We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heaven in Hampshire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
WEST MIDLANDS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Heaven in Hampshire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2010

This hotel is far superior to any have stayed at before. The Spa and leisure facilities are first class, I highly recommend at least 4 hours to enjoy it all, start in the gym then a swim then make sure you visit the hydrapool! different pools that massage your body. If youre feeling brave, go outdoors to the jacuzzi! very liberating. There is also a salt foot spa in the ladies changing rooms, not sure about the mens. Ladies, make sure you treat yourself to the Kundalini Massage, I almost fell asleep I was in such a state of euphoria! Make sure you are hungry before dinner because you wont want to waste a single mouthful - the food is o.m.g amazing. Its not cheap by any means but worth saving up for. I would recommend it to anyone, families or couples.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jensocialite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    261
    106
    47
    15
See reviews for
387
882
28
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2010

We ( parents+ 13 yr old) went there for Easter, the idea being that of escaping London with a relaxing, peaceful yet active break.

Chewton Glen surpassed our expectations.

Service excellent: the staff was polite, deferential yet friendly. They were also very helpful in providing any sort of information/booking for activities outside the hotel.

Venue: beautiful and widespread garden, impeccable lawn facing the rooms, secluded and quite location. The interiors are decorated with the typical English style: carpeting, heavy curtains, an elegant blend of vibrant colours tastefully characterizing the diffferent areas of the hotel; overall no detail is neglected. Rooms are very spacious, quite well equipped with big and well decorated bathrooms.

Food: breakfast is delicious ( I recommend the croissants in particular) and dinner was delectable: the prices reflect the quality both of the food and the service. I did not get the chance to take a tea, which I regret for it did look like a treat.

Activities: SPA very good ( even if it is preferable to book the treatment prior arriving to the hotel to assure availability at desired times), nice swimming pool, very enjoyable bubble pool and jacuzzi. The indoor tennis courts are very nice. We do recommend the 20 minutes walk to the beach. Last but not least a well equipped and spacious gym.

Tips you will not find everywhere:
- a book was given to our son
- on Easter day we found a chocolate egg and a hen outside our door
- we were offered a delicious pacakage of homemade chocolate chips along with water for our trip back
- REN products for toiletry (ie parabenfree, etc) for once I could use the hotel products as if I were at home.
I realise these are tiny token, yet they do show an extra care in trying to pamper the guests.

To summarise, yes , it is very expensive, yet the attention to the tiniest detail, and all what's above make it a place where, when leaving, you already think when you could book for the next stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Japado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2010

My husband and I were given the gift of a Spa Break, including a spa treatment each, dinner and breakfast. It was an amazing experience. The staff were attentive, knowing their role to perfection. Staff knew our name within a few hours, and that really makes you feel welcome.

Our 'Bronze' room was beautiful, and even had a private patio. The bed was so comfortable, with crisp white bed linen. The food was out of this world, and I felt comfortable being a little more adventurous!! The spa treatments were luxurious, and the pools a delight afterwards. I can't recommend highly enough, it's not just first class, it's world class.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sistersandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Really nice hotel. Room was absolutely unbelievable. Every possible luxury in it. Hotel itself a warren of buildings with plenty of character. Difficult to fault it and it is definitely in the 5 star bracket. I was there on business; thankfully i wasn't paying for it myself as the prices were 5 star and beyond. I know that is what you pay in that type of hotel but the bar prices were nothing short of a joke. Probably the most expensive 4 drink round I have ever bought.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghGlaswegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2010

Really good place, the rooms are well appointed with balcony or garden area. The hotel standards are excellant throughout. The restaurant deserves more accolades it pleases at all levels.

Above all the staff really take an interest in your stay without being intrusive. They also run a no tips policy so you can just enjoy all the trappings of luxury without having to have cash at hand etc. This seems to work for the staff as well we found the service to be the best.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marty111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We stayed at Chewton Glenn for 1 night with my fiancé to celebrate our recent engagement. Service was IMPECABLE, they provided us with maps and routes of walks we could do in the area, the room was fantstic and they had arranged a congratulations card and balloon for the occasion.
We had dinner in the restaurant. Don't listen to any of the other reviews, the service was perfect and even though the staff was not english, their english was very good and were very friendly. The swimming pool and spa is great. Can play croquet on the front lawn. 10 minutes walk from the beach...Don't miss the afternoon tea.
It was a great wkd, would definitely go there again! When we left, the woman at reception gave us bottles of water and a small sweet treat to eat on the journey back, a very nice touch. During your stay you really feel like they really try to take good care of you and these personal touches really do make a difference in my opinion.
DON'T MISS IT!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonPhilippine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2010

My girlfriend and I wanted a relaxing, romantic getaway weekend near London - Chewton Glen came to my mind straight away having visited it a few times before just for drinks and dinners.

When we arrived we were greeted straight away at the entrance by the charming Deputy Manager, Ashley, who personally looked after us all throughout our stay. The bedoom was faultless and the walk-in shower the biggest I had ever seen - practically a second room! Not to mention a very comfy pocket sprung mattress.

When it comes to facilities this is where the hotel really shines - outstanding tennis courts, bike riding round the lovely grounds, a lovely outdoor terrace, and the spa is second to none. Would definitely recommend the outdoor jacuzzi! We ran out of time but would have played golf etc as well. However, would advise booking most of these to avoid disappointment on arrival. The food is also to die for - healthy, delicious, seasonal menus and the restaurants are stunning...

I am in the hospitality industry myself so naturally find it very easy to find faults when staying in hotels - but Chewton Glen is exactly what a 5* country house hotel is meant to be. Thank you and your superb staff for an unforgettable 3 days!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank London_Hotel_Manager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Burley Manor
Burley Manor
#1 of 2 in Burley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.9 mi away
Macdonald Elmers Court Hotel & Resort
5.2 mi away
Passford House
Passford House
#3 of 7 in Lymington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Forest, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing