We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yet another fabulous stay at Chewton Glen”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Yet another fabulous stay at Chewton Glen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

I've been lucky enough to stay at Chewton Glen a number of times over the last five years and have found it to be consistently excellent. From the moment you pull up outside and your luggage is unloaded and taken to your room, to the minute you leave, the service is excellent.

The first time I came the "no tipping" policy had to be explained to me as it's so unusual, even in properties of this standard.

My massage was brilliant (ask for Sarah) and the wine tasting (run by the soon to be moving on Chief Sommelier Alan Holmes) was great.

Dinner in the Vetiver Restaurant was fantastic on both nights with excellent service from what seemed like an army of waiters.

Not cheap, but a stay at Chewton Glen is worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dgilroybs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    271
    108
    48
    17
See reviews for
400
898
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

I saved up to go for lunch at the chewton glen, and my fiancé and I went 3 weeks ago to celebrate our engagement and his birthday. It was amazing! I have been wanting to go to the chewton glen since doing a gcse project on it back in year 11, 10 years ago! And never been able to afford it.
It was everything I imagined and more, beautiful gardens, lovely attentive staff, and a gorgeous meal. I am absolutely chuffed to bits we were able to go there for a meal and maybe one day we can go back. Thank you for having us. Really recommend this gorgeous once in a lifetime place!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happychappie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

Visited with husband and three children for three nights. Cannot fault this place. Staff were extremely professional from when we arrived to departure.
Room was very large and suited our needs perfectly.
Used spa and swimming pool which were immaculate. Had lunch in spa area which was great.
Lovely little touches including a plate of goodies for our children with their names piped on in chocolate!
Kids went to the hotel kids club for a few hours each day and had a fab time. Carved Halloween pumpkins which they were allowed to take home.
Main restaurant served great food. If I had to make one observation it would be to corden off an area so parents could dine with their children. Current policy is that to do so you must eat before 7pm but for some that is just too early.
Bar was nice too. Great afternoon tea and a specially designed one just for the kids. A pricey stay but worth every penny.


  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr5d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012

The service at lunch was definitely indifferent certainly not the high standards we have previously experienced. The food was good and the grounds beautiful but overall we can only report that the standards have slipped.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

My sister and I checked into the Chewton Glen last week for two nights for some much needed rest and relaxation - I am still there mentally and wishing I was there physically!
The hotel is luxurious and yet so warm and friendly and the staff really cannot do enough for you. We did not venture much beyond the hotel although there is so much to see and do locally. We did a great walk down to the beach, through the grounds and Chewton Bunny Nature Reserve which was really enjoyable and we loved viewing the new Tree Houses which the staff were happy to show us.
Most of our time I have to say was spent in fluffy white dressing gowns in the spa. We each had a facial which was of an exceptionally high standard and the therapists and pool bar staff were very attentive throughout our stay.
We had a late leisurely breakfast in Vetiver Restaurant each day overlooking the grounds. The choice is extensive and the food of a very high quality. We did not dine in the restaurant in the evening - couldn't tear ourselves out of those fluffy dressing gowns - but we did have room service, which was delivered promptly and again of a very high standard.
A wonderful break at this fantastic hotel - an oasis in the New Forest.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

What a beautiful property, shame it's managed so poorly. Service was so third rate we had to check out a day early. We couldn't figure out if it was indifference or incompetence, but the five of us were not happy with the service quality. Although food is OK, it is not in line with the quality at other Relais & Chateaux, and certainly doesn't justify the price. I would not recommend this property, especially that there are so many other options within a couple of hours from London.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sa3dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
I was bitterly disappointed that we were not able to meet your expectations during this stay. It was most unfortunate that the start of your stay was marred by a long wait in London for your chauffeur transfer. I must be transparent in this matter, as I was in person, during your stay. In complete honesty your transfer arrived at Chewton Glen instead of Baker Street London due to a clerical error. On your arrival an apology was given however clearly the details as to why your transfer was late was immaterial at this stage. I regret that my colleague’s explanation of what had transpired was intended to account for what had happened but understandably this caused you further distress which was not the intention.

I was pleased to see that you found the property to be beautiful and I was also delighted to see the children having a lovely time. It is most regretful that you found it necessary to check out early and this is something we never wish to have happen at Chewton Glen.
Although my team and I always try to go above and beyond when unfortunately things do go wrong occasionally from time to time, I was saddened that we were not able to turn the tables this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broadway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2012

We've stayed at Chewton Glen a few times before and always been impressed. However, the Tree Houses take it to another level. It was a Birthday treat from my wife so no idea of the costings but I would say it's one of the top 5 hotel rooms I've ever stayed in. The attention to detail; the quality of the finish; the outdoor space complete with hot tub; the room service and attentiveness of the staff - discreet yet helpful - ticked every box. We dined in the restaurant on our second night and the quality of the food remains first rate. The walk down to the Beach and along the sea front to Muddeford is also worth doing - you can catch the ferry across to the spit where there is an excellent beachside restaurant/bar serving fresh seafood and fish.
All in all, a great weekend.

Room Tip: Any Tree House room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MRGSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,220 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing