We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the Best Hotels in the Country”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of the Best Hotels in the Country”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a few days relaxation at CG. ALL the staff are extremely helpful especially the House Director, Ashley Ely, Alison on reception and our new best friend Sylvia. We have been about 10 times to the hotel and the staff always gives us a warm welcome and make us feel like old friends. Even with the occasional slip in the faultless service is normally rectified immediately. As with previous posts, exceptional luxury does not come cheap but its well worth having a couple of treatments in the Spa to treat yourself.
We look forward to returning in December with the family to try out the Treehouse Suites for my special birthday. Thank you

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,287
    278
    110
    50
    18
See reviews for
404
913
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have just returned from This wonderful hotel and spa which I booked as a birthday surprise for my partner (extra brownie points) and I'm so glad I did , it is amazing in every way,the attention to detail makes this place very special,all the staff are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble,the swimming pool ,spa,hydrotherapy pool,steam room ,sauna,etc are well worth a visit .
Our garden room was lovely and even though the weather was changeable we sat on the balcony with drinks admiring the view across the beautiful grounds.
I have never written a review about a hotel before and (I really could go on )but felt the need to give credit where credits due we will definitely be going back to this incredible hotel.

Room Tip: Garden room was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scarey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

A great short break, easily reached after work from London, in luxurious surroundings.

Blessed by warm and dry weather for early December, by day we walked miles along the beaches, straight from our room, and by night we ate well and enjoyed the luxury and idiosyncracy of our "studio treehouse". We wanted the modern touches rather than traditional furnishings, and weren't disappointed. The bathroom was beautifully equipped - huge walk in shower and deep bath tub, plentiful fluffy towels - and the mini-kitchen kept us in "real" loose-leaf tea. We used the hot tub (guiltily - it really isn't very green....), but it was too warm to test out the wood-burning stove and too chilly to sit out on the balcony and watch the pheasants.

We enjoyed two lovely meals in Vetiver, and had two hamper meals in our room, as well as hamper breakfasts. Our long walks, use of the excellent quality indoor tennis courts and the large indoor pool helped us work up an appetite, but the hamper quantities were too big, even for us, though the quality was great.

Staff were attentive but not obsequious.

We're not regulars, and like variety in our holidays, but I'm sure we'll be back.

Room Tip: Treehouses are special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJ1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

The saying goes "you get what you pay for." Well Chewton Glen sure ain't cheap, but you get what you pay for! Our suite was lovely, if a little too warm (actually the whole place was), the restaurant excellent and the spa wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

What can I say, apart from 'amazing'! We are regular visitors to the Chewton Glen, and I always wonder if they will be able to keep up to their high standards? So here we go:
Room - without doubt, the best room I have ever stayed in. Spread over two floors, tastefully decorated and immaculate - a real treat.
Food- this is always a hard bit to get right everytime, but once again we had some amazing food over the stay.
Service - The attention to detail is formidable! Every member of staff is attentive, but at the same time friendly, which is a hard thing to balance. A great example is Christian in the restaurent who served us with the utmost professionalism, balanced with a friendly welcoming approach.
Spa - once again a real treat, offering ultimate relaxation.
Well done to Ashley and all the staff at the Chewton Glen. I would recomend this hotel to anybody who wants to experience, in my opinion, the best UK hotel I have stayed in.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
230 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Chewton Glen...wow. A highly polished affair, everything you can imaging catered for, beautiful grounds...but it comes with a 5* price tag.

The good:
- We staying in a treehouse - totally unique place to stay. The studio suite was beautifully designed, light and airy. Super comfortable bed and sofa, coffee machine and mini kitchenette including dishwasher, fridge and microwave. The fridge was stocked with bottled water, cider, apple juice, chocolate and there are cakes and crisps available in addition to tea leafs/coffee/hot chocolate and marshmallows - all "complimentary" (when you've paid a minimum of £700 for one night, complimentary is probably the wrong word).
- Bathroom is huge with underfloor heating. Stocked with toiletries, magazines and more towels than even someone who loves having lots of warm fluffly towels could ever need. There are separate towels provided for the Jacuzzi and bathrobes and slippers.
- Jacuzzi on your balcony - what more could you ask for!
- Spa - if you can bear to leave the treehouse, the spa is worth a visit. Clean, tidy, warm swimming pool and hydrotherapy pool. Robes/slippers provided and plentiful supply of towels. Only downside is the sauna/steamroom are located in the changing rooms which means if you are with a partner of the opposite sex, you cannot enjoy them together
- Treehouse parking - the treehouses have their own special undercover parking space to make you feel even more special. Umbrellas provided for wet days, plus hunter wellies if you need them. Or, if you can't stand to walk anywhere, they will collect you in a gold buggy.
- Staff - courteous and friendly.
- Early check-in - our room was ready so they let us check in early :)

The not so good:
- We arrived to what appear to be a large group organising team building games in the lobby, lots of people being covered in name stickers. Probably a one off, but the reception could have asked them (a) to be a bit less noisy about it and (b) move somewhere else so arriving guests can get in the door. Just didn't feel that we were arriving in a luxury resort
- Afternoon tea hamper - my partner ordered an afternoon tea hamper to our tree house. On check-in the guy confirmed this had been ordered. It then didn't turn up and we had to ring to get it. They said they'd put in some complimentary fruit juices for the error, they didn't turn up either. The pictures show afternoon tea beautifully laid out, instead it came in a few cardboard boxes. Breakfast was the same. Would have thought they could have put it on some nice plates inside the hamper, or given that they knocked on the door to deliver it, rather than putting through the secret hatch, then they could have laid it out.
- The treehouses are not entirely romantic solitude. We could see the guests (walking around naked at times!) in the neighbouring treehouse, and could see them in their Jacuzzi when we were on our balcony. Could also hear people going in and out of the attached treehouse (each is made of two suites), which when they did that at 5am was not so much appreciated.

I would definitely recommend for a romantic/special break if you have a spare £800 to spend. £450 a night I would have no hesitation to say I'd be back, but with a 2 night minimum stay most of the year (except January), I'm not sure we'll be back any time soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MoonsterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Chewton Glen is regarded as one of the best hotels in the British Isles and with good reason. It has won many awards so my review is just one little voice in a sea of acclamation and recognition. I went there in January with my 92 year old mother for a private family lunch. We had the best time imaginable. A reservation is always a good idea as it can be full at any time of the year. We were greeted and ushered into the lounge where we enjoyed a dry sherry while we surveyed the menu and wine list.
The service was impeccable and the location, overlooking the broad expanse of well manicured garden, delightful.
We enjoyed a three course meal suitable for royalty and a recommended Chablis that was over far too soon. After desert we adjourned to the library, with crackling log fireplace and finished our coffee. It was a splendid experience which everyone should enjoy at least once in his or her life. Or every week if one lives close enough.
If you find yourself in the New Forest do not miss this wonderful experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergusVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,670 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing