We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$164
US$159
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch Highcliffe(Highcliffe)(Great Value!)
US$90
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lord Bute Hotel(Christchurch)
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Christchurch (East) Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$89
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$203
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
US$127
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moorhill House Hotel(Burley)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,068)
Filter reviews
2,068 results
Traveller rating
1,515
342
126
65
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,515
342
126
65
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon teatree housecroquet lawntasting menubreakfast hamperthe main hoteljunior suitespecial occasionattention to detailhot tubservice chargesandwichesgrounds are beautifulbirthday treatout of this worldworth every pennyfeel special
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,334 - 1,339 of 2,068 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What can I say, apart from 'amazing'! We are regular visitors to the Chewton Glen, and I always wonder if they will be able to keep up to their high standards? So here we go:
Room - without doubt, the best room I have ever stayed in. Spread over two floors, tastefully decorated and immaculate - a real treat.
Food- this is always a hard bit to get right everytime, but once again we had some amazing food over the stay.
Service - The attention to detail is formidable! Every member of staff is attentive, but at the same time friendly, which is a hard thing to balance. A great example is Christian in the restaurent who served us with the utmost professionalism, balanced with a friendly welcoming approach.
Spa - once again a real treat, offering ultimate relaxation.
Well done to Ashley and all the staff at the Chewton Glen. I would recomend this hotel to anybody who wants to experience, in my opinion, the best UK hotel I have stayed in.

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Scoopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Chewton Glen...wow. A highly polished affair, everything you can imaging catered for, beautiful grounds...but it comes with a 5* price tag.

The good:
- We staying in a treehouse - totally unique place to stay. The studio suite was beautifully designed, light and airy. Super comfortable bed and sofa, coffee machine and mini kitchenette including dishwasher, fridge and microwave. The fridge was stocked with bottled water, cider, apple juice, chocolate and there are cakes and crisps available in addition to tea leafs/coffee/hot chocolate and marshmallows - all "complimentary" (when you've paid a minimum of £700 for one night, complimentary is probably the wrong word).
- Bathroom is huge with underfloor heating. Stocked with toiletries, magazines and more towels than even someone who loves having lots of warm fluffly towels could ever need. There are separate towels provided for the Jacuzzi and bathrobes and slippers.
- Jacuzzi on your balcony - what more could you ask for!
- Spa - if you can bear to leave the treehouse, the spa is worth a visit. Clean, tidy, warm swimming pool and hydrotherapy pool. Robes/slippers provided and plentiful supply of towels. Only downside is the sauna/steamroom are located in the changing rooms which means if you are with a partner of the opposite sex, you cannot enjoy them together
- Treehouse parking - the treehouses have their own special undercover parking space to make you feel even more special. Umbrellas provided for wet days, plus hunter wellies if you need them. Or, if you can't stand to walk anywhere, they will collect you in a gold buggy.
- Staff - courteous and friendly.
- Early check-in - our room was ready so they let us check in early :)

The not so good:
- We arrived to what appear to be a large group organising team building games in the lobby, lots of people being covered in name stickers. Probably a one off, but the reception could have asked them (a) to be a bit less noisy about it and (b) move somewhere else so arriving guests can get in the door. Just didn't feel that we were arriving in a luxury resort
- Afternoon tea hamper - my partner ordered an afternoon tea hamper to our tree house. On check-in the guy confirmed this had been ordered. It then didn't turn up and we had to ring to get it. They said they'd put in some complimentary fruit juices for the error, they didn't turn up either. The pictures show afternoon tea beautifully laid out, instead it came in a few cardboard boxes. Breakfast was the same. Would have thought they could have put it on some nice plates inside the hamper, or given that they knocked on the door to deliver it, rather than putting through the secret hatch, then they could have laid it out.
- The treehouses are not entirely romantic solitude. We could see the guests (walking around naked at times!) in the neighbouring treehouse, and could see them in their Jacuzzi when we were on our balcony. Could also hear people going in and out of the attached treehouse (each is made of two suites), which when they did that at 5am was not so much appreciated.

I would definitely recommend for a romantic/special break if you have a spare £800 to spend. £450 a night I would have no hesitation to say I'd be back, but with a 2 night minimum stay most of the year (except January), I'm not sure we'll be back any time soon!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Chewton Glen is regarded as one of the best hotels in the British Isles and with good reason. It has won many awards so my review is just one little voice in a sea of acclamation and recognition. I went there in January with my 92 year old mother for a private family lunch. We had the best time imaginable. A reservation is always a good idea as it can be full at any time of the year. We were greeted and ushered into the lounge where we enjoyed a dry sherry while we surveyed the menu and wine list.
The service was impeccable and the location, overlooking the broad expanse of well manicured garden, delightful.
We enjoyed a three course meal suitable for royalty and a recommended Chablis that was over far too soon. After desert we adjourned to the library, with crackling log fireplace and finished our coffee. It was a splendid experience which everyone should enjoy at least once in his or her life. Or every week if one lives close enough.
If you find yourself in the New Forest do not miss this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FergusVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Stayed in a tree house - these are very special - spacious well designed - very romantic & self contained. Pricey, but worth it for a special treat. High tech - I went 'uh oh' (& I work in IT) when been shown round & sure enough the tablet room guide didn't work, the Sky on TV (guys suggest you check the gear each room change). Private hot tub on the balcony :) Dinner to the room was good and a large continental breakfast next day -all in all very good.
The main building wasn't that great, the spa was very full & all the loungers by the pool taken for the day by guest who drop a book on them & then drift off. But it was good to see that they have childrens swim times. The restaurant food in the main house for me, was only OK, at that price.
The grounds are really pleasant and they have a great pitch & putt course.

Room Tip: book in advance, the treehouses are popular
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheEvaluatorLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Lovely place to stay for a spa weekend with my sisters. Although the hotel has more rooms than I would normally like, the grounds are large enough that we barely saw anyone other than at meal times. The outdoor pool was a lovely place to spend time in the sun, but did get a little crowded. The three of us shared a twin room with a sofa bed which was very comfortable and made up daily. The room also had a lovely small garden and luxurious bathroom with spa bath.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews