We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top quality - but not quite the experience I'd hoped for..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Top quality - but not quite the experience I'd hoped for..”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Having been to Chewton Glen a few times before, I was familiar with the high standards of virtually everything. The only difference this time was that we had a 3 month old in tow so I had to view things through a slightly different lens. We checked in on Friday afternoon for a 3 night stay.

The room (a courtyard suite I think - although I booked a junior suite) was very nice indeed. The outdoor space was lovely and just right for some quiet time in the sun, for a quiet, unhurried breakfast and for entertaining visitors (it was my birthday and I had some family members visit us on the Saturday).

One downside to the room was that you could hear most of what was happening in the room above us. We had some kids above us running around quite heavily and yelling alot. That was no big deal until I found out that they had the nerve to complain to Reception around 5pm on the following evening along the lines of "Baby has been crying non stop for over an hour!". Clearly an exaggeration and I know the hotel has no option but to pass this on but that didn't help my mood.

On a similar note, after having cleared it with the Spa Supervisor, we took our baby to the indoor pool area on Saturday afternoon where she sat and slept for an hour in between me walking her up and down the side of the pool in my arms while her mother swam. After a couple of hours and as I was preparing her to leave, she started to grizzle a little only for a member of staff to come by straightaway to say that we weren't allowed to be there(?!). When I told her that we had cleared it with the Supevisor beforehand, she promptly went off to get the Supervisor who then came down to help me on my way. It must have looked as if we were being thrown out! Not really very welcoming. I'm not sure if someone complained but given that the baby was asleep for virtually the whole time, I can't comprehend what would have prompted a complaint or for the staff to want us out.

On the Saturday evening I'd organised a dinner for us and two family visitors in the Vetiver restaurant. The restaurant had been partioned off to cater for what appeared to be a very large birthday party. Our table was right next to the partition so it wasn't quite the quiet, relaxed experience we had anticipated. Unfortunately it seemed as if the demands of the party had affected the level of service elsewhere in the restaurant. Our service was very slow indeed and taking our orders took an age while there seemed to be some uncertainty about who was supposed to be taking care of us throughout the meal which resulted in a lot of time spent waiting in between courses. the food and wine were nevertheless very good indeed but it seemed like something was amiss.

There were unfortunately a few other minor irritations during our stay. For example, the hotel booked different babysitters for the Saturday and Sunday nights of our stay even though the first babysitter was available on both nights. When I asked Reception on Saturday to organise that we keep the same one, I was assured that this would be taken care of only for both babysitters to turn up the following evening.

Another midly irritating issue was when my guests arrived on Saturday evening they were greeted pleasantly and told that a call would be made to our room to inform us of their arrival. That call didn't happen with the result that they were sat in the bar for 30mins waiting for us while we sat in our room waiting for them. Minor issue I know, but seeing how quick they were to call through with the complaint about the baby, you might understand my irritation.

"And another thing"....on Sunday mid-morning post breakfast we had the bizarre incident of one of the porters coming into the room uninvited and taking a good look around (with my partner half dressed) before explaining that he had been sent to help us with our baggage (we were checking out the following day). He was duly apologetic but surely you ring the doorbell first?

Having got that off my chest, the spa remains first rate and I had a couple of delicious treatments. The tennis coach is really excellent (Les? - blond chap) and the grounds are really lovely and beautifully maintained. Our restaurant experiences were (aside from the comments above) otherwise very good indeed and the level of service from the bottle sterilising through to the baggage handling was smooth and efficient. There is alo the easy access through Chewton Bunny to the beach at Highcliffe which is one of the reasons why we wanted to return.

All in all, it remains a first class hotel, but it just shows how small things can make a big difference to your level of enjoyment.

Room Tip: Courtyard suites were very nice but priecy, You don't really want to be climbing stairs with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,307
    284
    113
    51
    18
See reviews for
413
928
29
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were lucky enough to be one of the guests at the Chateau & Relais 60th. Birthday Celebration Dinner.
With Champagne and canapes to welcome us served in the walled garden with a live group playing background music the dinner started well and just got better, 6 imaginative French themed courses with interesting and appropriate wines the work of Luke Matthews, James Martin and Oscar Malek, the atmosphere was warm and service superb. Having been guests of this hotel for over 44 years we were delighted that the original concept has been maintained and improved along with modernisation.
Cant wait for our next visit which will be far more simple but surely of the same high standard.

Room Tip: Just explain your preferences, large choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevambrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Just checked out earlier, stayed 2 nights in the Beverly suite. Room excellent decor fresh and beautifully crisp clean. Bed and pillows gorgeous and very comfortable. The staff are very good and cater to your needs without being overpowering.
The spa is great for a massage or wet shave for the guys.Food wonderful cooked to perfection. The only negative was that we had to leave!! Staff in the bar are amazing. Thank you guys.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alanorah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having been fortunate to stay in some fantastic hotels across the world, we were looking forward to staying at Chewton Glen after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We stayed here for one night in a treehouse suite as part of a trip organised by a large motor manufacturer. We were welcomed to Chewton Glen with a BBQ and drinks before playing croquet on the lawn. After being escorted to our treehouse suite we were amazed at just how utterly fantastic the suite was. Complimentary minibar, a selection of biscuits and cakes and the most amazing coffee was set before us. The bedroom area was absolutely divine, a bathroom that could hold the England rugby team (my wife wishes) and a rather delectable hot tub on the balcony, it soon became apparent that this is indeed luxury at it it's best. After a couple of hours relaxing in the tub drinking champagne we finally dragged ourselves away from the room to eat and yet again we were blown away by the food the staff and the general ambience that Chewton Glen has to offer its guests. The best nights sleep I have ever had was to follow and I woke to the sound of our breakfast hamper being delivered through the hatch..... Enough breakfast food to feed the England rugby team! This truly set me up for the day and a day of driving cars whilst my wife had a spa treatment in the luxurious spa. Unfortunately that was the end of my trip and stay at Chewton Glen but it's somewhere I will be staying again in the future. A heartfelt thank you to all the staff that looked after the Alfa Romeo delegation and I can assure you that Chewton Glen will be somewhere that phase left a long lasting memory with me.

Room Tip: No top required, all the rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ollybobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Just back from another weekend break - we were warmly greeted & shown to a lovely ground floor room overlooking the croquet lawn. The staff couldn't have been more attentive throughout, and the service & food in the restaurant were top rate - try the Tagine of Lamb !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missannajobelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magoebaskloof, South Africa
Level Contributor
126 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is very well appointed, decor is good and the grounds are lovely. Nice 20 minute walk to the beach. Hotel staff, were for the most part pleasant and welcoming. Interesting to note the older staff were much more efficient, focused on detail, plus they were quick with an engaging word or two. The younger (student) staff need more training and more polish: tended to forget items, mixed up orders, etc. Breakfasts, lunch and dinners were good, and dietary requirements noted (thank you) but honestly the flavour and quality was not the outstanding standard I had been expecting: this isn't fine dining as you may be lead to believe. Furthermore while the food was expensive, the wines were extortionate. I certainly don't mind paying £60 on a really beautiful bottle of wine, but not for one that I can buy elsewhere for £10 - that's not on. Furthermore the Somelier was a little hazy on some wines, not his fault as it is a huge wine list, but the wine list doesn't need to be as long. Our Garden Room was lovely, Ren toiletries a pleasant addition to the bathroom. However, room service was a bit hit and miss, some items weren't brought when ordered, ironing board didn't work so we had to pay for items to be ironed. The spa was a very nice space but very busy, I suppose it is holiday season, but on 2 occasions there weren't enough loungers. Also too many noisy children in the pool and spa area, this should be a relaxing environment. All in all it was a nice weekend away with my husband but I wouldn't return unless there was evidence that standards have improved. There are many better and equally 'grand' places in the South East, if that's what you're looking for.

Room Tip: Garden room is lovely - located on the ground floor with private patio. Rooms at the front of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivrelife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We had our wedding at the Chewton Glen . It was a fabulous experience. Right from the start we knew we were in safe hands. Dahlia was a brilliant wedding planner and made us feel totally at ease . Her attention to detail was outstanding.
The ceremony was lovely , and ran smoothly.
The afternoon tea was excellent, and beautifully presented . They even managed to cater for a gluten free guest at short notice. The staff were attentive, friendly and always pleasant.
If only the weather could have been better !
All in all we had a lovely experience and would not have changed a thing . I would recommend it to anyone considering it as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crendle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,253 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
1,145 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
329 reviews
7.5 mi away
Balmer Lawn
Balmer Lawn
#3 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing