We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
Review of The Rising Sun

The Rising Sun
Ranked #5 of 51 Restaurants in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
salisbury wilts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“excellent”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is our second visit to the rising sun. Fabulous - we took a 3 year old and our family dog. All were welcome. We all chose different meals from the menu but were on the table to eat in record time. The food is excellent and also the desserts. Would recommend this pub for a family trip out in the new forest.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mary64pig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    116
    54
    16
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“consistantly superb!”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Well what can I say? The staff are amazing thoughful and very helpful. I visited here with my two colleagues again must 4 or 5 visits now.. we bring a minibus full of residents and a couple of husband/wives /relative from a nursing/residential home in christchurch for lunch. It takes a lot of planning and isnt easy but without the help and care from the staff at the rising sun would be impossible. We always have tables reserved easy access in and out for wheelchair users. The food is lovely and the puddings are bliss!! All lovely cooked and presented, we have such a great time and residents just love it .. thankyou again rising sun.. have another visit planned in a few weeks ..

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julesDorsetEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Straight from the freezer to your plate..”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is my first review on trip advisor, however after using the site frequently and relying on the advice this pub deserves a real review. Basically everything served was straight from Iceland to an oven to your plate. And I mean everything. If you order a pie you get a frozen pie. Fish frozen fish, even the vegetables and chips straight from a packet. This is and I hope will always be THE WORST food I have ever paid for. Avoid at all costs. This puts the eatablishments on Ramsays Kitchen nightmares to shame.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JonathanLondon86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This pub is in a nice location. It has a large children's play area, which is very nice and there is plenty of outside seating so that you can keep an eye on the children. However, the play area has lead to lots of children. We visited with our two children who sat and ate their meal quietly, but there was so many children running in and out, screaming, shouting, crying, fighting etc. If you don't have children with you I would avoid, unless you like the sound of shrill screeching throughout your meal.
The staff are very busy and our meals came relatively quickly.
The food is average (it used to be much better)
Generally though, the place is looking tired inside. The tables are sticky and the menus are grubby. It is also time they binned the nasty, dirty, damaged table mats. The whole place needs a really good clean and a bit of a revamp.
It is also a shame that one of the main doors is also where the designated smoking area is, which means you have to walk through filthy smoke to get in the building or back out to the car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rupunzel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint, quiet and traditional out of holiday season, a homage for all holiday makers in the summer!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Went for a mid week dinner with family. We were warmly welcomed and enjoyed tasty food served with a smile. We will definitely return and can see why it is a hit with visitors to the area as, with the large conservatory area and children's play area everyone is catered for in the heart of the beautiful surroundings of the New Forest

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kc2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Rising Sun also viewed

 
Barton-on-Sea, New Milton
Sway, Brockenhurst
 
New Milton, New Forest
 

Been to The Rising Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing