We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,493)
Filter reviews
2,493 results
Traveller rating
1,238
570
328
206
151
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,238
570
328
206
151
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthalassotherapy poolfitness classeshealth spawater bedsoverlooking the lakeoutdoor poolhealthy foodsteam roompremier roomthalassotherapy sessionsnow roomspa restaurantrelaxing breaknight breakrelaxation roomice roombuffet lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1,814 - 1,819 of 2,493 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We had a great mother and daughter day, wonderful food, lovely setting and great spa. Everything was well organised and our day was relaxed and organised at the same time. Particularly liked the thassolotherapy pool experience.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for your review, i am so pleased to hear that you had such a lovely day with us and were able to enjoy all of the facilities on offer, the Thalassotherapy session is one of my favorites too

I look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Mere again soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We went for a 2 night stay at the resort for my girlfriend's b'day via a Buyagift voucher. The trip included a thelassotherapy session and massage and facial each. Before booking i checked that it would be ok for my girlfriend to take part in each given that she would be 5 months pregant when we arrived. They assured me it would be fine but sadly on the day the thelassotherapy session was not allowed. We got a refund of £10 which is disappointing given that this was one of the main reasons we selected this venue as there were several other trips we could have used the buyagift voucher for.

The weather was very hot and it seems ridiculous that a posh hotel cannot provide air con in the rooms, consequently we had very restless sleep at night.

The food was good for me but i do feel they go a bit ott on the healthy in some areas and if you fancy a scoop of ice cream with your pudding they charge you for it which seems odd and they also charge you extra for an omlette or cooked breakfast despite us having spent £1,000 on the 2 night stay.

There is also very little to do in the evening as all the spa facilities stop and there is no bar or games room. Clients are expected to sit in the polo lounge and drink endless tea and coffee thus having a caffeine hit before bed!

Personally i would rather have a gin and tonic or 2 and sit in the bar before getting up for a morning jog around the lake, a spinning class or a swim before my breakfast.

A nice stay but sadly not the once in a lifetime experience i was hoping for.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzinbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your constructive review, i do hope that the issues you experienced did not detract too much from an otherwise enjoyable stay. Whilst we have this unusually hot summer i do appreciate that the rooms can be a little warm, much like most of our homes are at present. Fans can of course be provided upon request. Whilst we do clearly market ourselves as a Health resort, where well being and health are a key ethos of ours i do appreciate that this may not be to everyone's tastes although the vast majority of our guests do enjoy and appreciate this focus and level of detail when it comes to our food and beverage offerings. Do also bare in mind that all of our rooms have got DVD players and we carry a large stock of DVD's at Reception for guests to enjoy.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel: Clean, well appointed & spacious room.

Hotel/Spa Staff: Once booked in & given a room no. we were pretty much left to our own devices for the whole 3 day stay - so if you like unobtrusive staff this will suit you although a tour of the facilities when we arrived would have been helpful.

Restaurant: Healthy Food, very fast service & the waiters were attentive & friendly (items were clearly marked on the menu for fat content etc)

Spa: Nice indoor pool & good facilities - the heated outdoor pool was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Mere with outdoor space (ie: balcony or patio) as they come with chairs/sunbeds which is nice if the weather is good.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank H G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, i am pleased that you enjoyed a nice relaxing stay with us. I take your valid point on board regarding the tour and have instructed the reception Manager to ensure that all guests are offered a tour of the facilities upon arrival. Your comments regarding the Restaurant and Spa are very pleasing to hear.

i hope to welcome you back for another relaxing stay again soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Well, here we are again. There have been so many changes over the years, it's hard to keep track.
This year we found the food as excellent as ever, and the restaurant staff efficient and polite .
There has been a great improvement in the classes available, they are more geared to gym users instead of little old ladies ( that's us) and were great fun. We especially enjoyed the Bollywood and Rap dance. Pity you still have to pay a fiver for the Pilates though.
The weather was gorgeous, which meant we could make the most of the beautifully kept gardens and the outdoor pool.

There were also better talks available, we particularly enjoyed the evening with Dr. Storey, who was, as you would expect, very professional.

Minor niggles...please, more umbrellas for the lunch terrace, far too hot so some days empty tables because of the hot sun. Also needs umbrellas by the outdoor pool. Some of the nice freebies have also disappeared, shower caps and bottled water..just large refilled bottles supplied, the small ones were better for walks and poolside. Water fountains are in all gym areas though. Please, please get rid of the big sticky jam jars honey pots from brekkie and return to the tiny individual ones!!

We had a very enjoyable four night stay and will be returning hopefully, in the future.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank vixmum7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review, it is lovely to hear such feedback from one of our regular guests. I am pleased to see that you were able to take advantage of some of the improvements we have made and you will also be pleased to hear that we have purchased more furniture and umbrellas for the terrace/pool areas and are looking at our jam offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of Champneys Forest Mere. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and i quite agree it is a lovely setting for some rest and relaxation!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Mere again soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Wonderful relaxing day spent at Champneys forest mere. Absolutely beautiful and stunning location which was a perfect setting to spend an warm afternoon, lazing around its outdoor pool. Wether you want to pamper yourself with treatments to just relax, this is a wonderful ad you and I would definitely recommend

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank busbybee33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review and your recommendation of Champneys Forest Mere. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and i quite agree it is a lovely setting for some rest and relaxation!

I look forward to welcoming you back to Forest Mere again soon!

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews