We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A fantastic hotel with service and food to match - a MUST visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fantastic hotel with service and food to match - a MUST visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

I stayed at Chewton Glen for 3 nights recently and celebrated my wifes 40th birthday with a large group of friends who also stayed at the hotel.
The hotel, rooms and facilities are excellent. Some hotels then either let down on food or service or both! NOT with Chewton Glen - the staff were excellent and the food was 1st class. I have no hesitation in recommending to anyone to visit and stay at this first class hotel - you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Speak to the excellent reservation staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simond50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 June 2011
I am thrilled that this 40th birthday celebration with friends met this reviewer’s expectations and that they were able to compliment all aspects of their time with us. It was also good that our reservations team were also acknowledged as often they miss out on feedback from our guests. We very much look forward to welcoming these guests and perhaps some of their friends who joined them back in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    243
    99
    43
    15
See reviews for
358
818
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

It is not possible to give a good review of Chewton Glen. The grounds, world class leisure facility, friendly team and superb rooms -( we were in Gold room), and of course the food. A 1 mile delightful walk to the sea front. All the pretty villages of the New Forest and surround +++.
Their was building work taking place not notified at time of booking and outdoor pool closed (by chance weather too cold really to use but could have been irritation and again not notified even though had asked if all facility open.) Indoor pool and leisure facility better anyway). I think biggest surprise was the lacking on detail, not a huge problem but we are talking a seriously expensive hotel where even cheapest breakfast will cost £42 for 2. Porridge repeatedly bought with no milk or suagr with delay in retrieving. The quality of coffee again perhaps the low point. Repeatedly unable to get the superb fresh orange as the container would stick and no one thought of checking or stirring. Breads repeatedly served on room service withour butter etc With all the worlds problems no big deal but for a hotel that wants to be number one, some way to either go or claw back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N3RVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
We were very disappointed to read that these guests were not advised of the restaurant refurbishment that we are currently undertaking and we are very embarrassed by this oversight. The work was due to be completed several weeks ago and we have endeavoured to keep all of our guests apprised of the situation although frustratingly the completion date has moved three times. Thankfully the builders will be finished this coming Friday and we are understandably extremely excited by this prospect.

As far as the outdoor pool is concerned, we had to undertake emergency repairs to some broken tiles for health and safety reasons and to minimise disappointment for our guests, we cordoned off the steps which were causing a problem during the warm weather and purposely chose the cooler weather to undertake this work. Due to the weather we didn’t feel any need to advise guests and in hindsight this was obviously a mistake.

Regarding breakfast, we offer a very extensive breakfast buffet and I am sorry that this was not one of the highlights of the stay. Needless to say I will address any shortcomings with our restaurant manager who always welcomes feedback from guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Pros: Beautiful setting, fantastic staff, lovely restaurant and good facilities.
Cons: Some areas of hotel could do with updating as were a little old fashioned e.g. the bar and the landings/corridors leading to the bedrooms. The 2 tvs in our bedroom/bathroom were not working (we were given free breakfast to compensate)

Overall, our own personal opinion was that as lovely as the hotel was, for us, it was a little staid and maybe better suited to the older generation. We also felt that for the money (we paid £440/night, room only rate - Bronze room) it was over-priced.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria186390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
It is disappointing to read that this reviewer felt that Chewton Glen is in need of some updating. Chewton Glen has over the years continued to evolve and barely a year has gone by without us improving or refurbishing certain parts of the hotel. Since Christmas we have completely refurbished eight bedrooms, retiled the hydrotherapy pool, purchased new outdoor furniture for most of the bedrooms and we are just completing a major re-launch of our restaurant. Like the Forth Rail Bridge, there is always work to be done however the reinvestment made in the fabric of the building is relentless and is planned to continue for years to come. As far as value is concerned, our room rates include full use of all of the spa facilities, golf course and many other items that other hotels charge for along with service charge too. Chewton Glen is undoubtedly an expensive hotel however based on the unusually high staff to guest ratio and the attention to detail that we normally deliver, we would like to think that it is worth every penny.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putnam Valley NY USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

We discoved Chewton Glen by chance but it turned out to be a perfect English Country House Hotel. We only stayed two nights but everything was wonderful. We expressed an interest in something in the shop window in the lobby so they opened the store for us. The room we had was very large with a huge dressing area and bath with a lovely large tub. It overlooked the croquet court with very nice views. They have an intimate bar for cocktails and many large and beautifully decorated public rooms. The restaurant is excellent for every meal of the day and the fine wines were just that...very fine. We only wish we could have stayed longer and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffMilham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 25 May 2011
Thank you for this lovely review which I have enjoyed sharing with the entire team. We look forward to welcoming these guests back and hope that the next time they are able to stay for more than two nights.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2011

I sent our Management Team to this hotel, after an invitation to inspect it to see if it suited our Team Build trip of 3 days.
I was impressed from the outset.
The professionalism and friendliness of the team, not to mention the layout, decor and the location, and made the event a success. And don't get me started on the gorgeous food.
For us, it represented excellent value for money, and we are looking at returning there for future functions.
I would not hesistate in recommending this place to host your events, to impress, or just to get away. A job well done to the entire team.
Luke @ Club Med

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London,England
Level Contributor
255 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2011

We had stayed here, albeit for only one night, a number of years ago and were not overwhelmed. Our recent return visit was the exact opposite. The hotel is very well run with excellent staff, beautifully decorated public areas, very spacious and almost "grand" bedrooms and surprisingly excellent food. Not being "spa types", we did not sample but from observation they seemed first rate in every way.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plkmtk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2011

When we first visited Chewton Glen, several years ago, I could find no faults! It wasn't cheap but it was certainly value for money. Unfortunately, our last two visits, particularly our last, have not demonstrated the same degree of perfection.

On our most recent visit we booked a junior suite for one night and were warned in advance that there may be some disruption in the restaurant area that was undergoing refurbishment. What disappointed us were things that in other establishments would seem (and in reality are) quite trivial

On arrival we were asked if we wished to book a meal in the restaurant. Slightly surprised (in view of the advice that it was being refurbished), we booked lunch the following day only to receive a call an hour or so later advising us that, in fact, lunch would not be served that day.

One of the attractions of Chewton Glen is its excellent spa which we wished to use shortly after arrival. Having stayed before we expected to find the usual guest bathrobes and slippers in the room but discovered that there were no bathrobes or slippers and only one bath towel. Having phoned reception to request these items they were eventually supplied but only after several visits because, on the first two visits, the staff failed to deliver the items as requested.

We also found an empty mouthwash bottle had been left behind the sink by a previous guest and not removed.

When we were shown to our room on arrival we were taken there through the restaurant area. When we left to go to reception to check out we tried to use the same route but the builders had blocked it off and in the absence of signage for an alternative route or hotel staff on hand to show us to reception we had to rely on one of the builders who kindly took us round the outside of the building to circumvent the building works.

Chewton Glen still gets most things right and gestures such as the complementary sparkling wine and chocolates for returning guests are a nice touch. The issues highlighted above are clearly small gripes but need to be viewed in the light of the very significant price of staying at this hotel. When compared with the performance achieved by Chewton Glen in the past, I am afraid that this particular visit was not an experience for which I feel I can award "top marks" across the board.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SNOsprey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 19 May 2011
Our restaurant refurbishment has undoubtedly been slower and more disruptive than we ever imagined and it is very disappointing that these guests were impacted. We had hoped to have the whole project completed by the 1st April however we are now looking at the end of May before everything is handed back to us. The parts that are complete look absolutely stunning and we have received only positive feedback about the concept and menu. I sincerely hope that this reviewer feels that the disruption was worthwhile and we very much look forward to their feedback when they stay with us next. As far as the housekeeping comments are concerned, these are most unusual and our head housekeeper has asked us to convey how sorry he is for this lapse in service. We sincerely look forward to welcoming these guests back again to see the hotel once all the refurbishments are complete.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
11.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing