We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bond Bug Club visit”

Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sammy Miller MBE is a motorcycling legend, 11 times British Champion, winner of over 1400 events and still winning competitions more than 50 years after his first victory. The Museum houses one of the finest collections of fully restored motorcycles in the world, including factory racers and exotic prototypes, with the collection constantly evolving as new bikes are acquired. There are over 400 rare and classic motorcycles on display in four galleries - one of which showcases the fabulous Norton Collection. The museum is set within an attractive courtyard, with tea rooms, craft shops and children's play area. It is also home to many chickens, donkeys, goats, alpacas and two aviaries.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bond Bug Club visit”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited this museum once again, this time with several fellow Bond Bug owners and their Bond Bugs, we were surprised to see even more exhibits on display all with clear and readable descriptions, the staff were very helpful and the cream teas YUMMY !!!
Thank you for allowing us to display our Bugs.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    53
    5
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum but Why is Radio 2 Playing”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Visited this museum while on holiday in the New Forest. It might be a small building but there is a large display of both road and trials bikes, as well as Sammy Miller's trophies. My husband is the real motorcyclist fan having two road bikes and an off road bike himself, but even I found the displays interesting.

The staff were friendly and helpful.

I can't comment on the tea room as we didn't use it. The gift shops were quite nice and all the owners said hello as we went in but the products were fairly expensive.

Now I come to the reason why I have only given three stars. While we were there the Museum had Radio 2 on - The Jeremy Vine Show, playing on radios placed round various parts of the museum. We found it terribly distracting, especially the discussion part where they were
talking about the arrest of Gerry Adams. Why I ask myself? If they want background why not have a narration relevant to the motorbikes on display or Sammy Miller.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Taisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sway, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Steer clear if you value good value!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I don't believe in leaving poor ratings without justifying them so here goes. We visited this place after seeing that there were shops, a café and kids areas as well as the museum so thought we could spend some time here as a family and enjoy ourselves. How wrong we were. We didn't go into the museum as the cost it would have incurred to get the whole family in was a disgrace so instead we decided to take a look round the complex. Yes, there are a few animals including donkeys and some alpacas the kids could view from a distance and some birds in quite old aviaries - all seen within 15 minutes. The shops were very tiny and mostly closed, except for a gift type shop that was being run by a lady who informed us that she had just had a nosebleed and that she had had a very quiet day (Did we want to know this?) and so decided to have a cup of tea and a slice of cake at the café. This appeared to be being manned by a group of young girls more interested in their hand held technology than providing a service and I think 3 of us shared one tea bag in a pot while we were fleeced for soft drinks for the kids. The cake was not in any way fresh - maybe it was a week previously but not on the day of our visit so in all, we felt we had wasted our time and had been overcharged for what we did end up buying. It is sad as the great Sammy Miller seems to be trading on his name only now, not on what his name is associated with and unfortunately, his name is now associated with a very disappointing complex which is of no interest or benefit to anybody who does not have an interest in motor bikes or who cannot justify the entry fee for a large family group. Sadly, the adjoining amenities are a complete let down and need to be looked at closely to see if they are providing the service and products expected upon arrival as they are not worth visiting in their own right. Very disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank kc2772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Spammy millers”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Biker heaven, great place, great man, and an awesome breakfast to boot. A must for anyone with a pulse for bikes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ROB-2012-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorset england
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“awesome collection of motorbikes”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

what a great place to visit,wonderful old and more modern bikes.around 360! very helpful staff.could not fault it at all.lovely courtyard with cafe,craft shops,birds etc.did not have to pay admission to use these facilities, so good if only one of you wants to see the bikes.best mseum of its type i have visited.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank daveyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum also viewed

 
Ringwood, New Forest
Milford on Sea, Lymington
 

Been to Sammy Miller Motorcycle Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing