We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite as good as it should be” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
198 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it should be”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just spent one night here and feeling rather disappointed. It is OK but not quite up to the highest standard.
Firstly the good things: The grounds are lovely and the walk down to the beach was very pleasant. Our room, with a balcony looking over the lawns at the front was fine and the evening turn-down service was very efficient. The choice of breakfast fare was varied, with plenty of "fishy" options.
The not so good things: The service is rather patchy - good at times, then lacking. The food is also rather unexciting (see separate review of restaurant dinner experience). Service in the bar was OK, at dinner it was sporadic, at breakfast it started OK (though took a while before our order for cooked breakfast was taken) but later on our table wasn't cleared for ages and finding someone to take an order for coffee was difficult. Then after check-out there was a misunderstanding and our luggage was put in store instead of being delivered to us as we waited outside and watched other people departing.
Overall I suppose that a "3" is a little mean but for the price I expect the service to be more precise.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,254
    264
    107
    47
    15
See reviews for
390
889
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level Contributor
83 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is superb in a great location the service we experienced was second to none, admittedly not cheap but still value for money. The bedroom was big spotless and opening onto the croquet lawn. The breakfast is as good as any, the evening food super, only bind a few loud American brats. Gym pool spa v good run track to beach, golf & drive range a bonus. This hotel has it all, only let down by some guests parental skills.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scone, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I held our wedding at Chewton Glen last month. It was the most incredible experience, from the first enquiry we made, right up until the day we found the staff to be fantastic. The hotel itself and the facilities were beautiful and world class, and the staff were outstanding - they made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help. As a result we had a perfect wedding at Chewton Glen, and we cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I was lucky enough to be bought a Best of Both Spa day for my 40th birthday at Chewton Glen (thanks Mum) and it was such an amazing day from start to finish. On arrival I was greeted by a lovely lady who walked me through to the spa restaurant for my breakfast box (delicious) and took me through how the day would be planned. She had exceptional customer service skills and remembered me throughout the day and asked me how my day was going and it felt like she had a genuine interest in making sure I enjoyed my day (I even got a balloon at my table!). After breakfast I decided to walk to the beach which takes about 10 minutes and is lovely. After that I used the gym which is small but well equipped and then had my treatment which consisted of a half hour back massage and half hour facial. The therapist was knowledgeable and it was a great treatment. I then had lunch which was in the spa restaurant and was a buffet style with lots of lovely salads and plenty of choice. Also lots of puddings which was unusual but a nice treat! I finally got to use the wonderful pool and jacuzzi area in the afternoon. This tops all of the other spas I have been to (Champneys Tring and the Grove to name a few). It is so relaxing and a really lovely area to spend some time. I finished my day with a walk around the grounds and a quick peak at the tree houses which look fab. I will definitely be back, it was an amazing day and a great way to start my 40s!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallyk74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Chewton Glen has a wonderful reputation and our family were excited about staying there for four nights in August, it turned out to be a wonderful experience. The directions and sign-posts are perfectly clear, it was easy to find and the journey was a pleasant drive through the New Forest.

We arrived just after midday, as expected our room was not yet ready, so as expected we were able to use the Hotel facilities immediately, we went for a swim and had a light snack. Promptly at 3pm our room was ready. The room was exceptional, the bathroom spacious and everywhere was spotless. It was worth waiting for the room. The Hotel makes is clear that rooms are available from 3pm onwards.

The Hotel does a great job of catering for families as well as single couples. There is a children’s buffet at 6pm in a separate dining area. This prevents snitty couples having to sit by families. Incidentally, there are set times when the indoor pool is available for Children to use, otherwise it is adults-only. There is also a children’s club run throughout the day. This is clear in the Hotel literature.

The staff caters for families and non-family groups exceptionally well. The food in the restaurant was very good and the service was also exceptional. Our waiter happily de-boned Dover sole and did a great job. At all times, the staff and waiters were friendly and helpful. The turn-down ladies were particularly helpful and friendly.
On check-out, we were given our bill to check and asked for payment. We were offered biscuits and water for our journey home; we were asked if we had enjoyed our stay and whether we would be returning or told to have a safe journey home.

In summary, the management ensured we had a wonderful stay; all members of staff were helpful and pleasant. The reception staff were friendly, helpful and welcoming.

Chewton Glen has made an effort to cater for the family market, which is a pleasant change from other hotels. The stay is not inexpensive, but it is worth it. There is a clear policy to treat families and non-family groups evenly – even during peak school holiday season in August. Families with children have been made to feel welcome. It has been a wonderful stay in tranquil surroundings, which we shall repeat.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank samuel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

I know it is school holiday season but the hotel is completely overrun with children - the grounds, bar, lounge areas and even the restaurant! And until late. In fact the hotel seems to cater more for families - which of course is perfectly ok - but itl certainly doesn't advertise itself as such.

The front of house staff are bordering on rude and so the welcome and departure, possibly the two most important touch points, leave a poor taste.

The food was fine as was the room, however, the minus points win I'm afraid.

Avoid if you are looking for a quite country hotel break with considerate attentive staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BonBon121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stow on the Wold, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Having heard so much about Chewton Glen's wonderful reputation we were excited about staying there for three nights in August.
Unfortunately, it was not to be the experience we had hoped for.
On arrival it is not clear as you approach the hotel in the car where exactly the reception is,and the signage is inadequate or indeed non existent.
Despite arriving shortly after three o'clock our room was not yet ready,so we were shown into the lounge just off reception and it was suggested we had a drink while we were waiting.This turned into two drinks and some lunch as no-one came to tell us when the room was ready.It was our waitress who became concerned and went to enquire and returned to tell us that it was now ready.Incidentally, we had to buy our own drinks,and were not offered a complimentary drink to make up for the inconvenience to which we had been put. Also, where we sat was a thoroughfare,which was noisy and busy with staff and guests with seemingly children everywhere.
The room itself was very nice,the bathroom spacious,and everywhere very clean.
Sitting in the bar that evening before going through to the restaurant was not a relaxing affair as there were children going in and out to the terrace and coming back to their parents in the bar through several doors.The staff seemingly oblivious to the fact that what should have been a quiet pre-dinner drink was exactly the opposite.In fact ,both couples sitting near us were complaining about it to each other,and hoping that it would be calmer in the restaurant.
The food in the restaurant was pretty good,but the service was poor and the waiter young and inexperienced, really not what we were expecting at all.So much so,that we ate in the bar on the following two nights.
On check-out, we were simply given our bill to check and asked for payment.We were not asked if we had enjoyed our stay,or if we would be returning or told to have a safe journey home.We
simply got into the car outside reception and left.
In summary,we feel that the management has to shoulder the blame for what was a very disappointing (and not inexpensive) stay.Whilst certain members of staff were helpful and pleasant(the bar staff,in particular),others were unfriendly and perfunctory in their treatment of us.The reception staff were brusque and unwelcoming,and often senior members of staff would walk past us without even acknowledging us.Of course, not all the staff were the same,but sadly one bad experience far outweighs the good ones.
It seems that Chewton Glen has decided that the family market, the spa days,and cream teas are more important than the couples who go for a quiet few days break in what should be tranquil surroundings.There is a clear policy to favour families with children at this hotel,to the detriment of other guests.Obviously,at this time of year one would expect to see children at the hotel,but on occasion it felt staying at Centerparcs.
All in all an extremely disappointing experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SRB1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing