We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wooden holiday lodge on the cliff top”
Review of Hoburne Naish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Naish
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just stayed in the Meadows, 3 bedroom lodge for a week with my partner, his 40 year old daughter and 3 children - 4 , 10 and 11.
We enjoyed the refurbished sauna and steam room and main swimming pool and the toddler pool.
Unfortunately the pool complex does not open till 8.30 as the life guards have to clean the soft play area in the centre first.
There is an inflatable pool session one hour daily at 12.30 but you need to book very early in the day or all the 50 places are filled.
I would have liked adult only sessions or lane swimming as it was difficult to do speedy lengths with children playing around.
Aqua fit would also have been appreciated.
The site is on a windy cliff top - while there we had the strongest winds of 99 mph across the water by the Needles, IOW.
The outside play area is substantial and there is mini golf and arcade area.
The evening entertainment was heaving in the evening in October so we could not get a seat.
The meals were good and service was quite rapid.
We went ou to nearby Adventure Wonderland by Hurn airport and that. Was good value, particularly for little ones, especially with Tesco vouchers.
Peppy Pig world at Paultins Park is also not far away .
There are great beaches, the New Forest and nearby towns of Christchurch worn a visit.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

386 - 392 of 514 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Although our bungalow was a bit tired we couldn't expect anything better for the price we paid. The beds were comfortable and the bungalow was clean and had everything we needed for a self-catering holiday. We found it a good location for exploring the New Forest, visiting Beaulieu Abbey and motor Museum as well as Bournemoth, Poole and Christchurch. The cliff top location was interesting and there was a path to the sea below. Lovely walking along the cliff although it is unfenced and parts of it are collapsing onto the beach below - this well sign-posted and caused us no trouble or danger as we walked. The lounge got extremly hot in the sun.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank multi v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed here a few times and ever time I step into a lodge, I turn into a kid on holiday and just have the best time.

Great amenities around the site: indoor pool, sauna, gym room etc. The pub's well priced for beers and they've got a good kids section to keep them occupied.

Some nice running routes around the area as well so worth doing your homework to get the best walks/runs under your belt as well - kids or no kids.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pglewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Having previously stayed in a lodge we know they are quite small and can be a little tired but this one (Solent 4 berth in Meadow) had a really good sized (and modern) kitchen and dining area which is what you need when you have four children under six sharing plus 4 grown ups! Bedrooms were very compact and old fashioned but we were only sleeping there. The position was great, lots of light and green space in the meadow part of the complex. Facilities were great especially the pool which had been recently built. The kids part was amazing- really warm and fun with all the fountains. Lovely steam room and sauna too. Soft play was good and parents could have a quick drink whilst watching, however the restaurant looked basic and think the meals would have been just ready meal quality. We found an excellent cafe/restaurant 'Cliff hanger' up from the beach (which is about five minutes walk from complex and lovely sandy stretch with sea to paddle in) that served fresh and yummy meals. Play area also good on site. Shop very overpriced. We didn't use the car at all for our weekend as we ordered a very nice curry from local indian to be delivered one night. Very relaxing and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CorinneF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed in a 3bed Becton Lodge and it was just brilliant, finished to a good modern standard well equipt and clean. We stayed with our 2 yr old and another couple and their 2 yr there was good room for us all, 2 bathrooms and enough space not to feel on top of one another. It's also close to Peppa Pig World which was our reason for going there. We did use the on site indoor pool and play area for a few hrs and again everything was clean and well maintained. Would definately use again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We stayed for a four night break with our almost three year old at the end of September in a Palma Apartment. Overall we were very impressed with this accommodation. It was great to be able to park directly underneath the apartment and it was clean, comfortable for a short break and very well equipped with everything you needed in the kitchen etc. The apartments have recently benefitted from being refurbished and this was apparent in the new clean looking carpets and newly done bathroom etc. We were expecting to only have a bath so the shower unit was a nice surprise although it was very small. The apartment was spacious for the three if us, and I think would have still been comfortable for more of us, as there was plenty of cupboard space in the bedrooms, and even an extra single bed in the main bedroom downstairs although the apartment is only meant to sleep four. There was also a stair gate provided which was great as our daughter slept in the smaller double single room upstairs.
The site was nice, well located for the New Forest and Peppa Pig World which was less than 30 mins drive away. The beach nearby was also nice with a cafe on the cliff top too. The on site swimming pool and kids pool were great and seemed quite new, only improvement would have been a slide in the children's pool. We went to the entertainment one night which our daughter loved as she got to meet Sammy Seahorse and dance in the kids disco. We ate one evening meal in the restaurant which was nice and great value for money and served very quickly. The soft play area and play park was nice too. All in all a great value and relaxing stay out of season. We would return to this park or another Hoburne site for a family holiday.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Julles101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Travelled early September with my partner, two year old and parents in tow. Stayed in a lodge in the meadow area.
Lodge: Spotlessly clean and more than enough room for the five of us. The beds were of a good size and very comfortable. Loads of storage too! Please note that if hiring a cot it will not fit in any of the bedrooms, we just tipped one of the beds on its side but if you were at full occupancy it may pose a problem. The outside meadow area was lovely, my toddler adored it.

Entertainment: The camp was not busy and there were hardly any children above the age of 5. The reps did a fabulous job. Dave was amazing and my toddler thoroughly enjoyed the two hour disco and play session, in-fact he had never slept so well as he did there-worn out! The adult was usual, bingo, quiz, main act. Some good, some terrible but this is not a cruise-ship so each to their own.
Also the main entertainment area was again spotless, not sticky carpets ect that you get in some places

Bar/restaurant:Food good quality and quick. We're not talking Gourmet meals but fine for us. I found the cost to be reasonable (especially if you use the vouchers given at beginning of the stay)

Facilities: Used the pool once, very warm (unlike previous reviews) and again clean. The beach is a bit of a trek but gorgeous. Park and grounds kept well. Shop for essentials and Sainsbury's a few miles away if you need more.

Overview: Stayed 6 days and could have honestly stayed double that. Really enjoyed it, I'm not sure what it's like peak season but at low occupancy it was really relaxing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keke73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
0.4 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
2,024 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#1 of 11 in Christchurch
800 reviews
4.1 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Forest Park Hotel
Forest Park Hotel
#10 of 10 in Brockenhurst
636 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
13.5 mi away
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
Sandy Balls Holiday Village
#2 of 14 in Fordingbridge
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Naish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Naish

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in New Milton
Price Range: £50 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoburne Naish 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hoburne Naish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Naish Hotel New Milton
Hoburne Naish New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing