We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Amazing....10 out of 10 for service, attention to detail and the excellence of the staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing....10 out of 10 for service, attention to detail and the excellence of the staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2011

I just wanted to say a HUGE thank you to the Chewton Glen team for what was undoubtedly an amazing weekend. My girlfriend (now wife to be) had the time of her life and it was all down to the hard work and effort of everyone behind the scenes at the Chewton Glen. I planned a surprise proposal and everything went so smoothly. I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend.

We stayed in the Marryat Suite which was beautiful and I would highly recommend it to all guests thinking of staying at the Chewton Glen. Very spacious and excellent facilities; a home from home.

We we will certainly be returning to stay at the Chewton Glen again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BenN1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    243
    99
    43
    15
See reviews for
358
818
28
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2011

This was our second visit to Chewton Glen and it was as good as remembered it to be.
Service was excellent throughout - not often the case in England.
We had a gold room overlooking the croquet lawn. The room was very spacious, well equiped with a large bathroom. Two minor criticisms - the lighting could be better - it was quite difficult to read in bed and the bathroom needed a little bit of maintenance (dodgy plugs)
We ate in the restaurant on both evenings, the menu offered plenty of choice and the quality of the dishes was uniformly high. I can see why it is rated 3 rosettes by the AA.
We had wondered whether the hotel would be devoid of atmosphere given the time of our stay but this was not the case. We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyleopard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
We were delighted that these guests enjoyed their return visit to Chewton Glen as much as their first and that they made particular note of the service and the food. We also very much appreciate the feedback regarding the bedside lighting and the plugs in the bathroom. The latter has already been dealt with by the maintenance team and these guests will be pleased to note that all of our newly refurbished bedrooms benefit from reading lights next to the bed. We very much hope that these guests will find time to pay us a third visit in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

slowly but surely this grande dame of hotels is slipping. service is still excellent throughout but the place is looking tired. the previous owners kept investing to keep the hotel ahead of the competion , this seems now to no longer be the case. The lounges are not at all private and at ties the hotel is over run with external guests. it is also terribly expensive and poor value for money.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matt31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
I am saddened that this reviewer felt that Chewton Glen was looking tired and I was quite shocked by this observation. Since the hotel changed hands five years ago, it has remained under the same management team and the level of investment in the fabric of the building has continued at the same pace. In the last five years alone, we have refurbished all of the lounges and 25 bedrooms which equates to 43% of our total room stock. We have just refurbished our hydrotherapy pool and are almost halfway through a complete restaurant refurbishment which is costing us a Million Pounds. Not to mention the numerous smaller projects and those investments which are not always visible to guests. We have a team of five maintenance staff, two of whom are full time painters and more often than not we score 100% in our mystery guest inspections.

Chewton Glen is undoubtedly not a cheap hotel however with the luxurious bedrooms and extensive facilities, it does generally score well when it comes to value. It is also worth remembering all of our rates include a service charge. On a more positive note, I was pleased that these guests appreciated the excellent service and I sincerely hope that on their next visit to the hotel they will also feel positively about the state of the building as well and with this in mind, I would value the opportunity to discuss their concerns in person.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

We chose the Chewton Glen for our very small and intimate wedding day, upon arrival we were greeted by the Managing Director Andrew Stembridge and Hotel Manager Ashley Ely introduced himself an hour or so later.

Our room was stunning, with the biggest twin shower you have ever seen, clean and immaculate all round, very comfortable and relaxing.

Nothing was too much trouble and our beautiful wedding day was everything we had hoped it would be and more, the attention to detail in both the wedding ceremony and the wedding breakfast room was to perfection. The food was of the highest quality and service was impeccable, we were looked after by our own host, who took care of any unforeseen issues. All of our wedding guests were very impressed, and many had never experienced a hotel like this.

We stayed for three glorious days and nights, and can honestly say we could not fault anything, food fantastic, breakfast try the freshly made waffles. Staff extremely polite and nothing too much trouble. The grounds of the hotel superb, with beautiful walks down to the beach.

Anyone thinking of a wedding venue and want perfection this is the place to go. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnaby78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChewtonGlenNewForest, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2011
This is the type of the review that makes all of our efforts worthwhile and we are over the moon that these guests had such a special wedding day and honeymoon to follow. Needless to say I have enjoyed sharing their comments with the whole team and we sincerely hope that Chewton Glen will be the chosen venue for their first Wedding Anniversary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

I took my husband to Chewton Glen for his birthday after Christmas, recommended by a high profile client I work with. I had saved up for months to take him to this 5 star place. It was a huge disappointment and incredibly expensive considering we got a deal as it was January - Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner was VERY expensive.The stay was OK but I was very disappointed when I complained to them....On the last day my husband and I went to the spa and pool and afterwards we went to the Pool buffet where my husband had the buffet and I ordered a fresh dish as I am pregnant and you have to be careful with buffets...Little did I know that woudl be a good decision ! When we checked out we were disappointed to see extras on our bill that they took off. They sent the bill to me and my husband after I had told them not to as I was paying for him - so that put him in a foul mood. To top it off when we left my husband started to feel unwell and when we got home he didnt stop being sick. He was sick all night and had to take the next day off work. We called the doctor who said it was food poisoning and we worked out that it was due to the buffet. We had only ahd food at the hotel. So, in light of this I called the hotel to let them know (in case anyone else got it) and I was very disappointed at the treatment by the management. The manager took forever to call back, was very dismissive and unsympathetic with me. For a 5 star hotel the manager was useless. He has since never called me back after he was going to speak to his 'environment consultant'. He never called back and quite frankly I wouldn't recommend the place. Over priced and very rude management. The other staff in the spa, front desk and on the door were lovely ...Considering this is a Relais and Chateuax Hotel I have had better service and food at a Handpicked Hotel !

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Travelstar36_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
I was horrified and embarrassed to read this review especially in light of the fact that we always respond to any complaints within 24 hours and are extremely proactive about food safety and hygiene. Ashley Ely our Hotel Manager responded to this guest directly and phoned her back the same day, leaving a message as she was unavailable. Ashley immediately investigated the matter and discovered that the spa buffet was visited by a total of 40 guests on the day in question. It is also worth noting that no food is ever kept from this area from one day to the next and in fact any remaining foods are always taken to our staff room for the team to enjoy. Although Ashley confirmed at the time that no other guests had reported any illness he failed to go back to this guest again after his investigations and following subsequent conversations with our Health & Safety Consultant, which he is very sorry about. Without seeing a patient and a without testing, it is in our eyes inappropriate for a GP to confirm that the reported symptoms were in fact food poisoning and given the circumstances and advice we have been given, feel that it is likely that the illness was caused by a virus.
All of our management team are extremely caring and they in fact set the tone for the rest of the team. Having said this there are times when one needs to deal with accusations of food poisoning in a factual manner and I can only apologise if this came across in the wrong way. Ultimately I am saddened that this guest is not happy with the way we have dealt with her complaint and it goes without saying that we will make every effort to demonstrate that we do care a lot and will take steps to restore their faith in Chewton Glen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We were recommended to take afternoon tea at this hotel.
It was my mothers 75Th birthday so a very special occasion in our eyes and we were looking forward to spoiling her to a wonderful experience of afternoon tea at Chewton Glen.
Sorry to say it was anything but 'special'. We arrived slightly early and were told that our table was not yet laid up so were shown to another small table ( For two ) there were four of us. Wrongly presuming that we would eventually be shown to a table for four we ordered tea. This arrived and the waiter struggled to get the tea pots and cups onto such a small table.
Later than booked the first stand of sandwiches and cakes arrived. We explained to the waiter that this table was not going to be big enough for us to eat at so he dragged another table over. The tea arrived and we had to ask for the second stand of sandwiches before we could begin. No one seemed to be looking after us and on three occasions we had to go looking for a waiter to get some service. After waiting some considerable time for more tea when it arrived it was cold! We then asked another waiter to change it and the tea tasted of earl grey although we had ordered English breakfast tea.
This was a very special occasion for us but was completely spoilt by the lack of service and a waiter who was intent on arguing with us that he had made English breakfast tea.
We now also have the embarrassment of telling our friends who recommended the hotel how bad it was.
This hotel's five star status in our opinion is not warranted due to the lack of service and attention to detail.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Cabbage53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
It is most regretful that this reviewer’s afternoon tea experience was not up to the usual high standard and first and foremost I would like to apologise. Normally we are able to deal with guests arriving early however the lounges were particularly busy and hence these guests were shown to a smaller table rather than leaving them waiting. In hindsight the lounge team should have subsequently moved them to a larger table however wrongly assumed that this would be seen as an inconvenience.
Salvatore our Bar and Lounge Manager served these guests personally and is saddened that they felt that he was inattentive. Ultimately we are all disappointed that this special occasion was not as perfect as it should have been and we have already been in contact directly to invite them back. Needless to say we will use this feedback in a constructive manner to target specific training needs and prevent similar problems reoccurring in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
86 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

We had a Gold room with views over the croquet lawn. Very nice room with loads of lovely inclusive extras e.g. Champagne, fruit, gifts for kids. The service was outstanding.

The only bug bear was the additional charge for breakfast but if you accept this as part of the deal you'll not regret a stay at Chewton Glen.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GordsGuinness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Milton
9.8 mi away
Lime Wood Hotel
Lime Wood Hotel
#2 of 8 in Lyndhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
3.0 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
6.8 mi away
Cottage Lodge Hotel
Cottage Lodge Hotel
#1 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
The Green House
The Green House
#3 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
11.3 mi away
Montagu Arms Hotel
Montagu Arms Hotel
#1 of 3 in Beaulieu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
6.4 mi away
Rhinefield House Hotel
Rhinefield House Hotel
#7 of 11 in Brockenhurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa

Property: Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Address: Christchurch Road, New Milton BH25 6QS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Milton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in New Milton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An English Original. Chewton Glen is a luxury hotel and spa set in 130 acres of Hampshire countryside on the edge of the New Forest National Park and just a few minutes walk from the sea.12 new luxury treehouse suites now open. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chewton Glen Hotel And Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel New Milton
Hotel Chewton Glen
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa New Milton, Hampshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing