We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something to remember for a very long time.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Something to remember for a very long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I just wanted to say a huge thank you for the most amazing stay at Chewton Glen. From being greeted on arrival by Eddy we felt completely spoilt; the most gorgeous room with the most beautiful view, the impeccable service and the mouth watering food, my boyfriend was quivering in his boots as I kept telling him how I could get accustomed to this lifestyle!!! It was such a treat and something I will remember forever. The grounds were beautiful and we managed to walk to the beach before indulging ourselves in the Menu Gourmand and Wine Gourmand for our evening meal. We decided to wake early the following day to enjoy the gym and spa before eating our delicious breakfast and exploring again in the beautiful weather before heading to Dorset.



Thank you so much for this amazing stay and please thank everyone for making our stay utterly perfect.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank showse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
All of us at Chewton Glen are thrilled that this couple had such a memorable weekend and that they will remember their stay for a very long time. I have of course as requested, passed on their thanks to the whole team and hope that it won’t be too long before we see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    243
    99
    43
    15
See reviews for
357
818
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at Chewton Glen. We were only there one night but wished we could have stayed longer and will be returning. The new huge swimming/spa pool was fabulous and there is a huge selection of luxurious spa treatments - I recommend the Hawaiian massage! Do try the 5 course tasting menu which is delicious and has a different wine with every course. Everyone was very helpful and while it is a big hotel it feels cosy and welcoming. We stayed in a great suite which was traditional yet modern at the same time with a tv in the bathroom and a huge shower, There is lots to do not only at Chewton Glen but also nearby and we went on a fun horse ride through the New Forest - you can actually walk to the beach from Chewton Glen but we did not have time. The restaurant was being renovated which meant a little disruption but that should be finished by the end of March. We had a lovely time and a stay is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
We are always pleased when guests leave wanting more and it is a regular comment from people visiting that they simply haven’t had enough time to do everything that was offered to them. Needless to say we are delighted that this short visit seemed to tick all the boxes and we very much look forward to welcoming them back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Over the past 10 years, I have stayed at this hotel around 8 times. In the early years, it was great on every front but most importantly, it had the personal touch. The staff miracously knew your name and remembered your choice of drink - not anymore. You are just another punter - to be squeezed into a piece of the hotel and as much money extracted from you as possible.

What was unforgiveable, was they had forgotten to mention a major refurb of the restaurant, which meant we were either squeezed into an inappropriate side room or a corridor like space smelling of paint - great for your michelin starred food. My friend went down early one am or breakfast and was berated by a waiter for choosing to sit on a table of four when clearly she was on her own!

The decor is still lovely, the spa has all the right elements but it has lost its appeal, it's magic. What a shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BessMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
I was saddened to read that this regular guest of Chewton Glen felt that it has lost its magic and as you can imagine I would be very keen to hear directly from them to discuss their concerns. Over the last four decades we have always listened very carefully to our guests and always view all comments in a constructive manner. Chewton Glen is undoubtedly busier than it used to be however our team has also grown accordingly and now we have in the region of 230 staff looking after the 58 rooms, restaurant, spa and the estate. One of our values as a business is to offer a very personalised service and recognition for each and every one of our guests. Needless to say this a constant battle in an age where staff are more transient however this is a problem that the whole industry has to contend with. I would agree that it is unforgivable that these guests were not informed of the refurbishment and of course I am surprised as we have been completely transparent about the improvements we have been undertaking. There is a barely a year that goes by without us undertaking some exciting projects and our policy is to inform guests in advance. I have tried to investigate this particular lapse in service however without a name I haven’t been able to trace which member of staff dealt with the reservation. I sincerely hope that these guests will contact me personally as I would value the opportunity to discuss their most recent stay and also restore their faith in Chewton Glen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I refer to tripadvisor a lot but have never been driven to post a review before. But our experience was so good at Chewton Glen that I felt obliged to write this. It started with us being greeted by name as we parked up (we've never stayed there before but we had provided our car's registration number in advance). By the time we had been given a tour of the hotel our car had been parked and our luggage was in the room. Your chosen newspaper and morning beverage were delivered to your room every morning. I don't know if it is because of, or in spite of the strict no tipping policy but the staff were very attentive throughout.

We were upgraded to a silver room which was a nicely furnished mini-suite with terrace - Bose iPod player and surround sound for the TV.

The spa facilities were excellent. The sea was a 20 minute stroll through their extensive grounds - with wellington boots of various sizes provided by the door if you didn't bring appropriate footwear.

Breakfast was excellent. If I have to find fault then in my opinion the Gourmand menu was only OK - possibly let down also by the rare slow service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJCCJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
I was pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay so much that they felt compelled to tell of their experience and would like to thank them for taking the time and trouble to do so. Such positive feedback always motivates the team to work even harder and I will of course enjoy sharing this review with the entire team. The specific feedback about dinner was also useful and I have of course discussed this with the team in the kitchen. We are due to unveil our new restaurant concept at the end of April and we are all very excited about this positive progression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

We have stayed a few times at Chewton Glenn. The location and facilities are superb but what in our view sets the hotel apart from its peers is the outstanding quality of the staff - not at all stuffy, always friendly and quietly very efficient. A true test on our last stay was that it was half term and the place was full of very young children, and yet this in no way encumbered our stay nor did it seem to stretch the staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petert055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
Reviews mentioning the attentiveness of the team are always the most rewarding for us at Chewton Glen and I am pleased that this reviewer highlighted our staff as the point of differentiation. I am also pleased that although half term was extremely busy with families, it did not impact on those guests without children. Needless to say we look forward to welcoming them back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2011

We spent the weekend here for our 1st anniversary and definitely received a very warm welcome & lots of nice extra touches because of it! Had a lovely room in the main house, dined in the restaurant both nights - excellent food and wine. We borrowed bikes and pedaled into Lymington for the afternoon and pedaled back along the gorgeous coastal path and spend most of the next day relaxing in the hyrotherapy pools and outdoor jacuzzi which are fantastic! Great service and lovely relaxed location.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodallTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, Guest Relations Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
We would like to thank these guests for such a positive review and needless to say we are delighted that their first anniversary celebration at Chewton Glen was so memorable. The coastal path to Lymington is one of my favourite adventures and I am pleased that they also enjoyed it along with the soak in the hydrotherapy pool afterwards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Just had a 3 night stay with my wife and 5 year old, on the 3 for 2 room only basis
Had a silver standard room...but not the one we agreed on (which was slightly larger and had a sofa bed). All amicably resolved by the staff and we had breakfast thrown into our deal (£26pp) and kept the (slightly smaller) room.
Breakfast - excellent. They just need to find someone who can make proper lattes
Room service - CG club sandwich was very nice, but not cheap
Room - had a modern one which was very nice but if you look carefully was showing a bit of wear (missing sealant in shower cubicle)
Staff - first class, very helpful
Spa - very nice and relaxing. Set times for kids to use which I thought struck the right balance
Kids club - great
Venue/grounds - beautiful
Dinner - we actually had room service one night and we went out to the Jetty on the other 2 nights (see separate review...recommended)
Having stayed at many of the Grand Country Hotels (Cliveden, Stoke Park, Tynley Hall, Pennyhill etc) I would say that this is right up there with the best of them.
These places are always expensive and CG was no exception!
Would definitely return and stay again if we negotiated another good deal

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnA1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 9 March 2011
It was very pleasing to read that this family enjoyed their half term break at Chewton Glen and that they would definitely return in the future. All of the feedback they have given is extremely useful and although we do undertake regular barista training, it sounds like some of the team need to practice their lattes more. We look forward to welcoming these guests back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
11.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing