We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tip top!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tip top!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Four for lunch last Friday....Everything was to the usual high standard, bar the rather sparse gnocchi, which needed an additional salad ....slightly let the "side" down....
Will we come again, yes of course!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Perersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,322
    289
    115
    52
    18
See reviews for
419
944
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (403)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel as a celebration for his birthday and for a 1 year remission from cancer and it was all that we could have hoped for! We were upgraded to a Junior Suite that was amazing and we could not fault the hotel in any way. We used the spa facilities and found the whole experience very restful. Breakfast was a very pleasant event, being very well cooked and the buffet had numerous choices as you would expect but the whole atmosphere and levels of service are seamless and faultless

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dingdong4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, Managing Director at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Dear Guests

What a delight to read your recent review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and the wider world.

We were so pleased to see that you had a thoroughly enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

With warmest wishes,

Andrew Stembridge
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Just returned from a two night stay for my Husbands birthday treat. Our room was a very good size and in very good condition, Spa was excellent, we both had treatments and they were great, Spa facilities and Gym were also fab. Food was excellent but expensive and I have never seen such a large wine list but be careful when ordering as the wine prices range from £30 to a couple of thousand!
Staff were lovely and the service was top quality, we will be returning and would love to try one of the treehouses next time with the kids

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
332 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I'm writing this review on our last night here whilst relaxing in front of the tele, and am so pleased to share my thoughts on the last few days here.

Firstly our room was amazing. A huge suite with a separate bedroom upstairs has provided comfort and luxury on many levels. A recommendation to all TA readers is to book the Edith Beverley suite without hesitation!

The food, on the whole, has been lovely. Breafast items freshly cooked and of superior quality, and a special mention to the Burger at lunch which was fantastic - the beef was of exceptional quality.

Staff are wonderful - they all seem to take real pride in providing a high level of service and making guests feel at ease. From the front desk staff (must give Lea a mention as she has been friendly and professional in every way) to the charming young waiters and waitresses that served our breakfasts every morning.

Only slight disappointment was the unusability of the par 3 golf course which would have filled a couple of hours of my afternoon really nicely. Whilst I understand that golf isn't something guests necassarily want to play in February, I would have expected this hotel to ensure the maintenance of the course to allow some hotel guests to play if they wish!

Nevertheless, we have felt extremely spoilt for the last few days and would not hesitate in booking another stay here at Chewton Glen in the near future. It has has felt like a real 5 star home away from home!

Room Tip: Edith Beverley Suite - dont think just book it if money isn't much of an issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goop2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
coventry
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed one night for our anniversary, we stayed in one of the larger rooms looking out the front towards the walled garden/ car park. The room was a delight, everything you could wish for and immaculately clean, the only problem we had that the room was far to warm, and although we turned the air con on before dinner, sleep was uncomfortable that night.
We had the tasting menu as part of our package, and also the wines to accompany each course, I would highly recommend both. The following day we borrowed some wellies and walked from the hotel along the beach all the way to Mudeford quay where we had a pint and caught a cab back.
To sum up, much enjoyed, and would imagine a summer break could be even better.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ruthpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This as our second trip to chewton glen. It was fab. Nothing is too much trouble. All the staff are so friendly and so helpful. It was our anniversary and when we booked they asked if it was a special occasion we told them it as our anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted by our names by the friendly staff our room was ready early so we were able to get in straight away. Our luggage was whisked away and taken to our room, our car parked for us, so all we had to do was go to the room. When we got there, there was a complimentary bottle of champers a box of gorgeous chocolates nd. Card ishing us a happy anniversary. Thank you chewton Glen so thoughtful. Then there was a knock at the door and a ballon delivered too. What a lovely treat.
When we booked we asked for a hospitality tray and some firm pillows. They were all in the room ready for us. They are just so efficient. All the staff smile and make you feel so welcome and relaxed. We spent every evening in the bar and the bar staff are lovely. Thank you Scot and Ray.
Thank you to all the staff we had a lovely relaxing 3 days. We can't wait to come back. Best hotel ever. Teresa and larry Kelland.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

For clarity, this review is specifically about the treehouse suites, which are quite a different kettle of fish vs the rooms and suites located in the manor house proper.

We stayed for a 2 night long weekend over the recent February half-term holidays and were very very impressed.

To put in context: this was a big gamble for me because I was springing a surprise for the better half to celebrate a very special occassion, we'd never stayed at Chewton Glen before, and the price meant that a mistake would be very expensive. Basically if it went wrong, it would have been a very costly way to ruin a very special weekend.

I need not have worried. Service is superlative and begins when you make the booking. They noted many thoughtful details that were used to personalise and enhance the stay (e.g. dining bookings that were sensitive to our needs as a family group and catered to allergies). All staff members we interacted with (and there were many!) were good humoured, exceedingly courteous and very thoughtful. Check in and check out were an absolute breeze and there were zero mishaps with the bill. In fact, when there was any doubt, all queries were resolved with the benefit of doubt given to us. Seldom happens so worth pointing out!

A quick word on the fantastic common amenities shared with manor house guests (those rooms looked amazing too by the way):
- Indoor pool is generously sized, high ceilinged and is ideal for families and couples due to scheduled kid's times
- Spa area is excellent with huge hydrotherapy pool, outdoor hot tub, steam room and sauna
- The changing rooms / common areas have the feel of a top tier country club, down to the fluffy robes and slippers
- Kid's club is well resourced, and has a wide range age appropriate activities, indoor and outdoor, including a mini cinema!
- Main restaurant and bar are very inviting, all wood-panelled and full of manor house charm

And now on to the treehouses proper. There are six in total, each large enough to house 2 suites. They are set into a section of woodland, elevated off the woodland floor and sit far away enough from each other to provide privacy. To our knowledge there is nothing quite like these anywhere else in the UK. When you sit in the spacious balcony (easily the same size or larger than the room proper) you are eye-level to the "canopy" of the surrounding treeline. While it's not quite a tropical rainforest, the feeling of seclusion and privacy is very special.

The suite itself is among the best appointed rooms we have had the pleasure of staying in the UK. Everything from the sofa to the bed linen and bathrooms is of exceptional quality. They are designed to be semi self-contained and guests have access to a kitchenette (dishwasher, microwave, coffee machine) and a luxuriously well stocked and fully complimentary mini-bar.

There are 2 highlights: the first being the always on, heated outdoor hot tub which easily seats 4 adults - something very decadent about sitting in a hot tub with a glass of wine in what feels like complete privacy in the middle of a woodland setting.

The other highlight is the ingenious delivery of the daily breakfast (and indeed all room service) via a hamper that is slid into a hutch in the room. The spread is great (and changes every day) and for us, the ability to enjoy breakfast at our own pace, in full dressing gown "glory" was an unexpected joy.

We enjoyed it so much that we used the in-room tablet to order dinner via room service instead of dressing for dinner in the main restaurant. We were enjoying a full 3 course meal (taken from the main menu) within 30 mins at full silver service in the comfort of the room!
A tip here: all the options are very substantial, so err on the side of caution when ordering.

All in all, this was a truly memorable stay, and although there is no worse feeling than when you check out and reconcile yourself (and your bank manager) with the bill, we still caught ourselves smiling about our special weekend on the long drive home.

Room Tip: Treehouse 6 offers the most privacy and seclusion as it is furthest from the main hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Strae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,697 reviews
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,269 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
347 reviews
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,152 reviews
7.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing