were absolutely miniscule. I am not a big eater but they were tiny. Many of our group had the carvery, which was slightly tired by the time they came to get it. I ordered steamed cod from the menu, and when it came out we could smell it before it arrived at the table. Another member of the group had pre ordered the vegetarion option; his meal did not arrive until after half ten and his vegetables fifteen minutes after that. I had to send my cod back and went for the carvery instead. After we had eaten our main meal they did not clear the table and those that had desserts simply pushed their plates into the middle of the table. We were not offered coffee and pretty much told to hurry up because they wanted to close the kitchen. Most of the staff were very unhelpful and some positively rude, and most of our group felt as if they were doing us a favour letting us stay in the hotel. I was asked to explain why I had sent my cod back to someone who was introduced to us as 'one of the owners'. I told him that it was just very unpleasant, his reply was that the chef said it was fine. I replied that in my opinion it was very nearly off and he said that was a matter of opinion. The whole experience has left a nasty taste in my mouth, somewhat similar to the tiny bit of cod I tasted. Don't go there.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Surein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Surin,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review back in May 2010.

We are very disappointed that you and your golfing group did not enjoy your beak with us like the hundreds of other golfing groups who visit us through the year.

Since your visit we have taken action to improve the service in the hotel, investing in training facilities and most importantly looking at complaints such as yours and seeing how we can improve.

We hope that in the future you will visit us again so we can show you our improvements and so we can add to the good marks you gave us for location, sleep quality, rooms and cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2010

We stayed here over the weekend of the 8th May. We were a party of 40 mature adults, 25 of us being golfers! Firstly the greens are diseased so putting was impossible, mind you, the course was in a beautiful setting, and thats the only good thing I have to say. Most of us were unable to check into our rooms until very late in the day, and some of the party checked into rooms which had not been cleaned since the last people had left!! The staff lack any customer service skills, they do not know how to react to, or how to deal with a complaint. Most of the staff were extreamly rude, and the bar staff in the evening did not know what a whisky mac was or what measures to use, niether did they know how to pour a pint of guiness, or how to attach a new barrel of beer.Pretty poor service is an understatement. Anyone staying here will not require an early morning call, as they will be woken with the sound of walls being demolished and drills and god knows what else being used! Mind you,the arrogant manager felt that eight in the morning was not a problem for his builders to begin work! Fish served from the evening menu was off, and few of us now have stomach complaints! DO NOT STAY HERE TRAVEL LODGE WOULD BE A SAFER OPTION!! Beware the manager is a prize a*#e hole.( oh and if you need another tea bag or creamer in your room, it'll cost £5.0)

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear emz1111,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review back in May 2010.

I have discussed your issues re the diseased greens with the golf team. This was a case of fusarium which was present on a few of the greens. Unfortunately this was caused by record snow fall which covered the course for a number of weeks previously. Once our ground staff could access the greens they addressed the issue and it is not present anymore although is very disappointing that you found this to impact your game.

The improvements to the main hotel which you mention have now been completed since your review however we must apologise for how you feel you where treated. Since your visit we have invested in staff training and endeavoured to improve the welcome and service we offer to customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2010

We stayed here for one night spa and golf mini break. The building works did make some parts of the hotel look a little off, but generally it was a brilliant stay.
We would definitely return, after the building works. They have some great plans for the hotel, when finished! go at the the weekend, no building going on then!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kelbel24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear kelbel24,

Many thanks for your kind review back in May 2010.

The improvements to the hotel you mentioned then are now completed and we are sure that if you where to visit us again you would love the changes such as the champagne bar and the new sports bar with its multi screen sports and events.

We are so happy you enjoyed you stay and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2010

We had booked for one night when attending a wedding elsewhere. We had requested an early check in (as had others from the party) but the rooms were not ready and when housekeeping were contacted via radio we were privvy to a rather short tempered exchange...and were then told the room would be ready AFTER we needed to have left.. We were offered a locker room to change in...not acceptable and evedntually another receptionist swapped our room. The hotel is renovating extensively and the ground floor smells rather damp. The rooms are of a good size and were spotlessly clean!
Those working in the bar, whilst polite and well intentioned were very slow. It was clear that they were not well trained and there was an absence of any visible management.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
Thank KarenOHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pam b, Public Relations Manager at Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear KarenOHampshire,

Thank you for posting your review back in May 2010.

The improvements to the hotel you mention in your review have now been completed. Its disappointing that during your stay you feel that we did not manage your requirements as well as we could have done at the time.

we are always trying to improve the hotel and the service standard so I have raised the issues from this review and i hope that should you visit our hotel again you will give us a better mark for service to go with the good marks for location, sleep quality, rooms and the "spotless" cleanliness that you mention specifically in your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Liphook
21.9 mi away
Macdonald Botley Park Hotel & Spa, Southampton
6.6 mi away
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
Lythe Hill Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Haslemere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,019 reviews
22.7 mi away
Solent Hotel & Spa
Solent Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Whiteley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.5 mi away
Norton Park - A QHotel
Norton Park - A QHotel
#1 of 1 in Sutton Scotney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
5.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Frensham Pond Hotel
8.3 mi away
Park House Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course

Property: Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course
Address: Griggs Green, Liphook GU30 7PE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Liphook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Liphook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 400 acres of picturesque countryside, Old Thorns has a unique way of doing just about everything. Steeped in history but with a modern contemporary edge, our 4 star hotel is widely regarded as one of the best hotels in the south of England, providing guests with a truly authentic experience. Offering a wealth of luxury facilities, Old Thorns boasts 160 bedrooms, 14 fabulous function rooms, 5 amazing Ball rooms, stunning spa and a state-of-the-art three story health club and wellness center, tennis court, nature trails, conference center, and a wonderful 10 wooden building Eco Pod Village with a state of the art facilities building. It is truly the perfect "Glamping" experience. Not forgetting our championship golf course designed by 'the voice of golf' Peter Alliss. Our unbeatable location on the beautiful Hampshire, Surrey and West Sussex borders means we're just 5 minutes from Haslemere, 20 minutes from Guildford, 35 minutes from the historic coastal city of Portsmouth and 30 minutes from Goodwood and Chichester in West Sussex. We are ideally situated with easy access for unforgettable days out in the south. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Thorns Manor Hotel And Golf Course
Old Thorns Hotel Course
Old Thorns Manor Hotel & Golf Course Liphook, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing