We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A truly wonderful spa destination for all to enjoy with first-class facilities, fantastic staff and a great location.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A truly wonderful spa destination for all to enjoy with first-class facilities, fantastic staff and a great location.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

5 friends visited the Chewton Glen Spa and it was a day that we did not want to end. When we arrived in the morning, we all left our lives, worries, stresses and problems at the hotel entrance and as the day progressed, we slowly found ourselves again. Only this time we emerged calmer and less fraught, relaxed and rejuvenated. Chewton Glen worked its magic on us all. Our thanks also to Kerry for our lovely glass of champagne with our lunch and our gift, it was the icing on the cake! Your therapists were all wonderful too and special thanks to Nicola who gave me a wonderful and much-needed treatment.
Once again, a big, big thank you. I recommend everyone should experience this fantastic spa and indeed this luxury hotel, that deserves all the accolades it has won. We were still sitting in the sumptuous hotel lounge enjoying a light supper and drinks at 11pm that evening, not wishing to leave this sanctuary!
Stephanie
Jo - My body has been buffed and beautified. My soul has been smoothed and steamed. And my mind has rested and relaxed. Chewton Glen is pampering perfection.
Sarah - The day was simply too much! Who would have thought that self-indulgence could be SO exhausting! I have a new found respect for ladies who lunch!! Never again! Bring on the daily grind!!! X
Kate
- It’s not until you begin to relax in this fabulous spa, that all the worries fade away, and realisation sets in, that a treat like this is needed more often. Thank you so much for a wonderful day, see you next week!
Helen - A perfect, magical day...thank you doesn’t seem enough, but seems to say it all.

Room Tip: Near the New Forest and stunning beaches.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanieeditor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
It was wonderful to receive such positive feedback from every member of this small party who visited the spa for the day and we are of course delighted that they all returned back to the real world feeling rejuvenated. I have of course enjoyed sharing their comments with the whole of the spa team and look forward to welcoming them back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,164
    243
    99
    43
    15
See reviews for
357
818
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2011

Chewton Glen is quite simply one of the best country house hotels in the UK.

On a recent visit however we noticed that the quality of the more junior staff was not quite what it used to be. During tea service one afternoon three 'lads' were arguing with each other in full hearing of guests with one of them appealing to the others by saying 'come we should be working as a team'!! Indeed they should! The Spa staff were less than efficient too! The restaurant is currently going through a major refurbishment and despite the obvious disruption it is a bit like the 'elephant in the room' with the management trying to pretend that everything will be fine..... as long as they don't apologize.

A good visit but come on Chewton Glen protect those standards.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
I was horrified to read that this reviewer’s most recent experience was marred by some service issues and first and foremost I would like to apologise most sincerely. Under normal circumstances it is our staff who are praised most and I know the team will be equally upset that we failed to perform on this occasion. Since their visit we have replaced our bar and lounge manager and I am delighted that normality has already resumed. In the restaurant we have tried to be as transparent as possible about the refurbishment however they are undoubtedly taking longer than we had been assured and have impacted on our ability to perform to the usual high standard. Regarding the spa staff, there is no reason for them to be underperforming and it would be interesting to understand why they were highlighted. Needless to say, we look forward to welcoming these guests back and to ensuring that on their next visit we are back to being great again and not just good!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2011

My in-laws stayed at Chewton Glen last weekend and came back glowing from their stay there! My father-in-law asked me to post this review:

"My wife and I stayed at Chewton Glen for the weekend and had a splendid time. The room was beautiful, the food delicious and the staff charming - nothing was too much trouble. My wife also loved the wonderful Spa. On the Saturday night we attended one of their "Special Events" in the Lake Room and had a superb evening. The entertainment was from a group of West End performers and was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our whole weekend and look forward to coming again"

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelissaArmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

I just wanted to say a huge thank you for the most amazing stay at Chewton Glen. From being greeted on arrival by Eddy we felt completely spoilt; the most gorgeous room with the most beautiful view, the impeccable service and the mouth watering food, my boyfriend was quivering in his boots as I kept telling him how I could get accustomed to this lifestyle!!! It was such a treat and something I will remember forever. The grounds were beautiful and we managed to walk to the beach before indulging ourselves in the Menu Gourmand and Wine Gourmand for our evening meal. We decided to wake early the following day to enjoy the gym and spa before eating our delicious breakfast and exploring again in the beautiful weather before heading to Dorset.



Thank you so much for this amazing stay and please thank everyone for making our stay utterly perfect.

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank showse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 29 March 2011
All of us at Chewton Glen are thrilled that this couple had such a memorable weekend and that they will remember their stay for a very long time. I have of course as requested, passed on their thanks to the whole team and hope that it won’t be too long before we see them again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

My boyfriend and I had an amazing stay at Chewton Glen. We were only there one night but wished we could have stayed longer and will be returning. The new huge swimming/spa pool was fabulous and there is a huge selection of luxurious spa treatments - I recommend the Hawaiian massage! Do try the 5 course tasting menu which is delicious and has a different wine with every course. Everyone was very helpful and while it is a big hotel it feels cosy and welcoming. We stayed in a great suite which was traditional yet modern at the same time with a tv in the bathroom and a huge shower, There is lots to do not only at Chewton Glen but also nearby and we went on a fun horse ride through the New Forest - you can actually walk to the beach from Chewton Glen but we did not have time. The restaurant was being renovated which meant a little disruption but that should be finished by the end of March. We had a lovely time and a stay is definitely recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EPtraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
We are always pleased when guests leave wanting more and it is a regular comment from people visiting that they simply haven’t had enough time to do everything that was offered to them. Needless to say we are delighted that this short visit seemed to tick all the boxes and we very much look forward to welcoming them back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

Over the past 10 years, I have stayed at this hotel around 8 times. In the early years, it was great on every front but most importantly, it had the personal touch. The staff miracously knew your name and remembered your choice of drink - not anymore. You are just another punter - to be squeezed into a piece of the hotel and as much money extracted from you as possible.

What was unforgiveable, was they had forgotten to mention a major refurb of the restaurant, which meant we were either squeezed into an inappropriate side room or a corridor like space smelling of paint - great for your michelin starred food. My friend went down early one am or breakfast and was berated by a waiter for choosing to sit on a table of four when clearly she was on her own!

The decor is still lovely, the spa has all the right elements but it has lost its appeal, it's magic. What a shame.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BessMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 March 2011
I was saddened to read that this regular guest of Chewton Glen felt that it has lost its magic and as you can imagine I would be very keen to hear directly from them to discuss their concerns. Over the last four decades we have always listened very carefully to our guests and always view all comments in a constructive manner. Chewton Glen is undoubtedly busier than it used to be however our team has also grown accordingly and now we have in the region of 230 staff looking after the 58 rooms, restaurant, spa and the estate. One of our values as a business is to offer a very personalised service and recognition for each and every one of our guests. Needless to say this a constant battle in an age where staff are more transient however this is a problem that the whole industry has to contend with. I would agree that it is unforgivable that these guests were not informed of the refurbishment and of course I am surprised as we have been completely transparent about the improvements we have been undertaking. There is a barely a year that goes by without us undertaking some exciting projects and our policy is to inform guests in advance. I have tried to investigate this particular lapse in service however without a name I haven’t been able to trace which member of staff dealt with the reservation. I sincerely hope that these guests will contact me personally as I would value the opportunity to discuss their most recent stay and also restore their faith in Chewton Glen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2011

I refer to tripadvisor a lot but have never been driven to post a review before. But our experience was so good at Chewton Glen that I felt obliged to write this. It started with us being greeted by name as we parked up (we've never stayed there before but we had provided our car's registration number in advance). By the time we had been given a tour of the hotel our car had been parked and our luggage was in the room. Your chosen newspaper and morning beverage were delivered to your room every morning. I don't know if it is because of, or in spite of the strict no tipping policy but the staff were very attentive throughout.

We were upgraded to a silver room which was a nicely furnished mini-suite with terrace - Bose iPod player and surround sound for the TV.

The spa facilities were excellent. The sea was a 20 minute stroll through their extensive grounds - with wellington boots of various sizes provided by the door if you didn't bring appropriate footwear.

Breakfast was excellent. If I have to find fault then in my opinion the Gourmand menu was only OK - possibly let down also by the rare slow service.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KJCCJN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 10 March 2011
I was pleased that these guests enjoyed their stay so much that they felt compelled to tell of their experience and would like to thank them for taking the time and trouble to do so. Such positive feedback always motivates the team to work even harder and I will of course enjoy sharing this review with the entire team. The specific feedback about dinner was also useful and I have of course discussed this with the team in the kitchen. We are due to unveil our new restaurant concept at the end of April and we are all very excited about this positive progression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
3.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 79 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
11.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing