We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best English Country House Hotel in the UK” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Putnam Valley NY USA
1 review
“Best English Country House Hotel in the UK”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We discoved Chewton Glen by chance but it turned out to be a perfect English Country House Hotel. We only stayed two nights but everything was wonderful. We expressed an interest in something in the shop window in the lobby so they opened the store for us. The room we had was very large with a huge dressing area and bath with a lovely large tub. It overlooked the croquet court with very nice views. They have an intimate bar for cocktails and many large and beautifully decorated public rooms. The restaurant is excellent for every meal of the day and the fine wines were just that...very fine. We only wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for this lovely review which I have enjoyed sharing with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming these guests back and hope that the next time they are able to stay for more than two nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    243
    99
    43
    15
See reviews for
358
818
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I sent our Management Team to this hotel, after an invitation to inspect it to see if it suited our Team Build trip of 3 days.
I was impressed from the outset.
The professionalism and friendliness of the team, not to mention the layout, decor and the location, and made the event a success. And don't get me started on the gorgeous food.
For us, it represented excellent value for money, and we are looking at returning there for future functions.
I would not hesistate in recommending this place to host your events, to impress, or just to get away. A job well done to the entire team.
Luke @ Club Med

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had stayed here, albeit for only one night, a number of years ago and were not overwhelmed. Our recent return visit was the exact opposite. The hotel is very well run with excellent staff, beautifully decorated public areas, very spacious and almost "grand" bedrooms and surprisingly excellent food. Not being "spa types", we did not sample but from observation they seemed first rate in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

When we first visited Chewton Glen, several years ago, I could find no faults! It wasn't cheap but it was certainly value for money. Unfortunately, our last two visits, particularly our last, have not demonstrated the same degree of perfection.

On our most recent visit we booked a junior suite for one night and were warned in advance that there may be some disruption in the restaurant area that was undergoing refurbishment. What disappointed us were things that in other establishments would seem (and in reality are) quite trivial

On arrival we were asked if we wished to book a meal in the restaurant. Slightly surprised (in view of the advice that it was being refurbished), we booked lunch the following day only to receive a call an hour or so later advising us that, in fact, lunch would not be served that day.

One of the attractions of Chewton Glen is its excellent spa which we wished to use shortly after arrival. Having stayed before we expected to find the usual guest bathrobes and slippers in the room but discovered that there were no bathrobes or slippers and only one bath towel. Having phoned reception to request these items they were eventually supplied but only after several visits because, on the first two visits, the staff failed to deliver the items as requested.

We also found an empty mouthwash bottle had been left behind the sink by a previous guest and not removed.

When we were shown to our room on arrival we were taken there through the restaurant area. When we left to go to reception to check out we tried to use the same route but the builders had blocked it off and in the absence of signage for an alternative route or hotel staff on hand to show us to reception we had to rely on one of the builders who kindly took us round the outside of the building to circumvent the building works.

Chewton Glen still gets most things right and gestures such as the complementary sparkling wine and chocolates for returning guests are a nice touch. The issues highlighted above are clearly small gripes but need to be viewed in the light of the very significant price of staying at this hotel. When compared with the performance achieved by Chewton Glen in the past, I am afraid that this particular visit was not an experience for which I feel I can award "top marks" across the board.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Our restaurant refurbishment has undoubtedly been slower and more disruptive than we ever imagined and it is very disappointing that these guests were impacted. We had hoped to have the whole project completed by the 1st April however we are now looking at the end of May before everything is handed back to us. The parts that are complete look absolutely stunning and we have received only positive feedback about the concept and menu. I sincerely hope that this reviewer feels that the disruption was worthwhile and we very much look forward to their feedback when they stay with us next. As far as the housekeeping comments are concerned, these are most unusual and our head housekeeper has asked us to convey how sorry he is for this lapse in service. We sincerely look forward to welcoming these guests back again to see the hotel once all the refurbishments are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2011

My partner and I stayed at Chewton Glen with our 6 month old daughter for one night. This is not our first visit and it certainly won't be our last. Our overall stay was fantastic, the staff were very friendly, as always, and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was kitted out with a travel cot, changing mat, kettle, bottle warmer and steriliser which I wasn't expecting and were very useful. We used the babysitting service while we had our dinner, she was extremely friendly and I felt very relaxed about leaving our daughter in her care (this is the first time I've left her). Our taster menu for dinner was delicious and breakfast was outstanding. We enjoyed walking down to the beach and walking around the grounds. We will explore the spa at our next stay, which won't be far away!

Room Tip: Ask for a map to the beach and visit the spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALH2011_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

My wife and I spent our wedding anniversary here last weekend and we really could not fault any aspect of the hotel. The level of service was exceptional and the food very good .
If you want a treat for a long weekend i would definitely consider staying here.
We were obviously lucky to have exceptionally fine weather which meant we could enjoy
the golf course and terrace to the full but the spa is also top notch so there would have been plenty to do otherwise.

Room Tip: Go for a package including dinner and breakfast. .
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank col1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 April 2011
It was very pleasing to read that this couple celebrating their wedding anniversary could not fault Chewton Glen and that they were blessed with beautiful weather. Although Chewton Glen is a wonderful winter destination, it comes into its own in the spring and summer as we open up all the terraces and the outdoor pool for our guests to enjoy. We very much look forward to welcoming these guests back in a year’s time if not before.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2011

The warm welcome by the receptionist on arrival made me feel immediately at home. The friendliness of the staff continued throughout our stay in all aspects of the hotel. And the staff alone would encourage me to visit again and recommend the hotel to friends. Before I visited I was concerned that dining in the restaurant may be a quiet, stiff affair, but the atmosphere was relaxed and buzzy and the food was fantastic. Our suite was spacious and comfortable and the spa facilities were great. All in all we had a wonderful stay and I WILL be back!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gem1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
11.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing