We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cleanest place I ever stayed in”
Review of Hoburne Naish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Naish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I really don't believe pictures when I see them on hotel's websites because you never seem to get the same standard. However, this time our lodge (Becton Lodge) was better than we could have imagined. It was like nobody had ever been in the lodge before us. It really was like having a home from home and I couldn't fault the facilities provided in the lodge. We had never stayed in a camping site before and didn't know what to expect, so when we drove in we got a shock and thought it looked really shabby. Most of the lodges look run down and the net curtains don't do them any favours. However, we gave it a chance and it turned out to be a really nice park, perfect for kids.

On the downside, we got a letter a week before we arrived to say that the indoor pool would be closed for all or part of our stay, but we could use the pool facilities in their nearby park. They gave us vouchers on arrival to use in the restaurant to make up for the inconvenience. However, when we were checking in, the also told us that the outdoor pool would be closed when the indoor pool was open and vice versa. This was quite annoying.

The other main problem we had was the parking. In the Becton Lodges, there are meant to be spaces beside your lodge to park outside. But these aren't allocated and we found most of the time people with two or more cars were parking outside our gate and we had to park in an out-of-sight space.

Overall, it was one of the best equipped family holidays we had. I wouldn't tend to eat in the restaurant though, it's not the worst but not the best either. Again, I would like to say that the cleanliness of the lodge was like nothing I've seen before. They even give you a sealed pack on arrival in your lodge with j-cloth, scourer, dishwasher tablets and washing up liquid. Amazing standards I have to say

Room Tip: I would only stay in the Becton Lodges
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CathyDanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (490)
There are newer reviews for Hoburne Naish
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

463 - 469 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2011

Stayed in an ashridge(?) chalet right on the edge of the crumbling cliffs - the views out to The Isle of Wight and along the coast were stunning. The apartment was fairly basic but you had privacy and space which made up for the lack of modern facilities. The site itself was what you would expect of a small holiday park - evening entretainment , bar and shop on site and good kids playground - although annoyingly only accessible via the clubhouse facilities. The swimming pools were excellent for a site that size.

Best thing was the location which made exploring Dorset,Isle of Wight and New Forest possible within the one week.

Room Tip: Ask for a view
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PreeceFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

Very well maintained place, good location. Very clean and tidy.

Accommodation:
We stayed in the old style chalets. We were expecting it to be bad based on the price and reviews. Anything above dirty and stinky would have been a bonus. It was not dirty and not stinky. It was spacious and fairly clean.
However it was very old and badly decorated.
Stained carpets.
Old bathroom.
Beds very uncomfortable.
No noise.
Kitchen very well equipped.
Hot water was hot. (Bedroom with hot water tank in was very warm).
CLothes drier would have been useful.

Entertainment:
Entertainment venu was like an oven. Just too hot to stay in on a couple of the nights.
Venue is far too small for the number of people on the site. Lots of people standing in the doorways to keep an eye on the kids.
Kids and toddler entertainment was pretty good.
Sammy sea horse and his friends are pretty terrible but the kids like them.

Pub and restaurant:
Interesting building. Nice.

Food:
Restaurant - Not that great. Good looking menu but disappointing.
Take away was Ok.

Shop:
Pricey. Good selection.

Other facilities:
Pool was great.
Crazy golf, adventure playground - both pretty good.

Beach:
Lovely. Only a couple of minutes walk.

Area:
Good base to get to places. Traffic around Bournemouth is pretty bad though - always takes twice as long as you'd think.
Some reasonable take aways within a couple of miles either side of the site.

Down side:
We liked the place and wanted to stay on for an extra couple of nights. They had availability but would only offer it at the brochure price for 3 nights (ie we would have had to pay for the Friday night that had already passed with the property empty) - when we only wanted 2. They would rather it stayed empty than take a reasonable amount of money for a couple of nights. For this reason we will not be going back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Acornise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Stayed at a Solent Lodge in March. It's the second year running we have been here in March and will go again next year! The lodges are of an excellent standard and also very clean! It is located right on the beach and a stones throw from the New Forest! We spent a day at the Isle if wight as the ferry crossing only 10 mins away! There is a great little bar at the park with a real pub atmosphere. I can't fault this park at all and would recommend it to anyone and will definately be returning!

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Scrappymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife, my 2 year old son an I have just returned from a 1 week break at Hoburne Naish and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, We rented a caravan directly from an owner which worked out cheaper and worked for us as it was nice and clean, modern and in a nice position overlooking a small field and not too far away from the facilities. The sites entertainment was great for our son who had a great time dancing and running around every night. He also made full use of the soft play area which allowed us to sit back and have a drink while watching him.

We used the indoor pool once which was fine for kids and made use of crazy golf and the outdoor playground. We also ate a couple of times at the Smugglers restaurant and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food which we all enjoyed.

The area of the park is excellent and we headed out for days at Paultons Park, Bournemouth and got very lucky with the weather with a day on Sandbanks which has an excellent beach.

All in all we had a great time and would be happy to head back.

Room Tip: Using websites for owners caravans direct can work out cheaper.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GANTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Booked an Ashurst Chalet purely as it was the cheapest. Didn't expect much, just a place to lay our head at night as we would be out all day and eating out.

Chalet was basic, a bit dated, but scrupulously clean and spacious, shower pressure was fine, lots of new utensils in the kitchen, everything that we could possibly need. Beds were very hard but that suits some people, I'm just not one of them. Only other thing I could add was not very much clothes storage available, especially in the 2nd bedroom.

Our chalet looked directly over the sea, with a fabulous view of the Isle of Wight. The park is close to lots of chain restaurants, Toby, Harvester, Hall & Woodhouse, Beefeater as well as lots of very good local pubs. Busy town just a mile or so away. Fantastic countryside, just a few miles outside the New Forest. Didn't use the onsite facilities much, we're not the type to use the club in the evenings but we did have a relaxing drink in the bar at night. Staff were very friendly, helpful and when we had a small problem in our Chalet it was rectified within 10 minutes. It's not what the problem is that matters it's the way it is handled and the staff here were very professional.

Best park of this type I have ever been to, I will definitely return. The only bad thing about this holiday was taking my mother with me..... :-P

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rockette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

I visited this Hoburne resort with my partner and 2 young children at the end of June, we stayed in Solent Lodge 3. I didn't really have high hopes of the resort before going as the cost was reasonable, however on our arrival i was astonished to see our accomodation. We had a 3 bedroom lodge, 1 bedroom with en suite, it was bigger than our house! It had a lovely decked area at the front which had a lockable gate so the children could play out there safely . The lodge felt extrremly homley and was so clean and tidy, we rented a high chair and this look brand new, also a travel cot which was in immaculate condition.

The beach next to the resort is absolutely lovely and was very quiet, the kids loved it! There was a family friendly bar where the kids could play in the large soft play area for hours on end as we relaxed, and there was entertainment on every evening as well (the bar area was seperate to the the entertainment so you didnt have to sit there and watch it). There is a costcutters on site for anything you need, also a laundrette (which was reasonably priced). Indoor and outdoor pools were fantastic and there was also a seperate childrens pool and small gym.

Overall we loved and can't wait to go back, i cannot recommend this place enough!!!!

Room Tip: the lodges are fantastic!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mummy0f2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
0.2 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,869 reviews
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#8 of 11 in Christchurch
376 reviews
4.2 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
733 reviews
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#30 of 67 in Bournemouth
2,051 reviews
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Naish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Naish

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in New Milton
Price Range: £63 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoburne Naish 5*
Also Known As:
Hoburne Naish Hotel New Milton
Hoburne Naish New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing