We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels in the world, the staff are knowledgeable, polite, and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are excellent and beautifully decorated, i cannot say enough nice things about this place.
Only one suggestion, when there is a wedding party in, I wish they would try to separate the kids from the grown ups at meal times, they have three sections try and keep the kids on one. I love kids but not when they are unsupervised by their parents and running around a dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for the Gold room
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank edwiddowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,869)
There are newer reviews for Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,869 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our 30th wedding anniversary so it had to be good. And it was excellent. I have travelled the world on business for the last 26 years and have stayed in very many top flight hotels (and some dives!). Chewton is right up there with the best of it's type. It was clear that a great deal of thought had gone into almost every aspect of the experience, and that made our two nights just about perfect. It is expensive, but when you get what you pay for, it doesn't seem to matter. We are already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We arrived to a warm welcome. The car was parked, bags were taken care of and then a quick tour of the facilities led us to our room. Here we were welcomed with some fruit, sweet treats and complimentary water and fruit juice. The room was beautifully appointed with a dressing room, a modern bathroom and a separate toilet. In addition we had a balcony with a table and chairs. As promised the restaurant was wonderful and imagine our surprise when we recognised our sommelier, Roberto, from another memorable hotel in Salo, Italy. The beautiful terrace was particularly relaxing and the walk through the grounds down to the beach was appreciated. Added to this the spa was wonderful and I enjoyed having the same therapist for all my treatments. The hotel shop was also useful for finding small gifts st reasonable prices. For our onward journey we were offered water and biscuits and when our car was late arriving at the entrance we were given a bottle of champagne. While we did not expect to find children at an exclusive spa they were all well behaved and there were plenty of activities to keep them busy. The idea of mun and dad being able to be pampered on holiday while knowing that rhe children are being well looked after is rather attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CharlesLux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Fame seems to have made this hotel slightly impersonal. Yes, all is of a high standard but all seems slightly "mechanical". The restaurant is very good but lacks panache. I enjoyed my two days at this hotel. It is beautifully situated and very relaxing. The coast is only a few minutes walk. Not an easy drive from London, especially on a Friday evening in summer.

Room Tip: Croquet lawn rooms are top notch!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JHMH1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Just spent one night here and feeling rather disappointed. It is OK but not quite up to the highest standard.
Firstly the good things: The grounds are lovely and the walk down to the beach was very pleasant. Our room, with a balcony looking over the lawns at the front was fine and the evening turn-down service was very efficient. The choice of breakfast fare was varied, with plenty of "fishy" options.
The not so good things: The service is rather patchy - good at times, then lacking. The food is also rather unexciting (see separate review of restaurant dinner experience). Service in the bar was OK, at dinner it was sporadic, at breakfast it started OK (though took a while before our order for cooked breakfast was taken) but later on our table wasn't cleared for ages and finding someone to take an order for coffee was difficult. Then after check-out there was a misunderstanding and our luggage was put in store instead of being delivered to us as we waited outside and watched other people departing.
Overall I suppose that a "3" is a little mean but for the price I expect the service to be more precise.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank KK06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This hotel is superb in a great location the service we experienced was second to none, admittedly not cheap but still value for money. The bedroom was big spotless and opening onto the croquet lawn. The breakfast is as good as any, the evening food super, only bind a few loud American brats. Gym pool spa v good run track to beach, golf & drive range a bonus. This hotel has it all, only let down by some guests parental skills.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Bill1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I held our wedding at Chewton Glen last month. It was the most incredible experience, from the first enquiry we made, right up until the day we found the staff to be fantastic. The hotel itself and the facilities were beautiful and world class, and the staff were outstanding - they made us feel so welcome and couldn't do enough to help. As a result we had a perfect wedding at Chewton Glen, and we cannot recommend the place highly enough.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 10 in Brockenhurst
1,740 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
741 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
7.0 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
4.5 mi away
Captain's Club Hotel
Captain's Club Hotel
#4 of 11 in Christchurch
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range: £303 - £1,144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing