We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed”
Review of Hoburne Naish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hoburne Naish
Certificate of Excellence
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Mixed”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Decided to go away for a couple of nights and like a lot of company's, Holburne do fixed short breaks from a Friday or Monday which I understand completely in peak season. However we wanted to go from a the parkturday night, last weekend. During a phone conversation, we was informed that only a select few are authorised to offer alternative breaks and as luck had it, we were talking to them. Only thing available was a chalet which for £140 for 4 nights, you will struggle to beat. We went for it and I regretted it as soon as I arrived. Everyone will have different opinions and this is purely mine. The only words I can use is out dated and uncomfortable. You get what you pay for though and I should have known better. On the plus side it was incredibly clean.
My problem though is this; after the first night, we both woke up early after a restless night suffering with bad backs. We went to reception to try and upgrade and was informed that we was not able to. The park was quite, you could tell by the amount of people that was about.
Despite using quilts off the other beds to lay on, we had enough after the second night and went home.
I don't understand due to policy's, they would rather lose money and a customer.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scubaduba62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
We're sorry to hear that you found the beds uncomfortable and didn't enjoy the accommodation, we do value our customer feedback and we will look into your stay to identify ways to improve the accommodation. Thanks for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    225
    161
    53
    18
    16
See reviews for
357
38
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a short break at Hoburne Naish recently for two nights - Friday and Saturday. Arrived at 2pm, had to wait a while to get our key as no-one was on the Reception desk, but the girl was pleasant enough when she arrived.
Caravan was great. Booked it privately which worked out so much cheaper than booking directly with the park.
Only gripe I had was that we couldn't park our car right outside the caravan - the only caravan site I have ever been on when we couldn't do this. We parked around 10 yards away in a small communal car park which meant we had to walk across grass to reach our caravan. It had been raining hard during the hours before we arrived, and during our stay, so the grass was extremely muddy. Also wondered if we would have been able to get into this car park if we were there at the height of the season as it wasn't very big but seemed to serve a great many caravans.
All in all we enjoyed our brief time there. Ideal base to visit Southampton FC as a very easy journey on the train, also within walking distance of Highcliffe which was a nice little town with shops and cafes.
Will definitely stay again, in the same caravan, fingers crossed we can get a car parking space!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank palmeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Hello and thanks for your review. We actually have quite a few car parks dotted around the site and parking has never been an issue for us at the park. You'll definitely have a parking space when you come back for your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed in one of the chalet's over Easter with my young family (3 and 5 year old boys and my partner). It was similar to one my grandparents had on the site over 20 years ago. The entertainment was on top form, the staff where all friendly and helpful. I can not fault the staff, the park, the location and loved being so close to the beach and the forest for lots of adventures trying to find all the places I used to go to as a child with my family.

I can't get the Sammy wiggle dance out of my head ha ha.

Found out that paying for Beaulieu motor museum that paying there and gift aiding meant we get free access (except on busy periods) for 12 months. So a possibility a day trip for the summer holidays.

The only downside of the whole trip was the cleanliness of the chalet on our arrival. Although not bad we felt compelled to give everything a clean first just before we could settle into our temporary home away from home.

Room Tip: Family's with young children are generally moved away from cliffside properties unless its reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H3llsB3lls81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your great review, we're really glad you had a great time at the park and the local attractions. We're sorry your accommodation didn't seem clean enough when you arrived - If this happens we ask our customers to let reception know so it can be brought to our attention. Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We stayed at Hoburne Naish from 21st - 25th April with our 3 and 6 year old's and loved every minute even with the bad weather. The receptionist on arrival was very helpful and lovely, we stayed in a Ashurst Chalet on the cliff edge which had beautiful views. We went on several nights to the Sammy & friends club which the kids loved, the entertainment staff were brilliant. Great location with a lovely little village highcliffe-on-sea just near. The accommodation was great, met our every need and was lovely to receive a complementary box of tea, coffee, sugar, etc. Will hopefully be coming back next year and can't wait

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolag1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Thanks for your review and we're really pleased you enjoyed your time with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Good location on the cliff top opposite the IOW.
Plenty to do in the area and at the site.
Enjoyed Go Ape at Moors Valley, 1 hour away, climbing on tree top walk ways , little train, and playgrounds - but beware very busy in school holidays and book for Go Ape .
AdventureWonderland next to Hurn airport, Bournemouth has lots of rides . Make sure you do the water boats before 4 pm or they will shut.
Christchurch itself has little boat trips towards the sea and Mudeford one way and inland to Tuckton the other . Lots of swans to feed and free outdoor playground.
On the site we liked the inflatable play in the pool but it needs booking and has energetic boys using the larger inflatables.
There needs to be a dedicated adult swim time and to open the pool at 8 am.
The outdoor play area is comprehensive and has a mini golf.
Food in the on site restaurant is plentiful, speedy but drink prices are fairly expensive. There are lots of eating places nearby- KFC, Table Table etc.
There is day and evening entertainment but it gets noisy and crowded so it was not our best activity.
Our wooden lodge was high end quality , fairly new, spacious but needed an electronic overhaul/ check to ensure it was fully functional.
Down in our area we had more limited wifi and some road noise.
Staff were helpful and the site was spacious.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your great review of our park and the activities available in this beautiful area! We're lucky to be situated in a fantastic area of the country and we're glad you took full advantage of this to explore all the local attractions! We look forward to seeing you again in the future, thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Hi, we stayed at Hoburne Naish for a week during the February half term with our two daughters aged 7 and 4, my father and sister, we stayed in a Solent lodge which was very comfortable, warm and well appointed. We have been to Naish several times over the years and never been let down the entertainments team were great, they are all very talented and clearly want to be there and enjoy what they do. Our daughters loved the Sammy shows and we enjoyed the entertainment. We particularly enjoyed seeing Michael Brookes and Motown magic.

We have recommended this beautiful place to other family and friends and they have also had great holidays there. We are back in the summer and can't wait. Thank you for a wonderful and relaxing break.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Many thanks for your great feedback here on TripAdvisor. We're really glad you had a great time with us and we look forward to welcoming your friends and family for another great Hoburne experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have been coming to Hoburne Naish for 13 years, sometimes 3/4 times a year. Love the place and all the surrounding area. Have stayed in all the various accommodations and they are all great. This Sept we are trying out the Becton Lodge as it's our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we could not think of anywhere better to spend it. I would even go so far as to do a stint as Sammy Seal!!!.....why go anywhere else?...looking forward to September.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Naish, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments! We're really pleased you've picked our park as your special place to spend your 25th wedding anniversary.

We'll be sure to let Sammy the Seahorse know that you can perform instead of him so he can take a rest!

Many thanks, see you in September!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
4.1 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
367 reviews
4.2 mi away
South Lawn Hotel
South Lawn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford on Sea
466 reviews
7.1 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
717 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#25 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,995 reviews
5.9 mi away
Village Hotel Bournemouth
Village Hotel Bournemouth
#31 of 66 in Bournemouth
1,937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Naish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Naish

Property: Hoburne Naish
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 7RE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hoburne Naish 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hoburne Naish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hoburne Naish Hotel New Milton
Hoburne Naish New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing