We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
Slough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way”
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We've always wanted to go to Chewton Glen and our expectations were understandably high. The food and service in the restaurant were exceptional and the spa was sublime. What made it really special for us were the staff who went out of their way to make it special for us. Nothing at all was too much trouble and unusually there was no stuffiness. Our only complaint was that our stay was too short. We can't wait to return and will definitely stay for longer.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,718 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,274
    271
    108
    48
    17
See reviews for
400
898
28
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Well the rain fell but nothing can diminish the perfection of CG. I last visited 12 years ago and if anything it has improved.

My room was enormous with fabulous fixtures and fittings and the food as ever was top notch.

The sommelier was helpful and not pushy and all the staff were exceptionally well trained polite and professional and dealt well with a lady who was clearly not well and distressed.

Areas might need a quick link of paint but very much hope its not 12 years until the next visit

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwissMountainMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We have just returned from the loveliest weekend away I think I have ever had. Chewton Glen is one of those rare and exceptional places that takes quality and service to another level.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left absolutely every one of our needs was catered for. The rooms are beautiful, the whole place is immaculate. The staff at all levels are friendly efficient and extremely helpful. On departure they drove our car round (already loaded with our luggage) and noticed we had left our sunroof open over night after it had rained heavily. They, without prompting, cleaned it and dried the interior as best they could and offered to try and help in any way they. The lovely man who did all this completely refused a tip and insisted it was all part of the job.
The food is wonderful. They welcome families but somehow manage to make it feel adult at any time of the day or night. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff and there are a lot of them!
The spa is the best I have ever visited in any country. I won't go on but suffice to say that this Hotel has got 'it' spot on. If you don't mind spending the money you simply must treat yourself, its a wonderful place and I simply can't wait to go back......oh and just so you know we are really fussy and very hard to please!.

Room Tip: If you can afford it try the Lawn Suites....breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

On the basis of the main hotel and service I would have put a 2 rating instead of 3 (poor vs average). But we stayed in the wonderful tree houses ( we were seven and had the Elm and Oak tree houses). This is one of the best hotel accommodations we have stayed at in the UK. The hot tubs on the terrace were great and the tree houses were well stocked - great design, spacious and comfortable. These deserve a top rating. Unfortunately everything goes downhill from there. Room service and restaurant are slow, disorganised. Impossible to get an order right which is annoying when you have waited an hour to get a sandwich. Room service menu is unhealthy for both adults and children. Impossible as well to get your drinks to arrive before your starters. Waiters are running in all directions but actually not paying attention to you. Either that or three waiters will come 5mins apart to get your order. It is constant and frustrating. Has to be fixed given the price tag. Spa was great but they got our booking wrong as well initially. Basically at least 50pc of what you ask at Chewton Glen comes back either late or wrong or both. A note of appreciation though for the buggy drivers who are constantly prompt, friendly and efficient in driving people back and forth. Hopefully other staff at CG can imitate them.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Cec55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We were very lucky to have received a gift of afternoon tea at this famous hotel.... and you really could not fault the immaculate service from very well trained staff. One very slight critique the sandwiches were very slightly "dry" on the outside, but overall far too much other delicious food.... so much that we had to have a cake "take away"

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitrameel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

This is one of the best hotels in the world, the staff are knowledgeable, polite, and cannot do enough for you. The rooms are excellent and beautifully decorated, i cannot say enough nice things about this place.
Only one suggestion, when there is a wedding party in, I wish they would try to separate the kids from the grown ups at meal times, they have three sections try and keep the kids on one. I love kids but not when they are unsupervised by their parents and running around a dining room.

Room Tip: Ask for the Gold room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edwiddowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Our 30th wedding anniversary so it had to be good. And it was excellent. I have travelled the world on business for the last 26 years and have stayed in very many top flight hotels (and some dives!). Chewton is right up there with the best of it's type. It was clear that a great deal of thought had gone into almost every aspect of the experience, and that made our two nights just about perfect. It is expensive, but when you get what you pay for, it doesn't seem to matter. We are already planning our next trip there.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
1,220 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#8 of 11 in Brockenhurst
1,648 reviews
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
999 reviews
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
681 reviews
9.9 mi away
The Crown Manor House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing