We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heavenly treetop abode”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Heavenly treetop abode”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Back again in the Tree Houses @ Chewton Glen, this time for a few more days than the couple of nights we spent here last year. I am delighted to say that the stay remains a great treat.

This time we're in a loft suite with a twin room upstairs...but without the kids, it's unnecessary. Lovely as it is, I wouldn't pay for the extra space (unless the kids were with us). It remains a costly break - for us, it's worth it, but will only remain thus whilst CG supplies the very attentive and thoughtful service to which we are accustomed.

There are - sadly - a few very petty signs of the offering being eroded. As with a number of uber luxurious hotels/ cruise lines, you see little things being taken away and these are always very minor and,one might think, penny pinching eg while they used to have jars of soaps and many bathroom products, these are now more restricted. They provide an equipped kitchen, coffees, biscuits etc, these are not replaced. Water is ( and at a generous 4 litres a day) but when you pay the best part of £1000 per night, these other erosions seem silly and unnecessary; I can't imagine that the sort of people who are inclined to take advantage of the previously generous provisions stay here. It seemed to me before that the hotel treated their guests as grown ups and recognized their wish to have a sense of abundance. It's simply not fitting in a hotel of this type.

Disappointingly, the food is still below par for this type of hotel. The restaurant service is attentive but somewhat gauche.

All of this apparent negativity will not stop me coming back to the Tree Houses. They are beautifully equipped, exceedingly comfortable and private. What would stop me visiting would be any deterioration in general service levels and I confess that my complaints in this regard are few. However, they have to go above and beyond in this market. They go above but not quite beyond. It's an increasingly competitive market at the top end, especially in the country house hotel.

To end, my benchmark has always been the MO in HK and Seabourn - as it used to be. Close here, but no cigar.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sambfh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,278
    272
    109
    50
    17
See reviews for
402
901
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

After our first visit earlier in the month we decided to grab a quick night away back at Chewton Glen to recuperate from a kids half term.

Estate Room really sweet with own courtyard

This time borrowed the hotel mountain bikes to tour the coast line ... Spa used both days .. Spa treatment good. The best is the service that just says what ever you want we can oblige .. And they delight in serving

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I had three wonderful nights at Chewton Glen. We had a gorgeous suite which I would have been perfectly happy to move into, permanently! They have thought of everything you may need and more and the team were polite, professional and courteous. We ate in the restaurant on two evenings and were not disappointed, I would definitley recommend the cheese souffle as a must.
Chewton Glen has jumped to the top of my 'favourite hotels' list and I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DomesticGoddess3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

My husband and I stayed last Monday night. We were attending the Tom Kerridge demonstration that evening. Wow from the time we arrived early and they said our room was ready to when we left we had an amazing time!
We were shown our lovely room overlooking the rear gardens and everything was explained by the receptionist. We used the pool/spa facilities which were great with plenty of towels and towelling robes to use. We had a snack and afternoon tea in the lounge which was delicious and the staff were very attentive!
We had an amazing evening with Tom Kerridge demonstrating and chatting with the guests which didn't end until very late!
After a wonderful nights sleep, coffee was delivered to our room next morning and after a relaxing breakfast our treat came came to an all too quick end! On checking out we were given bottles of water and shortbread for our trip home. Attention to detail was perfect!
Looking forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We had 100 guests attend a family birthday and without exception everybody, regardless of room style, was happy with their room, the outstanding service, the welcome on arrival and the general ' home from home' feel of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GPG_58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

If five star service and attention to detail is what you are looking for, Chewton Glen will not disappoint. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

My husband and I stayed in one of the luxury treehouse suits which was sumptuously decorated, spacious and definitely not a drafty cabin! It was a shame that the weather was awful because the living area has huge patio doors that open onto a decking area which would be great in summer. That said, we got a clear night and so enjoyed a glass of bubbly in the hot tub which was very nice, and then we retired with magazines in front of the wood burner.

The place is well equipped with lots of nice touches and you can choose in-room dining / generous breaksfast hampers and even spa treatments - so if you are after a romantic retreat you need not leave your room.

We took our dog and he was also made very welcome. With a large exercise field close by and fantastic walks through the New Forest he was a very happy hound.

Well done CG you have set the bar and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio suite which is perfect for a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debg_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

stayed at this hotel for the valentines weekend this hotel is qiute pricey but if you love someone its worth every penny the wife overwhelmed
we stayed in the croquet lawn suits they are just amazing, the staff can not do enouth for you they will help you out no hesitation.
booked a 1 hour massage each & couldn't fault it the spa facilities are the best wheve experienced,the food was faultless in all departments breakfast & evening meals service top class.
the only little niggle we had was the king size bed was 2 singles put together, sleep disturbed bye dip forming in middle of bed.
overall an amazing hotel to stay in

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthamptonThesaints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,225 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing