We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic week, will be back ASAP”
Review of Hoburne Bashley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Milton
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hoburne Bashley
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A fantastic week, will be back ASAP”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Have stayed here before out of main season and mainly for weekends. Well, what a fantastic week, all staff were excellent and the entertainment team were brilliant, Sammy Jo, Steve Gee, Tommy and Lyndsey are all fantastic and as for the cheeky seahorse!! The children loved it. It was great we had nice weather so could use the outside pool. The evening entertainment was bingo, different musical acts and the entertainment team, all first class. The food was good and compared well to brewers fayre / table table so no complaints and with beer at £3.50 per pint and half carafe of wine at £8 all in all a great place. The other thing was how clean and tidy the toilets and showers were on the touring pitches, considering they were full they were still always clean. Holburne, I have the children tugging at my heart strings to rebook for 3 weeks time, We will be back, see you very soon

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshireTraveller3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    128
    60
    21
    6
See reviews for
298
56
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I have just got back from a long weekend with my wife and 18 month old son staying in a private caravan. The park is very clean and well maintained. There is always someone checking your park passes each time you enter the clubhouse which was impressive. The indoor swimming pool was a good size and clean although I personally found the water a little on the cold side. There is also an outdoor pool which we didn't use but other people did (even in the rain!). We didn't eat in the restaurant, it did seem a bit like a school canteen and very busy, it looked as though you ordered food at the counter and got given a ticket with a number on and were called forward when your order was ready. We found a Brewers Fayre 5 mins down the road and had a nice meal there. We had a drink in the clubhouse one evening, the entertainment looked good but again very busy. My son loved Sammy the Seahorse and all the staff were friendly and helpful. I would consider coming back one day.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pilchard55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello and thanks for your review! We're really pleased you had a good time and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just come back form our first visit a weeks holiday in a private rented caravan with my partner and 3 kids, they loved it and want to come back next year already :)
The only thing I would say that was a bit strange was having to get to the entertainment early as you won't get a seat in the holiday seasons so we didn't go in very much but did a lot of arcade games :) swimming was great and the kids even my partner loved the play area he could be a big kid again. Clean site and staff were brilliant. Would recommend to everyone to go here :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for the great review, we're glad you had such a great time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

My partner and I stayed in a platinum caravan (254) for 4 nights back in April 2013. The whole site was very clean, well maintained and so peaceful. We were checked in by a receptionist who wasn’t very polite or helpful. Our caravan however was perfect! It was modern, absolutely spotless and looked brand new. It had everything we needed, even provided ;- tea, coffee, sugar, shower gel, shampoo, conditioner, body lotion, soap, washing up liquid, plenty of towels and a little bottle of milk in the fridge which was a nice little touch. The caravan had plenty of cupboards and storage spaces. The shower is powerful although turns cold very quickly. The little TV in the bedroom was another nice touch. The onsite shop was reasonably priced and well stocked with everything you would need. Security were really friendly and always took the time to speak to us. The entertainment complex was a lovely atmosphere in the evenings with good music, entertainment and a nice bar area. The drinks were overpriced and the food was surprisingly quite cheap. The bar and restaurant staff were always friendly and happy to help with a smile. The arcade was bigger than I thought it would be but would be nicer if they had prizes to win. Around 9pm they play bingo and a quiz which is always fun to get involved with. However we found the entertainment staff rude and very sarcastic towards us and if we were to return we would probably avoid the entertainment section for that reason. Overall it’s a lovely park and we really enjoyed our stay here. It’s just a shame that some members of staff let you down by being very unprofessional!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyB529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for submitting a review about your Hoburne Bashley experience. We appreciate any feedback from our customers about how we can improve our park and our services, so we're sorry to hear about your poor experience with some of our staff. Your comments have been brought to the attention of the general manager and we will be addressing the issue.

Many thanks and we hope to see you again in the future for an improved experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned from 7 night stay at Hoburne Bashley in a silver A caravan booked direct through Hoburne holidays.
I came to this park as a child with parents and have now returned with my wife and three kids, having stayed twice previously at Hoburne Park. I must say this park is much better (not that there is anything wrong with Hoburne Park) it really is a beautiful site, well kept and plenty of space. The silver caravan was spotless and looked brand new (st 102) with everything you need supplied. One classy touch is the small box of essentials that Hoburne leave in the caravan for you ie tea, coffee, sugar and small pot of washing up liquid!
The on site shop has the everyday items you need if you dont want to drive to the nearby Sainsburys.
The swimming pools are the best I have ever seen on this type of holiday in the uk and my girls spent about 5 hrs each day running from one to the other. The indoor pool has a mild water slide and is a little small for the size of this site and if raining will quickly get full to capacity and a queue system put in place. We were lucky with the weather and spent most of the time in the large outdoor pool to be honest. As with all holidays in this country it makes such a difference if you get good weather!
The entertainment complex is quite large and has acts on each evening along with the normal kids disco and bingo etc. The standard is what you will find in most of these parks so dont expect to much to be honest but one person worthy of note is Duncan. We had seen him before and he gives a very good show, the best of the week by far, so worth a look!
Did not try the food in the restaurants as many did but did not seem overpriced, did have a couple of coffee/drinks and not rip off thats for sure.
All of the staff we spoke to were very helpful and friendly, security everywhere checking passes etc, none of us heard or saw any kind of trouble at all, whole site very relaxed with nice families, which is what we wanted.
We did buy a couple of theme park/attraction tickets from reception and they were the same as the online prices so no need to book before as you can see what the weather is like on a particular day then decide.
I know that some people book privately owned caravans rather than through Hoburne as they are cheaper but I think that if there are any problems etc then Hoburne will do more to help rather than an owner living miles away, just my opinion!
Finally I would have no hesitation in booking this site again thats for sure and would have stayed on for another week if possible!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Hello and thank you for the great review. We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us and the TripAdvisor community about your Hoburne Bashley Holiday. We hope to see you and your family again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

First time we have stayed at Hobourne Bashley and enjoyed every moment. We privately rented a caravan as a lot cheaper than Hobournes. We found the site a lot cleaner than Havens and Butlins and also was full of nice people!! The staff were friendly and helpful with telling us how to get to beaches etc. The only thing I was disappointed with was we never got free entry to circue even though we paid 28 pounds for passes for the week whereas Hobourne caravan guests got them slightly unfair!
Swimming pool was lovely and so was the sauna and steam room! Weather did help as we could do a lot more!
Club house was packed in the evenings and we did struggle to get a seat although prices were reasonable at 1.50 for a coke and 3.40 for a beer.
Hoping to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holsssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about you Hoburne Bashley experience. We look forward to seeing you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in a private rental static caravan (booked through Steve and Caroline French), but the staff at reception did not treat us any differently. They were friendly whenever we had a question, and helpful. The park was very clean and well looked after, the cost of things like crazy golf, inflatables etc was really good so you didn't mind when the children asked if they could have something. We also paid to see the circus (private rentals have to pay) and this was very good and also good value for money. I was worried it would be hideously busy, being the summer holidays, but it never was. We went to the cabaret around 9.15pm for 5 out of the 7 evenings we were there, and always managed to get a seat in the forest room within a few minutes. The entertainment team were very good, we enjoyed their shows more than the visiting ones. Sammy Jo and Tommy Ryan are really excellent performers. The swimming pool was clean and the staff very friendly and efficient. The driving range was well received by my father, the only gripe would be the advertised pitch and putt. My dad and my son went to play but the ground was very poor quality and the holes really close together. They were very disappointed, but that was the only thing. It is excellently placed to visit the coast and the New Forest, and we walked the dog every morning at Barton on Sea, a lovely unspoilt and non-commercialised part of the coast. Mudeford is only a short drive away and ideal for crabbing. Brockenhurst is also really close, and a lovely stream with rope swings for the kids to play on. Would recommend Bashley to anyone, and really hope to return. Steve and Caroline's caravan was also really clean and recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare78baby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoburneHolidays, Public Relations Manager at Hoburne Bashley, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thanks for submitting a review for your Hoburne Bashley experience. We're really glad you had a great time and we look forward to seeing you and your family again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
2.3 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
1,767 reviews
3.3 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
704 reviews
6.1 mi away
Travelodge Christchurch
Travelodge Christchurch
#7 of 11 in Christchurch
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Eastclose Country House Hotel
4.5 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,023 reviews
11.9 mi away
Cypress Log Cabins
Cypress Log Cabins
#1 of 14 in Fordingbridge
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hoburne Bashley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hoburne Bashley

Property: Hoburne Bashley
Address: Bashley Caravan Park Sway Road | For Sat Nav Follow BH25 5QS, New Forest, New Milton BH25 5QR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Speciality Lodging in New Milton
Hotel Class:4 star — Hoburne Bashley 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a fun-filled caravan park inside the boundaries of the New Forest National Park... waking each morning to the sounds of nature, knowing everything you could possibly need is right on your doorstep. Welcome to Hoburne Bashley – with its acres of wide open space, it’s the perfect holiday park for touring caravans and family holidays in the New Forest. Fancy a game of crazy golf... or taking things more seriously on our nine hole, par three golf course? Or how about taking to the Park’s tennis court or football field – or knocking down some pins at the Hoburne Bowl? For the kids there’s the Sammy Seahorse Club – and (for the kid in you), there’s an exhilarating flume in our indoor pool, plus splashing opportunities galore in our heated outdoor swimming and paddling pools. You could of course just go exploring: the enigmatic expanse of the New Forest one way, the sparkling ocean the other. And if all that tires you out, relax in the Park’s sauna or steam room, and imagine... well, anything. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hoburne Bashley Hotel New Milton
Hoburne Bashley New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing