We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2014

A visit to Chewton Glen in Hampshire had been on my wish list for several years. But, oh, how disappointed I was. The good points were the porter who fetched our luggage and our car, plus the lady in the CG shop. The not so good points – dinner in the Vetiver Restaurant, the service in the bar, the lack of atmosphere throughout the hotel and even the body lotion in our bathroom which was out of date and had separated out.

The dinner experience was especially disappointing. The standard of the food was ordinary, the service inattentive and not very polished and the restaurant generally lacked atmosphere.

We chose to spend a night there with dinner based on the reputation of the Chewton Glen hotel but regrettably it in no way met our expectations. Such a shame.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,211 - 1,217 of 1,988 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Have been going to Chewton Glen for 30 years now. Still lovely and still very good attention to detail. I suppose if I'm really picky then this place when it was privately owned years ago was just a little bit more special ., but maybe that was because we were younger and more easily impressed. Whatever the reason, its still up there near the top.
Lunch or dinner, the food is lovely. I have always had the signature starter of the twice baked emmental souffle. Amazing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Excellent spa facilities, gorgeous room and great food. A very enjoyable, relaxing break. Highly recommended. The hotel also has bikes that you can borrow to ride along the coast line. The area is lovely and we couldn't fault the hotel in any way.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

First stay in a tree house!

Absolutely fab

Cute Buggy rides to and from.

Emergency food and drink rations delivered through the life support 'hatch' . Great standard.

Mega woodland setting for the terrace for the hot tub, loungers and dining area

Internal fixtures, fittings and facilities brilliant

Great service

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank robertkK4739UX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel many times and we love it. This time we decided as it was my birthday to treat ourselves to 2 nights in the Tree House suites. They are stunning. Beautiful rooms with every comfort. The bathroom was lovely. The only disappointment was the breakfast which is delivered to you. Very starchy, all carbs, most unhealthy. There was some fresh juice and a little fruit but waffles, Danish pastries, croissants, bread and muffins in one hamper, not what l would choose to eat for a meal. I really think when you're paying this much for a room you should be given a choice or be able to walk over to the breakfast buffet. The pool is absolutely lovely and the showers and changing rooms are excellent. I think in future we will stay in the hotel rooms. I would like to thank David who is always so warm and friendly on arrival.

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angie058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

This is a strange place. An absolutely top notch spa, excellent restaurant but as a hotel.. Well the rooms are amazingly spacious but incredibly bland, very corporate almost which slightly undermines the decadence you hope for in a Spa destination. So in that respect it misses the mark for me even if the rest of the hotel really is lovely.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank Squaremeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

A twilight spa session. Luxurious facilities and lovely staff in all areas. The changing rooms, pool area and hydrotherapy pool were spotlessly clean with lovely fluffy towels! Can thoroughly recommend the 50 minute body massage, a real treat! The Hotel itself is charming, still having real fires in April and beautifully decorated. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,814 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
765 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,369 reviews
3 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
9.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range: £275 - £1,180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing