We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,574)
Filter reviews
2,574 results
Traveller rating
1,271
588
338
214
163
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,271
588
338
214
163
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thalassotherapy pool fitness classes water beds health spa outdoor pool overlooking the lake healthy food steam room thalassotherapy session snow room spa area relaxing break superior room night break relaxation room ice room buffet lunch
Filter
Updating list...
1,882 - 1,887 of 2,574 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2014

On Thursday last week I went with another friend to Champneys Forest Mere for a day break.
It was wonderful to go and relax be pampered. Staff were so friendly, nothing to much trouble. Check in was great. Treartments were brilliant. Coffee on arrival with muffins, fruit etc. The lunch there was taco plus a range from the buffet menu. All served very well. Surroundings and setting were absolutely beautiful. The whole area was kept very well up to date and very clean. I didnt want to leave at the end of the day. Really looking forward to my next visit,.Thoroughly recommend it.Was great value.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Belinda564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just to be able to go an relax and be pampered is worth every penny. I love this place and return every 6 months under their excellent voucher scheme. This visit was the first time I had gone alone and I was very well looked after, nothing seemed to be too much trouble. The spa treatments were amazing as always. I shall go back in 6 months!

Room tip: This is a Spa not a real hotel, all rooms are in good positions.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you had such a relaxing stay with us and are looking forward to your next visit in 6 months time, we look forward to welcoming you back to Champneys Forest Mere.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Not a good check in with confusion over providing another guest with a correctly sized robe - the guy on reception went through every robe in the cupboard at least twice and still gave the lady the wrong one
1230 after my facial went back to change - no toilet roll in the one of cubicles - it felt like being at home with the kids who never replace !
Lunch - asked for sparkling water to be told the machine was on the blink and only' still' was available !
Went to lay out round the outside pool - Had to get my own lounger cushion out of the storage bin and hump it round to a free bed. I had an expectation that the cushions would be already laid out as the sun was splitting the trees
1530 -After my massage which can only be described as mediocre ( I'd paid extra for this as the Spa day was a birthday gift ) went to the relaxation room which overlooks the pool . The water dispenser was empty and the pedal bin overflowing with used paper cups. It was already full earlier in the morning and obviously had not been monitored or emptied. I left the room to find someone to refill the water which was done in about 5 mins
1600 - my pedicure was the only treatment where I came away feeling pampered. A young therapist who did a very treatment
1730 - check out - a queue !!!! Only one desk manned

Overall , I came away feeling disappointed with the whole experience. For the prices charged , Champneys needs to up its game . I have had better customer service & treatments abroad in hotel spas ( IHG group and ACCOR grp ) that have been much less costle

I will not be in a rush to visit again. Did a similar day recently at Grayshott Hall which offered a slicker and more upmarket experience for the same sort of price

To add insult to injury , having filled out a customer survey directly to Champneys , I get a spam standard reponse from them this morning
'Thank you taking the time to complete our online questionnaire following your recent visit on Monday,28th July 2014. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Champneys and very much appreciate your feedback.'...........

I responded asking them to consider reading my review before offering me the opportunity to review on Tripadvisor . - The email to guest services was rejected - failed to be delivered
I rest my case !

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Spachick64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, my apologies that aspects of your stay fell well short of our usual standards. I will be sharing your feedback with the Heads of Department at their next meeting in order that the appropriate actions can be put into place to ensure these isolated incidents do not become habits.

i will also investigate the issues you encountered with our Guest Services email bouncing back, this is highly unusual.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Five of us stayed last weekend to celebrate a big birthday year. We went for the 'girls night in' package which was great value. Check in took a while but once settled in we really enjoyed our stay. Treatments should be booked ASAP as we left a little late and just managed to get a few extras squeezed in. Gym pulled out the stops to put on a private class for us which was excellent. Lovely surroundings for walks etc too. Food good choice but could do with waiter service around pools etc. All in all this is a great location and we will definitely pay another visit to Forest Mere.

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, i am pleased that you and your friends were able to enjoy a relaxing night at Champneys Forest Mere. You will be pleased to hear that we have 5 new therapists starting with us next week which will have a dramatic effect on the availability we have to book some last minute extra treatments however you are quite correct to advise booking early to avoid disappointment. It is great to hear that the Fitness team were able to put on a private class for you, i will pass your thanks on to them.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Champneys Forest Mere again soon.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

If you are going to Champneys for fitness and high carb meals then this is a good although somewhat pricey place to go.

I was there to relax and spend my 10th anniversary with my husband so I was first of all very disappointed to learn that the spa areas were kept separate for men and women. There is one Jacuzzi in the common pool area but it has the same temperature as the cold pool so it was not very attractive.

What I did like about the place was:
- The thalassotherapy pool which was a nice experience, it should not come at an extra cost though
- the scenery and the view from our room. Definitely pay extra to get a room facing the lake
- lunch and dinner which were alright. Not great, but not bad either
- It is very quiet and peaceful
- the smell of their soaps
- cute bunnies running around in the park (did not care for all the animal droppings though)
- the young waiter named Sam, who was very courteous and friendly

What I didn't like:
- our musty smelling room. The bathroom was also very cramped and had separate hot and cold water tabs which meant washing your face/hands in either really cold or burning hot water
- the lack of service. After our first night the cleaning lady took all of our towels but neglected to replace them. We called guest services to have them bring some new, but they never came. Another example; my husband had emailed ahead of time to book treatments. Despite multiple emails he never got a response and upon arrival we were just told that this location didn’t offer those treatments. That was it. No apologies for not getting back to us or attempts to find other treatments
- the lack of chilled drinking water. Every other spa I have visited has had cold drinking water at your availability. One night they even ran out of sparkling water so you could just have room temperature tap water
- the outside pool area. It has a Eastern European feel to it and the water was 90% H2O and 10% dead bugs.
- the breakfast buffet; dirty glasses and a very single-minded selection. If you are on a low carb diet, you will go very hungry here. No eggs, meats, or cheeses. One morning there was cottage cheese and some really good hazelnut butter, but the last morning there was nothing other than honey or jam for your bread

If the place was a lot cheaper you would overlook most of these things, but it is trying to come off as a 5 star and it is charging as a 5 star hotel, the experience is more like a 3½ star.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank naomir317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Will S, Group Operations Manager at Champneys Forest Mere, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, my apologies that certain aspects of your stay fell well below the standards you expected of Champneys Forest Mere or indeed that we expect of ourselves and deliver to on a consistent basis.

i have gone through your detailed feedback with the Heads of Department to ensure that the proper corrective action is taken to ensure that such occurrences are not repeated in future, thank you for bringing them to my attention.

I do hope that we may have the opportunity in the future to change your opinion of Champneys Forest Mere.

Kind Regards
Will

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews